We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We like it there”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #103 of 1,323 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
Reviewed June 5, 2019

Pasta special is worth the trouble going in the first place.
Good food. Even made my sauce and pasta to suit my liking. Excellent waiters, Yowa comes highly recommended. She looked after our every need. Of course cant get a more central location right on the next quay.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 327andrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Dear 327andrer, we appreciate your recommendation and are happy that you enjoyed your dishes. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us and the Tripadvisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 26 of 1,458 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2019

On a business trip with no family to visit, I went back to my tried and tested Balducci's. The steak was excellent and I enjoyed sitting outside watching the folks go by. The wine list was a little dissapointing as many of my favourites were not listed and I had to settle for a lesser wine. No matter, the second glass tasted better.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank FriendofGrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2019

Dear FriendofGrand, we appreciate your wonderful recommendation and are happy that you enjoyed your steak. Am sorry to hear that we did not stock a lot of your favourite wines but do have an extensive winelist with many options including many 4 star rated house wines. We thank you for taking the time to share this with us and the Tripadvisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely dinner our last evening in Capetown. Fabrice was our delightful server with a keen interest in our home country and our politics. He engaged us with his knowledge and was quick to offer a recommendation of the Baby Kingklip. It was fabulous! Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank allmyheartstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2019

Dear allmyheartstravel, we appreciate your wonderful recommendation and are happy that you enjoyed your Baby Kingklip awa service from Fabrice. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us and the Tripadvisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

Lovely waitress Jillian looked after us really well. Let us sample different wines before making our decision and we really enjoyed the red wine we chose. Food was tasty and very plentiful. If you can’t finish at least you can box it up and have it later.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestrelations7, Guest Relations Manager at Balducci's, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2019

Dear Julie H, we appreciate your wonderful recommendation and are happy that you enjoyed your experience. Thank you for taking the time to share this with us and the Tripadvisor community, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

We were a group of 6. All from New Zealand and extensively traveled. We all know good food and this was not it.
In truth this was always a bad choice and our mistake was to not walk out immediately. A huge menu with diverse choices of cuisine is never a good sign.
I ordered pulled pork pasta. It was typical of all the pasta dishes ordered. Incredibly hot, seared on top, obviously pre prepared and zapped before serving. Taste was awful and I hardly touched the meal.
When asked by our waiter about the food we complained and he said he would send the manager. We did not see him despite staying a further 30 minutes.
I have read every negative review and can relate to almost all. I have read dozens of positive ones and can relate to none.
Be warned. Don't go.
PS I'm not in the habit of writing bad reviews.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank LaurieF140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing