We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“still excellent year after year”

Col'Cacchio Pizzeria Foreshore
Ranked #42 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“still excellent year after year”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have been eating at Col'Cacchio on the Foreshore in Cape Town - the original restaurant where the old Imperial Cold storage depot is. They have opened many branches over the years but this one is still our "local"
The pizza menu is extensive with many unusual combinations though you can of course build your own pizzas with your own favourites. The bases are thin and crisp and the toppings are of excellent quality - see the pictures.
The salads are huge and really fresh. I like the pear salad with avocado pear but they are all good.
Tonight I had penne pasta with a beef rib ragu sauce - it was very good but I think I prefer the pizzas.
The warm chocolate brownie with ice cream was excellent.
Its a busy restaurant with very very high ceilings - great for a meal with friends or family - not a romantic cosy restaurant - just good honest food at a reasonable price
For more pictures go to:
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hamilton-House-Cape-Town-South-Africa/250427861707440

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonhousecapetow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    140
    33
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Italian Memories”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Superb ambience, feel like I am sitting in an italian local, with great atmosphere and good service. Staff very energetic and friendly. The Food was divine, and I enjoyed every scrumptious crumb of my Pizza which was done to perfection. Pricing was good. Started with cocktails, which was yummy. Service was excellent and the staff really friendly and cheerful, which makes a nice change. Only did not liek having to go out teh restraunt to the toilet facility.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cleopatra030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ok for a quick bite”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

do not expect something special. the pizzas are ook but could be way better. coffee was below average. compared to all other restaurant I have been to in south Africa this one was one of the least best.I find it over rated reading the other reviews.
waiter was untrained.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ilipili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cavendish square colcacchio”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

amazing pizza with very tasty toppings, the best thing is they keep the children entertained by bringing them left over pizza dough, small rolling pins and cutters and they get to draw on the table, how amazing.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent!”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Definitely one of the best pizza places in Cape Town. Service is always attentive and the food consistently good.

I was delighted to see an addition to their menu which included a (yawn) low calorie pizza! Its basically a normal pizza with the midlle removed with a salad served in its place! I normally find a whole pizza a bit too big so this was a really nice compromise. You still get the excellent thin crust base with delicious Col'Casshio toppings but dont feel like you've over done it on the carbs and not too filling.

I enjoyed it so much that on a five day trip to Cape Town I managed to get to Col'Cacchio twice for dinner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Col'Cacchio Pizzeria Foreshore also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Col'Cacchio Pizzeria Foreshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing