We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drinks on the Verandah......great”
Review of La Perla

La Perla
Ranked #239 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sydney
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Drinks on the Verandah......great”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were walking along the main road on our first afternoon and decided to stop for a drink Instead of our usual dinner.....at least once on our Cape Town visits....it was great!We had edamame, other snacks , a great Bellini for moi and an ice cold Beer for Mr. After a couple more& great people watching as well as being entertained by local buskers we rolled back to our hotel a very, very chilled, contented couple!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank shats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    246
    140
    94
    98
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Casual dining, good service”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I would class La Perla as casual dining rather than fine dining but it is a well located restaurant where we received good service and first clkass food. The menu is varied and good value. There is easy parking very nearby. Overall a good place to eat rather than the hassle of the Waterfront in the evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mikethegolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

OK, I may be a touch biased having been an irregular visitor to La Perla for 30 years (I live in London) but having revisited a couple of times during a recent trip to Cape Town I still reckon it is very hard to beat. Great food, a busy buzzy atmosphere, ecclectic clientelle and impeccable service from happy waiters, some of whom have been there from its inception 40 odd years ago. But old does not mean that La Perla is stuffy or out of date but rather like a fine wine it has acquired a touch of class that only time can bestow. The highest complement I can pay is that although the food has a distinctly Italian accent it is the Cape Town equivalent of Le Caprice in London or The Lipp in Paris. So many thanks La Perla and see you again soon I hope

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jossw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Just by chance - but a good find”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Looking for somewhere to eat and tired of the V&A waterfront crowds on a Sunday decided to look around and found La Perla. Nicely situated at the western end of town overlooking sea and beach.
Attentive service with a good menu of mostly Italian food. Good quality and nice surroundings - upmarket without too much expense.
A very pleasant experience .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very disappointing...!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

La Perla had been recommended to us and we thought to dine there this evening, a Monday evening (18 February 2013). First off, it might have been easier should we have reserved a table. No, we hadn't, okay, no problem. I noted that our request for a table was met almost scornfully by the owner of this restaurant. We were usherd off to an anti-chambre to await our table for two where we were studiously ignored by the waiters. We ordered two glasses of red wine and were charged ZAR 108.00 for the privilege. I must admit the red wine was good, but later I read that by the bottle that particular wine only cost ZAR 185.00
After a wait of about an hour we were brought to a rather cramped table inside the restaurant. We had already suggested we might like to eat outside. After a couple of minutes we were brought to a table on the terrace. Much better!
My partner and I both ordered an anti-pasta and a pasta main course. It must be said that the food was good, almost very good. The service was poor. Disinterested staff dressed in barbers' jackets, tidying up the terrace at 22:00 hrs while many guests were still eating. I really cannot understand why this restaurant is so popular. It would seem that mediocracy rules.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Perla also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing