We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As great as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #25 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“As great as expected”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

After reading all the reviews, I had high expectations for La Rose, and I was not disappointed. It was clean and comfortable. Large and delicious breakfast every morning (yogurt, homemade granola, fruit, eggs, muffins, cheese, toast). The hosts were happy to give suggestions on restaurants and activities to do. The rooftop terrace had a wonderful view of Table Mountain, especially spectacular at night when it was lit, and a nice place to relax, read a book, drink a glass of wine. Stayed in the Cerise room which had room for two of us to be comfortable, natural light, and minimal decor (something I like). As it was on the street level (walking path only, no cars) there was noise from those walking by.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8down80togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    87
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
230
78
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

La Rose is a friendly little B & B in the Bokaap area of Cape Town. It is within ten to fifteen minutes walk of both the waterfront and the city centre. Yoann and his team offer a personal service in simple but clean and modern surroundings. This is a good choice if you are looking for a budget option in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LUCKYJIMEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We wanted to stay somewhere with a bit more character and individuality for our 3 days in CT - we weren't disappointed. The owners are very welcoming - even booking us a transfer from the airport, as we were landing late at night.
Room, breakfast etc were all spot on - we stayed in the Lilac Suite. The hosts were great at providing tips and ideas for things to do, which we appreciated.
The rooftop is sensational, and the breakfast room lovely!

The only drawback to La Rose we found (which wasn't insignificant) was the sound of the local mosque, which kept us awake through the night, every night. : S not great!
We didn't feel safe walking from La Rose to Long Street, or to the shops and restaurants around Waterkant St. We took taxis which are very cheap, and easy. This isn't the fault of the B&B of course - it's the nature of this city - and particularly Bo-kaap (a point which was reinforced by locals we spoke with).

We would stay again, as it's great value and charming. We would recommend it also, as long as you're aware of the location and understand how to navigate CT safely!

We actually travelled in December 2010 - it's taken me ages to get round to reviewing!

Room Tip: The Lilac Suite was on the first floor and spacious, with a nice bathroom and little balcony overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We loved our stay at La Rose. The location has a vibrant neighborhood feel with lots of intersting shops and cafes and is in convienent walking distance to many sites. It was perfect for 2 adults and a teenager during our stay in March 2012. Johann and Indira were incredibly helpful with advice about how best to get to museums and other sites and even arranged a walking tour of Bo Kaap that was one of the highlights of our visit. The rooms were very comfortable and the whole B&B is a gem. Lots of thought went into the architecture and decoration. Last but not least the breakfast was wonderful with fresh baked scones, homemade granola, and lovely eggs. Johann gave us recommendations for restaurants that were all great. If there is room don't hesitate to book, you will be glad you did. We moved here after one night in another hotel in Capetown, and were very happy with the decision.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ecopen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I picked La Rose because of tripadvisor positive comments for a 4-day visit in March of 2011, when I was in S. Africa by myself. It went so well I came back with my family (spouse, 2 teenagers) in April of 2012.

Joann, the host, was engaged from the first contact, giving me necessary details and helping me arrange a variety of things, from airport transfers, to meal recommendations, to a tour guide (definitely try Jorvan as a tour guide). On my first visit I took a smaller room which was great for one traveler, and on my second visit I took the largest room which was fine for the 4 of us. Each room had beautiful furnishings and very comfortable beds. Breakfast was great. Easy accesss to all of the city's highlights, and guarded parking right out front if you have a car. You'll be very happy with La Rose.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank madwistraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

La Rose is a home away from home. The B&B is a delight in every sense - beautiful furnishings, beautiful art, good food, and hosts who are interesting, well-informed and welcoming. I felt like a child in Disneyland staying there. The area is colourful and vibrant, and is heaven on hills for anyone who is passionate about photography. It is conveniently located and feels like a best-kept secret. I'm returning as soon as I can, and often.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful - if you are a first time visitor, ask for a room facing Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batwomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed at La Rose for 4 nights in April. It is in a great location within walking distance to all of the places we wanted to go (restaurants, shopping, V&A waterfront). We felt completely at ease in the neighborhood.

The B&B itself was very clean and the breakfast ample and delicious. Our room was spacious (the lilac suite, I believe), but a little noisy with the hustle and bustle of the city. We were not too bothered by this. Yoann and his wife were great hosts and helped us greatly with their advice and with our sightseeing plans.

A very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Lilac suite is spacious (two separate rooms) and has a nice little balcony to sit and have some wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEMontreal_QC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
Rose Lodge
Rose Lodge
#23 of 155 in Cape Town Central
454 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 155 in Cape Town Central
938 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#10 of 155 in Cape Town Central
510 reviews
Cape Finest Guesthouse
#39 of 155 in Cape Town Central
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Rose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Rose Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Rose Bed & Breakfast
Address: 32 Rose Street | Bo'Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Rose is an eclectic mix of French, Indian, Cape Malay and African influences, where old world and modern embrace. Each en suite bedroom is unique and stylishly decorated to reflect the colourful Bo-Kaap and South Africa. It is home away from home, designed to cater for tourists as well as business executives and is gay friendly. Centrally located, it is one of the most central areas in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your La Rose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Rose Bed And Breakfast
La Rose Hotel Cape Town Central
La Rose Bed & Breakfast Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing