We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marg&Dennis”
Review of Baia

Baia
Ranked #28 of 1,147 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marg&Dennis”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great value, chateaubriand was superb! Friendly service. Beautiful position, overlooking the water. Would definitely return if back in Cape Town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    648
    242
    97
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant and best seafood”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is the best place to eat in Cape Town, lunch or dinner. Superb food, excellent service and great view. I live in Cape Town and I truly recommend this restaurant. It also has a great selection of wines.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OhDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant & fresh sea-food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We spent one dinner at the Baia...the location of this restaurant is really good, the atmosphere is pleasant and the seafood is delicious.Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Girau Michele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
167 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Unbelievably fresh seafood; Great tasting fare!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our Cape Town tour guide recommended to us Baia as a worthwhile restaurant for dinner on our first night in town. It was right in the same complex as our hotel, Table View Hotel, thus very convenient to get to.

The service at Baia is remarkably good. We had dinner here for two nights. The first night, the waiter sold us the "specials". The way he described it was just too tempting, and when the food arrived, it was unbelievably tasty! My wife had Langoustines Nacional - beer cream port combined in a herb sauce on fresh Langoutines! I had a grilled fresh whole fish which was delicious. Both dishes took our breath away. My son had a lamb rack which he chomped down like a hungry caveman.

The second time around, we had a 500gm grain-fed angus ribeye steak with the bone in, which my wife and son shared, and I had a Dover Sole with lemon sauce. Again, superb. My son had grilled calamari in a tasty brown sauce.

Quality fish, meats and exquisite culinary skills combine to make Baia a winner! Good recommendation by our tour guide.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful food but at a price”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Baia on our first night in Cape Town and on the recommendation of our hotel's manager.

We all thoroughly enjoyed the food (grilled langoustine) and were given excellent and very friendly service. The review could stop here and would be entirely accurate; however in an area where it is possible to eat out very cheaply our meal (albeit with a bottle of high end wine, was undoubtedly at the upper end of the price scale.

Highly recommended and would happily go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Romulus66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baia also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing