We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“little garden of Eden”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Jambo Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jambo Guest House
Ranked #57 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“little garden of Eden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

My husband & I stayed at the wonderful Jambo Guest House in April 2008 for a week as we explored the entire Cape Town area with daily excursions in every direction. On a quiet street within walking distance of the Victoria Wharf and Shopping Mall, Jambo has 5 guest rooms with full baths, each one beautifully decorated with a different theme. We stayed in the ‘Garden Suite’ and felt that we had found a little garden of Eden. Jambo certainly deserves its 5 star rating for comfort, ambience, superb breakfast and the welcoming of Barry’s British-style pub, an excellent place to unwind with Barry & Mina and other guests at the end of a long day of serious sight seeing. Barry and Mina genuinely enjoy spending time with each guest, giving helpful advice, hearing about one’s adventures, making useful suggestions, and sharing stories. They know the entire Cape Town area so well that they can make suggestions that relate to what one is interested in seeing. We enjoyed meeting other guests as well. No wonder many guests return year after year to the Jambo Guest House because once you have been there you know what it feels like to be part of a warm and wonderful family.

  • Liked — Quiet garden; Barry's Bar; Mina & Barry
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
61
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2008

I stayed here with my boyfriend in April 2008 and I was very dissapointed. The room (which was the most expensive one) was ok and clean, although compared to a lot of the other hotels and B&Bs we stayed at it was pretty poor, the fan was really old and noisy, there was a 'insect killing light' that gradually got brighter and brighter throughout the night. The bathroom facilities consisted of half empty bottles of shampoo & shower gel. I think that the decor was probably fashionable and quirky in the early 90s but now it looks mainly really dated and erratic. I know that when you stay in a guest house, the service is different from staying at a hotel but the biggest put-off, was the owners. The man would constantly stand or hover outside our room, (whistling continously) he told my boyfriend off when he thought he was smoking in the room (which he wasn't!) and generally they were just too intrusive. The breakfast was ok, but not great and I got the feeling that the meat in particular wasn't very fresh. The location was ok, the area felt fairly safe, but it was not very pretty - and for the money we spent I wish that we would have booked somewhere closer to the Waterfront. On the plus-side, the garden was lovely, and the saving grace was the jacuzzi. South Africa was amazing and I really enjoyed staying in Cape Town, but I would not recommend staying at the Jambo Guest House to my friends.

  • Liked — Jacuzzi
  • Disliked — Owners, location, breakfast
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Svensk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJambo, Owner at Jambo Guest House, responded to this review, November 24, 2008
Dear Svensk1,
We read with dismay your report about how unhappy you were with your stay at Jambo Guest House. We were especially surprised after reading your entry in our guest book which was very complimentary.

There are several inaccuracies in your letter that need to be pointed out. Jambo is a 120 year old Victorian home and is decorated accordingly. Being a guesthouse, we were able to give each room individual styles, unlike most hotels which are decorated with glass and chrome and everything else white. We did not think that this ultra modern look would fit in our Victorian home, but of course you must have been aware of this, having seen our website at the time of making your reservation.

You mentioned that the fan was old and noisy but in fact this fan is new and we tried it after reading your comments and it works perfectly, the only noise being the rush of air through the blades. If you needed cooling you could have turned on the air conditioner ?

All our rooms are equipped with tea & coffee making facilities including a coffee plunger and herbal teas, hair dryers, TV/Mnet, electric blankets, a safe, mini-bar fridge, radio alarm clock, wall heaters, fans, air-conditioners which can provide either heating or cooling. Robes and extra towels are provided for use in our heated outdoor jacuzzi although our Garden Suite, which you occupied, has its own spa bath. We even have emergency lighting installed for the well being of our guests. These lights remain connected to the power source in order to stay fully charged. In the event of a power failure they will automatically come on and our guests will not find themselves in total darkness.
We can only assume that you had switched off the plug thus causing the light to come on and that is what you mistakenly thought was an "insect killing light". We do not have any such lights in any of our rooms.

We believe that it is preferable to use a large cake of soap (passing on the left over bars to the poor ). On arrival each room is stocked with a fresh bar of soap. We found many of the hospitality miniature shampoos etc. to be of poor quality and we therefore use large bottles. When they are used up we replace them with new ones.

Your remark about the owners is purely vindictive. How could you misunderstand true concern and caring and assume it was 'intrusive' behaviour on our part ? Mina came out to ask you if you were OK and when you closed the door in her face she left but continued worrying about you.
Your room faces the garden which you so enjoyed. To keep the garden this way requires a lot of maintenance and this is what Barry was doing - not hovering. Barry is the kindest, most positive person (ask any of our guests) He sees the world through 'rose coloured glasses'. He is a happy, calm person who very often sings or whistles whilst working in the garden or tending the koi pond. Is that a sin ? Guests are usually out during the day anyway and nobody has ever minded his singing and whistling.

Our breakfast is bought daily, at great expense, at the most prestigious delicatessen in Cape Town. The salami and ham, croissants, seeded rolls, low GI seed loaf and white bread, fruits in season, stewed fruit, yoghurts and cheeses are bought daily and are always fresh. Chocolate speads, marmites, peanut butters, cereals, fruit juices,tea and coffee, butters, jams and preserves are freely available on our breakfast table. Bacon and eggs is available on request. Fresh fruit is available anytime. What did you find lacking in our breakfast ?

As for the location Green Point is one of the most sought after areas of Cape Town but there is much construction at present as the City is changing the roads and building the new stadium for the 2010 Soccer World Cup. So yes, it does not look its best but the municipality has promised Capetonians a new urban park opposite us and our location is close, yet not on top of, the the new stadium.
It is a very safe area where you can walk at any time of the day or night.

At double our prices you may find 4 or 5 star hotels which are closer to the Waterfront.

Barry and I, Mina, go to great lengths to help our guests and ensure that they get the very best experience during their short stay in Cape Town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2008

We spent 4 nights at Jambo in June 2008 and I wish it could have been longer! The house itself is lovely, and the rooms really great, with everything you could need. The garden with jacuzzi is a great way to relax at the end of the day, and the upstairs bar is full of games, and other 'interesting stuff' - it's just a shame our we were too busy out and about in cape town as Jambo is a wonderful place to just to chill out.

Barry and Mina are such a lovely, friendly couple and gave lots of helpful advice via email before we even arrived, and once we were there all of their suggestions for places to go were fantastic. You can't beat decent local knowledge. We also had a slight cock-up in that we left some important travel documents when we left to stay in Stellenbosch, but rather than waiting for us to realise and call them, they went to a lot of effort to look up where we were staying and get in touch, which was very much appreciated. Having then raced back to Green Point to pick the documents up again, we did feel a pang of 'homesickness' when leaving!

Needless to say, if we are ever fortunate enough to visit Cape Town again we would be sure to stay at Jambo!!

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank Caro226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2008

I have been staying with Barry and Mina in Jambo Guest House several times. I came to Cape Town in Oct 2002 and kept returning 5 times until then. Further visits are certainly going to follow.

The Guest House is situated within walking distance of the V&A Waterfront and other attractions. We have been walking to the Waterfront even at night with my little daughter and never had the feeling of insecurity.

The house reflects the people living there: it is cosy and personal with several things that Mina and Barry collected over the years (so it seems). Although the rooms are not very big compared to other places outside the city, each one is very special and carefully decorated.

One reason I come back to Cape Town is the hospitality I always experienced in Jambo Guest House. Returning in April 2003 felt like coming home.

Mina and Barry are very knowledgeable about the Cape and always help you out on things to do and places to see in Cape Town. I would never stay somewhere else in Cape Town.

  • Liked — The hosts and the friendliness
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PinotNoir69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2007

The JAMBO is very well situated in Green Point which is 5 minutes drive to all locations (Cape Town center, V@A, Camps Bay etc) and within easy walking distance to the V@A as well as some local shops and classy restaurants.
It is 4 and 5 star rated and this is well deserved. The decor is what you might term eclectic and has interests to view in every corner. We stayed in the Garden room which is self contained and appreciated the space, comfort and not to mention the 4 poster bed ! It had everything you would need and some things you just simply loved (chocs on the pillow after the bed was turned down for you at night).
Barry and Mina were attentive without being obtrusive and were on hand to offer advice on all aspects Cape Town. This was our second visit to CPT and did not realise that it was safe to walk around provided you are mindful/careful of your surrounding and don't put your bling on show ! Mina used to be a tour guide in Cape Town and they obviously enjoy fine food and shopping as their recommendations were accurate every time. A pot of tea in the beautiful and cool garden (inc KOI pond and Jaccuzi) spent with them both, revealed how interesting a couple they are in their own right and it was a real pleasure to spend time with them. We will return here again and again. No picture supplied as the details/pics on their website [--] were entirely accurate.

  • Liked — Location and comfort
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Peppercat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Wilton Manor Guest House
#28 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Cape Standard
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Avatara Guest House
#76 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#36 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
The Blue House Guesthouse
#45 of 156 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambo Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambo Guest House

Property: Jambo Guest House
Address: 1 Grove Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jambo Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built at the turn of the century and nestling in a quiet cul-de-sac at the foot of Signal Hill in Green Point. This amazing Guest House is set in a sub-tropical walled garden in the heart of urban Cape Town. Jambo is centrally located and a safe 15 minute walk to the Victoria & Alfred Waterfront; while Green Point’s excellent trendy restaurants are only 5 minutes away. The city centre is 4 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jambo Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambo Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing