We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #29 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very nice, clean and friendly”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Very nice b&b. Clean and nice rooms. The interior is personal and have many  beautiful details. The owners are friendly, fun and very helpful. We got a lot of information and help. It feels like visiting good friends. The breakfast is great. Freshly made bread and muffins. Good location. Very nice atmosphere. I really recommend it and I would definately stay here again. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    83
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
56
223
76
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A charming couple-owned B&B in the heart of Cape Town's yeasty Bo'Kaap district, an easy 15 minute walk from the Victoria and Albert Waterfront. Rooms are simple but charming, very comfortable albeit with limited storage space. Hosts Yoann and Adira are helpful and knowledgeable; they have gone out of their way to help arrange tourist bookings, prepare meals that accommodated my wife's dietary restrictions, and more. Clean, safe, warmly decorated...we will definitely stay here again if we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geosync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Best b&b I've ever been to. Host Yoann is awesome. He's got an angel's patience helping his guests with their sight seeing plans and will happily share his views on the city, the neighborhood, the country, the people, etc over a fantastic breakfast. I had the room next to the breakfast room, but I was always up before the rest of the guests so the noise didn't bother me.The room is modern, comfy, spotless clean. The entire place (gorgeous renovations!) feels more like a boutique hotel than a b&b. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelsonsuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The bnb is 3 minutes away from the city center. The rooms are simple but cosy, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is fantastic and Yohann is a very friendly guy. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank MarcBcn1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This is a very good B&B in an ideal location close to (but not in) the center of Cape Town. What really makes it outstanding is the owner, Yoann, who is incredibly welcoming. He sits down with the guests every day at breakfast to provide advice and discuss plans. It feels more like staying with friends than staying at a B&B. As a solo traveller, I'd say I appreciated the company as much as the helpful advice.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, and breakfast is good, with lots of good fruit even in winter. There's also a very nice roof terrace, with a view over the city centre over to Table Mountain. A perfect place to relax after a busy day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

The thing that really stands out with La Rose B&B is the helpfulness of the owner. He is always present at breakfast to discuss plans of the guests and provide advise and weather forecasts. He knows a lot about all places to go in Cape Town and has interesting stories to tell as well.

We were in the Oriental room, which was clean and in good state. The excellent shower deserves special mention. There is a European power socket and free wifi, both very useful. The room also has a kettle and coffee/tea. Some space in the bathroom to put bathroom stuff on would have been nice though.

The main disadvantage is noise, as we could clearly hear the call for the morning prayer from the mosque opposite the street. Noise from the breakfast room is also heard.

Breakfast is very good. We had fruit salad, freshly baked muffins and scrambled eggs, but there was more to choose from.

The location is very good, with both the Waterfront and the city centre close by. It is close to the western edge of the safe zone where one can walk after sunset. Because the hotel has it's own night guard for guest cars on the corner with Hout Street, one can safely walk to the city centre through that street. From Buitengracht eastwards there are guards everywhere.

In sum this hotel is a very good choice except maybe for light sleepers. We would certainly go here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our experience at La Rose was amazing. Yoan and his wife did an excellent job of accomodation a room change midway thru our stay, and were exceptionally helpful in helping us catch our bus on short notice at the end of our trip. Yoan's breakfasts were amazing - fresh bread, local honey, home cooked eggs and delicious coffee every mroning. The rooftop patio was a treat, although we didn't spend as much time there as we would have liked. The B&B is in a good location, however ask for a route when walking to the waterfront, as it took us several unsuccessful attempts at finding a safe and direct route there. Also note that weekends have an eerie feel to them in the city (outside of the waterfront) - it's slightly deserted and feels a bit unsafe.

All in all, this is probably one of the best B&B's or accomodations i've ever stayed in and I'd recommend it to anyone travelling to Cape Town. Thanks Yoan!

Room Tip: The blue room is VERY small. We had originally booked that one and had to switch to a bigger one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanSofieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#22 of 156 in Cape Town Central
446 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
914 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town Central
998 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
228 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Rose Bed & Breakfast
Address: 32 Rose Street | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose is an eclectic mix of French, Indian, Cape Malay and African influences, where old world and modern embrace. Each en suite bedroom is unique and stylishly decorated to reflect the colourful Bo-Kaap and South Africa. It is home away from home, designed to cater for tourists as well as business executives and is gay friendly. Centrally located, it is one of the most central areas in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
La Rose Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing