We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its far far better than top 70 restaurant in Cape town , surely top 10”

Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar
Ranked #83 of 1,299 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

great atmosphire , got a table inside ....they even show you the typr of steak , the Wine list amazing we choose Beyersk Reserve ...out of around 600 wines , steaks to die for , excellent service , go there enjoy the experince faultless service food ....and ambience

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank martinBartonLeClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Martin, we thank you for your unbelievable reccomendation and 5 star review and are thrilled that you enjoyed your dining experience awa excellent service.
Thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful experience with us and the rest of the Tripadvisor community. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (3,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 3,721 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2020

Whenever we visit CT we ALWAYS come to Belthazar and this time we brought friends too and we weren't disappointed! Gorgeous starters of onion bloomer, chicken livers and chicken wings followed by steaks and ribs and an assortment of sides. Wine was divine as were the cocktails (and the cocktails were MUCH better than Harbour View House just across the way)...going back in April and can't wait to eat here again. Fantastic value for money too.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Atkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Dear Atkos, thank you for your excellent 5 star review and are ecstatic that you enjoyed our extensive selection of meat, ribs awa cocktails.. Thank you for sharing this with us and the Trip-advisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back agin in April when you return.
Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2020

Grab a table outside to people-watch or inside if weather is iffy. Extensive menu with good food and service.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DThomasArb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

We thank you for your eview and are very glad that you enjoyed your food awa friendly service from our staff. Thank you for sharing this with us and the Trip-advisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2020 via mobile

Concierge at our hotel suggest this restaurant. Loved the location as it is overlooking the waterfront.
Great people watching.
Extensive wine list and all cuts are prime.
Service was on point. Servings for sharing.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank zoraidaallende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2020

We thank you for your fantastic 5 star review and are very glad that you enjoyed our extensive selection of meat awa friendly service from our staff. Thank you for sharing this with us and the Trip-advisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2020 via mobile

I will say I struggled with this rating and wish half stars were an option. Our waiter was excellent, friendly and on top of everything and eventually the food was great too. My first complaint was my steak, which I asked for med rare, came cooked well, with just the slightest hint of pink. The waiter immediately took it back to have a fresh one made with no argument, but I have a tough time with a steak place not cooking to order the first time, esp since it wasn’t overly busy. But honestly what bothered me the most was the manager cane over to talk to me which is a nice gesture but instead of just saying we are really sorry and working to fix the problem he said he had spoken with the kitchen who told him my steak had just been “a little” overcooked, which fir the record it was more than a little overcooked, and made me feel like I was being chastised or that I was being over picky. When you are paying for a nice steak it should be cooked perfect. I was also a little surprised that when the bill cane there was no comp offered at all since I didn’t get my meal until my dining partner was almost done theirs, the appetizer or a 10% discount would have been completely adequate. That said tho I would go again if I ever make it back to Cape Town and I would recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank amberdQ2283YB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing