We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Cape Heritage Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$133
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Taj Cape Town(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$209
$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cape Royale(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$171
$140
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Derwent House Boutique Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$108
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria & Alfred Hotel(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$163
$143
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $185/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blackheath Lodge(Cape Town Central)(Great Value!)
$132
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
One&Only Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
$839
$817
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond Mount Nelson Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$669
$388
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $492/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Cape Grace(Cape Town Central)
$812
$575
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveler rating
110
83
16
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
83
16
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housesweet berriessea pointmorgan freemanthe main housebreakfast tablethree roomsafrican artprivate bathroomcold meatsbreakfasts were greatfive minute walkother gueststea and coffeewould stay here againsitting areahome away from home
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 223 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We were in the sweet ocean view for four nights. The guesthouse is very comfortable, we liked the fresh looks and the spacious room. There's a lounge area at the first floor with a great view of seapoint and the beach. We also had a very good service and the staff was very helpfull (arranging taxis or make a reservation at a restaurant. Big breakfast, lots to choose from and very tasty. We surely recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickManonNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

We don’t want to miss to Thank RickManonNL for the review and written comments, it is extremely valuable to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Amazing place , warm people, excellent address . Looking forward to coming back again in this great guesthouse . Decorated with very good taste , each room has its own charm and different decoration. Best place to be in Cape Town for 1 , 2 or even more night !

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roudou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear RoudouP,

We want to say Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse on Tripadvisor, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review is valuable for us.

Kind regards,
Bridget

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We were supposed to stay in the Sweet Orange Guest House but the moment we arrived there they told us they gave us an upgrade to the Sweet Ocean View Guest House. What a great experience! Because we were a family with four they gave us one of the small houses for ourselves. It is really nice to have your own house when you're with a family. We had three bedrooms that we could use, two bathrooms, our own living room and even a kitchen. The breakfast that they served in the morning in the main house was great. A lot of choice and great service. Everything was possible and everyone was more than willing to help us with special wishes. We would like to recommend this guest house to everyone!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jorien B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Relations Manager at Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

We say Thank you to Jorien B, for the time you took to review our Sweet Ocean View Guesthouse and the comments you posted they are really valuable for us.

Kind regards,
Evelyn for
Sweetest Guesthouses

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife and I arrived late in the night at Cape Town Airport. We previously booked an Airport Transfer Shuttle with the hotel, knowing that we would be tired and with no desire to have to look for a taxi in the middle of the night. Everything was arranged for us: what a luxury! As we arrived at the Guesthouse, a friendly gentleman checked us quickly in, understanding that we were very tired from the trip.
Our room was comfortable and neat, the bathroom quite small for our habits, but very clean. The only negative point was that in the morning we could hear the other guests taking breakfast. But what a pleasure to get up and join the breakfast people! We got to know the other guests and, thanks to the talk with them and with the staff member serving us, we planned our day without needing to read a tourist guide.
We had to park our rented car next to the hotel, on the side of the street, since the Guesthouse did not have its own parking space. It was not a problem to find a place; it was more an issue to turn the car in the morning! At the beginning we were also scared that something could happen, but we followed the advices of the staff members, and we never had problems.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mariangela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Although we had showers after shower when we stayed here, we certainly had a good time at the guesthouse. The warm wood fire, and warm welcome of the staff was breath taking. The breakfast was excellent. And the rooms were very nice decorated, clean and warm. Remind you (some loose remarks): the sea is nearby, but not visible from this place. Parking is free. Laundry and ironing was very well done.
Many thanks! And till we meet again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews