We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening Meal”

Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #41 of 1,193 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Excellent Steak, relatively pricey compared to others in South Africa but a lot to do with position I guess. Extensive wine by the glass menu and helpful staff; very enjoyable although tables quite close together and need to move tables at the beginning but no fuss made by restaurant in obliging - would go back

Thank 1988Graendog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear 1988Graendog. Thank you for your review. We take pride in our steaks and wine list. We are looking forward to your next dining experience with us. Kind Regards, Belthazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,774)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,648 - 1,652 of 2,775 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2014

All was perfect, from the location to the food, the service but exceptionally was the waiter Ishe. He has the capacity and attitude to do more in his life than just be a waiter. The game, the filet and the fish we ate were of an excellent kitchen. And this we can say coming from a country which is known for its hight quality standards. Keep it up! Edith and Werner from Switzerland

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Werner K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear Edith and Werner, we love hearing this kind of feedback from our guests. This shows that the Service Ambassador, in this case - Ishe, is giving the guests the experience that we are to offer everyone. I will let him know. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and that it was on par with the high quality and standards you expected. Hope to see you soon again. Kind Regards, Belthazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

When you are walking by the waterfront its difficult to choose a good steak place when there are so many choices available. One night i decided to give this a shot and waiter assured med that steak will be cooked to perfection as i had some horrible experiences from nearby places. He made sure steak is cooked properly, got nice bread and sauces for the starters and service was good too. Best part was steak was cooked nicely inside out , it wasnt chewy and had maintained juices. It was also not sad looking good cut and i think they make good selection on cuts too.

Yes its facing waterfront and i was seating outside, though it was cold , overhead heaters kept me nice and warm.

By quality of food i believed prices were justified.

I loved this one and will definitely be on my menu next time i am in town.

Thank you guys!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Dear James, so happy to read your review. We are happy to have been able to give you the experience that we offer our dining guests, from food quality to the warm dining area. We can't wait for your next visit. Kind Regards, Belthazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

What can I say about the delicious steaks and wine served here - just fabulous. Positively the nicest sirloin steak perfectly prepared. And a brilliant choice of wines to accompany the meal.

Thank starmanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi StarmanUK, thank you for the great review. We are proud of the standard of our food and our head sommelier, James, has specially chosen most of our wines. We value your support and looking forward to seeing you dining back with us soon. Many thanks, Belthazar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

In a country that is chock full of amazing meat and good grill and steak houses everywhere, I really felt misled and cheated here. At first glance the menu looks like value for money, at least while you stand at the entrance and quickly see if anything takes your fancy. It's once you get the bill that the unwary visitor does not realise that every extra on you plate over and above the steak is charged for separately, a scope of average mashed potato, side of sauce, I'm surprised they never charged me for the twig of parsley.
It really left a bad taste in my mouth.

Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew H, Guest Relations Manager at Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear AndrewC. Thank you for your feedback. Belthazar is a one of a kind seafood and grill house. We are also the biggest wine-by-the-glass bar in the world. As with many restaurants the world over, this is a standard which is becoming more and more the norm. We are sorry that this left a bad taste in your mouth. Kind Regards, Belthazar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing