We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this restaurant, kept coming back during our holiday!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar

Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #49 of 1,136 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Wine Bar, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this restaurant, kept coming back during our holiday!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

What can I say about this place...firstly, their game biltong is superb. bought some springbok biltong and wasn't disappointed! secondly, their sweet potato fries are crispy and tasty which paired well with their flame grilled steaks...went so well together kept going back just for this!

over 600 wines to choose from that it made the husband happy. price for meals and wines per glass is reasonable if you come from Europe...about €2-€170 for a glass of wine depending on which wine and meals were around €30 with a starter, main and dessert.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank den_Adeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear den_Adeler, you made a good choice with the sweet potato fries. They are my absolute favourite. Thank you for posting a great review and we are looking forward to your next trip to Cape Town to visit us again. Kind Regards, Belthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    691
    307
    156
    113
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
990 reviews
607 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 486 helpful votes
“Overall good but some minor issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Hubby and I had dinner here tonight to celebrate him surviving a great white shark cage dive so we thought we would splurge a bit. Waiter friendly and wine list great to choose from. We were given complimentary bread and sausages to start with; the bread was so soft and delicious but the sausages were a big heavy for us. We had only one side plate on the table for the bread and twice I requested a second side plate and it never came. We shared the house Belthazar salad to start which was huge and beautifully presented. Again I asked for two side plates so we could share the salad - only one was brought!!! Hubby had the rib eye with a baked potato that was perfectly cooked and very tender and had a delicious flavor. I had a Mediterranean king prawn which was quite expensive and while tasty it was a bit tougher than a lobster tail which is the closest thing I could compare it to. Not much meat on it. All side dishes are a la carte - even chips/potato are extra so nothing comes with your meal. It was a very good experience but not a great one.

Helpful?
Thank mwooduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Mwooduk, thank you for posting a review for Belthazar. We appreciate all feedback, and I will definitely follow up regards the side plate issue. This is not our standard! I am glad that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to your next dining experience with us which will give us the opportunity to show you what Belthazar is all about. Kind Regards, Belthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

In my view the best restaurant in the tourist trap of the waterfront. The menu is excellent and have never had a bad meal from it, the wine list is exhausting for an amateur exciting for someone that loves wine and the staff are knowledgable will help you choose wines for the meal and deliver everything with a smile.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Davidh1977, thank you for your great review. We spend a lot of time putting the Wine List together, so I am glad that it is appreciated. We look forward to your next visit to us. Kind Regards, Belthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Best restaurant on the waterfront ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I have been in the business for quite some time. We spent three weeks in sa and this restaurant stands out and alone from the service to the food! Stumbled across it on a rainy afternoon and returned for the most fabulous dinner. Bartenders tend to eat at the bar. Super busy met cool people including the owner who came from burgers and pizza! Thanks for the wine and a game skewer that melts in your mouth! Thanks James and Ian for a memorable dining experience! I am sending people your way! Belthazar will be my first stop when I return. Can't wait!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Stephglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Stephglea. What a wonderful review to have read today. Thank you for posting and I will ensure that both James and Ian are informed of your experience and will thank them on your behalf. Looking forward to you dining with us again in the near future. Kind regards, Belthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect evening in beautiful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

One on the best within the V&A, more expensive but you pay for what you get. Service and food second to none and the wine list is just crazily extensive, definitely something for everyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear MSBowers, Thank you for the great review. Yes, our wine list is extremely extensive, and covers nearly all sorts of tastes - "something for everyone". We hope that you will join us again soon. Regards, Belthazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing