We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Savoy Cabbage

Savoy Cabbage
Ranked #21 of 1,163 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: African, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Enjoy creative contemporary cooking in a visually exciting venue. With its historic Table Mountain stone and old brick that dates back to the 18th century, architect Leon Saven's design is complemented by glass, concrete and exposed ducting. Cabbage motif chandeliers and salt dishes, fine table appointments and impeccable service reflect outstanding attention to detail. The menu alters daily, using the freshest local produce and combines unusual flavours to excite the palate of the discerning diner. A boutique wine list which is very reasonably priced.
Purley
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really interesting interior, food was excellent and service great. We tried some very different dishes from the mainstream restaurants and were not disappointed. The chicken liver parfait is heaven!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Coulsdongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    252
    87
    36
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a nice experience”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Ample parking, easy to get to. Decor great. Service A+++++. Food well presented and really tastefull !! One of those, I will be back, places! Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanieW312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best in Cape Town !”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently spent 2 weeks in Cape Town and dined out in a number of restaurants. This is by far the best around. The service is very attentive though kept at a distance when needed and the venue is beautiful.

Best of all though the food - top marks ! - perfectly cooked quality ingredients. I immediately booked to go back a few days later but unfortunately had an accident so couldn't. Was gutted !

This is a must if you're in Cape Town !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robbie_Exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We liked the Savoy Cabbage so much we returned in the same week. It is a relaxed , spacious restaurant, with warm welcome and good service, and delicious food and wine. We particularly liked the tomato tart starter, which is a signature dish, and the Beetroot Salad. The mains were excellent, particularly the Fennel Dusted Warthog and the Herb Encrusted lamb. We also enjoyed 3 little pigs and the Rare Karan Beef Fillet.

We shared the outstanding deserts, Cape Malva Pudding, and a chocolate Marquise to die for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Janne45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our first night in Cape Town and needing food - other nearby restaurants were full, so Savoy Cabbage was a much needed food stop - but turned out much more than that - lovely food, attentive staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savoy Cabbage also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Savoy Cabbage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing