We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Party of 8”
Review of Balducci's

Balducci's
Ranked #52 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Balducci at the V & A Waterfront offers an unrivaled menu of simple, everyday home cooked Italian dishes that reflect the most traditional elements of food and culinary styles. Our simple Italian home cooked food is prepared in a relaxed and restorative style, whilst at the same time being creative, traditional and affordable. Main restaurant open from 11am daily
St. Neots, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Party of 8”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This is nice restaurant tucked up in the corner of the V & A, the food was very good but the service was a little slow although the staff were all very nice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    452
    339
    139
    70
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great evening had by all....”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We recently married in South Africa and decided when we got to Cape Town to treat our UK friends to a decent meal. I remembered that I always had had a good meal at Balducci's and once again it did not let me down.

The service was very attentive and we were recommended a suggestion of white or red wine.
It was also suggested that we had a few platters before the main course arrived.

A few of us had the special which was 300gr fillet with blue cheese and avocado, others had "Red Roman" fish dish baked superb and others had another special of sirloin served in a rosemary jus. All the meals were well cooked and I ended my meal with a crème brulee.

Coffee and liquers were also offered and I thank our waitron for his excellent service to our table of 6 outside on 19th Nov. We will most definitely be back when we return to Cape Town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not bad- worth a try”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Pros:
• Enjoyed the KingKlip (140 RAND) and Seafood Platter (crayfish, linefish, grilled calamari, eight prawns and mussels, with garlic butter and rice 695 RAND). We devoured our dishes and thought they had delicious flavors and sauces.

Cons:
• Overall we thought that Balducci's was pretty good, but not amazing. The food was a bit overpriced- such as the seafood platter for 695.
• On a busy Friday night the service was VERY slow, waiter took 20 minutes to come over and take our order.
• The back was very stuffy and need more/better ventilation.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnL148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Superb Antipasta”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Sitting under the ceiling heaters outside we enjoyed a fantastic angioplasty followed by pizza. The staff were friendly and attentive and the food delicious. The only minus was the people smoking in front of the restaurant - not Baldicci's customers, but they ignored the NO smoking signs.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoneyD337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood and friendly service”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here with some great, fresh seafood... The service was friendly and efficient... The menu is amazing with so many choices.
It is a place I would recommend very highly to clients, though as a local I did find it expensive - clients and friends from abroad love it and find the prices quite reasonable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balducci's also viewed

 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Balducci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing