We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A firm favourite”

Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar
Ranked #41 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Belthazar, a veritable theatre of fine food and wine on the cutting-edge of "shoppertainment". A multi-purpose restaurant, grill, wine bar and gourmet home accessory shop, Belthazar brings a chic new concept in the culinary arts to Cape Town.Belthazar is the realization of a lifelong passion for wine shared by the Belthazar team. Their vision was to create the largest "wine by the glass" wine bar in the world. Experienced sommeliers expertly serve up to 250 of the Cape's finest wines by the glass and advise customers on a wine-list of up to 600 fine wines and sought-after rare vintages.Indulge your palate. Belthazar is so much more than good food and wine. Indulge in the best - from the world's finest wine glasses and revolutionary wine technology to the slick service, superb aged Karan beef, export quality Mozambican shellfish and the freshest South African seafood. We invite you to indulge in the grand finale - a platter of boutique South African cheeses perfectly paired with a selection of Cape port wines...
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A firm favourite”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Despite there being perhaps 6 other restaurants in very close proximity to Belthazar, I always end up at this restaurant. I love the outside section of this restaurant; with the crowded harbour close by and table mountain in the distance. My last visit left me a bit cold; the cut of meat wasn't what I expected or what I'm used to at this establishment. It can be a bit of a task to summon your waiter, but someone turns up in the end. I cannot yet say for sure if my last visit is a sign of dropping standards or I just chose (the meat) poorly. I will decide on my next visit. There are occasional music performances by traditional groups; the tourists seem to appreciate it. I recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpk111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,211
    747
    321
    165
    117
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“The best steak we have had in a long time”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended to us by the hotel. We focused on the main course dishes and all had fillet steaks (350g was more than enough for us all even though the menu offers much larger cuts) - the steaks were beautifully cooked.

Being unfamiliar with the wines on the menu the sommelier gave us a suggestion well within our price limit and it was delightful.

The service was friendly and the atmosphere was very good (although the subdued lighting did make a challenge to read the menu!).

All in all a most enjoyable meal and highly recommended

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Romulus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Have meat and enjoy”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Excellent meat there! The Searloin stack was fantastic as the Filet, just perfect.
You can choose how big it will be.
Service was not that fast but we had time.
Prices are Ok and the place is just right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StrasbourgPhil67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food but overpriced”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The food is nice but can't say that this is the best steak. I ordered ribeye steak. It came without the bone and with lots if fat (more what should be)
The wine list is well selected with lots of wines on it, but holding and going trough the wine list which is in the form of a daily news paper can be a challenge. The sommelier was able to pick appropriate wine for each dish.
The service is excellent, food above average but the prices a double than what you will pay in fine dining restaurant around Cape Town.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“One of my favourite restaurants in Cape Town !!!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This restaurant NEVER disappoints they have an incredible selection of wines either by the glass or by the bottle. Their steaks are in a class of their own ( I always have mashed Potatoe with mine) Deserts are just the cherry on top. The service is beyond excellent irrespective of whether it's peak season or off season. Waitrons are both knowledgeable and well trained. On hand when needed but unobtrusive - the best type of service to have. My special occasions go to place !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesleySzabo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Belthazar Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing