We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Manager made it right”

Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #50 of 1,144 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Business meetings, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
1 review
“Manager made it right”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We had a great experience, but only after a GREAT manager named Prescilla made it right. We ordered 2 dirty martinis and they came out not dirty. The waiter tried to correct the problem (we just needed some extra olive juice on the side). Prescilla walked by, noticed our meal wasn't taken yet and not only took our entire meal order but she fixed our drinks, helped my wive custom order a few dishes that would be ok with her dairy allergy, but THEN later came back with two free dirty martinis on the house because she sensed we weren't quite happy with our first ones. The waiter gave us good service all night but Prescilla stopped by repeatedly the whole evening to make sure we were happy with everything. We really enjoyed our meal there and would like to go back if we can on our 5 day stop in Cape Town.

Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear KenB, it was a pleasure to read that you were well taken care of. We really hope that you get the opportunity to dine with us again. Kind Regards, Belthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,142
    713
    308
    159
    115
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not recommend”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We expected to eat very good steaks here but we got tasteless badly cooked pieces of meat ( even though we ordered them medium). The onion blossom starter was small and the beet root salad had no dressing. The steaks do not come with any sides or sauces so we ordered a mushroom sauce and a green pepper sauce and both tasted the same like ready made sauces. The only good thing was the sweet potato fries and the service.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Mona, my apologies for your experience. Please contact us via our website www. Belthazar. Co.za so that we can investigate this further. Regards Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Farewell dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This restaurant has won a lot of awards in SA, I went there because of the ratings. The meal was delicious, the wine is served in RIEDEL stemware, is a must for wine lovers. Prices are OK.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TamyJelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear TamyJelka, thank you for choosing Belthazar Restaurant & Wine Bar for your farewell dinner. We boast a stunning wine list with over 600 wines on offer, of which over 200 are served by the glass, making us the unrivaled biggest wine-by-the-glass bay in the world. It was a pleasure to read your review and we hope to see you soon again when you return. Kind Regards, Belthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
109 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tip hunters....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Well, food is good. Wines are more expensive as elsewhere, but, ok , there is a fantastic selection. Atmosphere is 4stars. Service was nice. This is an really expensive place by za-standarts. In Franschhoek you will find 20 restaurants that are better for less. But ok, this is Waterfront. I really was angry when the bill arrived : 3950 R for 2 adults with 2 teens. We rounded up to 4200 R and were treated as if 250 R were nothing.... " Normally we get 10 %..." I think it is rude to discuss tips with the customer. If 10 % is compulsory : say so. But do not, never , discuss tips with the customer. This happened before to us in this place and we will certainly not return any more....

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank roy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Roy R, please would you contact us via our Belthazar. co. za website, as we would like to get some more information from you regarding this incident that you have mentioned, as well as the fact that you said it has happened to you before at our establishment. This is definitely not a customary standard we would like to be given the opportunity to investigate these allegations. Regards, Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and service. Can't flaw it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

This great restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel.

We walked in and were seated right away. The mood was great and the food looked divine.

They had a number of fantastic local wines to choose from- very extensive wine list. Which is probably the only thing I can flaw in the place... Not the wines but the physical layout of the wine list. It's big and a little convoluted. Luckily there is a sommelier to help you with that!
I prefer his choice anyway! :)

The food was fab. I had the steak but my partner tried the game skewer which was also wonderful. desserts were fabulous too.

Overall a very relaxed and memorable dining experience. Very affordable too (at least by Australian standards!).

Great restaurant overall. Would happily go back in a heart beat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmie_b984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Carmie_b984, thank you for your review. We are very proud of our standards and strive to always ensure our guests leave satisfied. We look forward to your next visit with us. Regards, Belthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing