We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“homely b&b close ti city centre.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Guesthouse One Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Guesthouse One Belvedere
Ranked #77 of 163 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“homely b&b close ti city centre.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

checked in for a long weekend Cape town after a 2 week tour in the Cape province. Warm welcome by Robert and Carl who run this place since 2002. It is an old mansion with 6 rooms i a remote suburb ajunct downtown Capetown. classic Victorian building. cosy atmosphere and nice hosts. if you want to avoid standard hotels and enjoy Colonial style accomodation this is a good choice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard-emely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
30
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Addo, South Africa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

... Found this charming guest house on-line and booked purely based on price and location. The owner is friendly and hospitable and our room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was good. excellently priced - we will probably be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparafucile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

My partner and I just finished a three night stay at 1 Belvedere Guesthouse as part of our week's holiday in South Africa. After spending two months in Johannesburg the change in atmosphere and culture was welcomed.

The owners, Rob and Charl are very nice and hospitable. They are very knowledgeable of Cape Town, where to go, what to do, what to see and what to avoid. Trust their resource information such as taxis, tours, etc.

The rooms are clean, spacious (even for two traveling with huge bags). Bathrooms are spacious as well. Rooms with a veranda access are very nice. Just be conscious of your security as you would anywhere else in Africa (don't go off leaving your doors opened). Breakfast is plentiful with breads, pastries, fruit, and cereals. They offer eggs as well.

One suggestion for visitors. If you plan to go to table mountain, take advantage of buying your tickets online using their PC and printer. You will save yourself over 30 minutes of waiting in line.

1 Belvedere is good value for the money and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FtLaudDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

Very tidy and clean B&B and very cheap.... though.... the owners have confused ideas of true hospitality rather unfriendly if not arrogant.....
Wouldnt stay again....

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2010

One Belvedere is a high quality guesthouse in a quiet area, about fifteen minutes walk from the city centre.

The website will give you a very good insight into the layout of the guesthouse and it is very accurate. The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms are equally spacious with victorian style baths. Each of the bedrooms on the first floor open onto a balcony with tables and seats, ideal for an early morning coffee or having a drink at night.

On the ground floor, there is a communal living room, ideal for relaxing. Off this living room is the dining room where breakfast is served each morning. Off the dining room, there is a verandan where you can also have breakfast. Overall, the quality of the rooms is very good.

As you'll see from the website, there is a small pool and lounging area, ideal if you're lazy lke me and just want to chill out. Just indoors from the pool, there is a jacuzzi and steam room for more relaxation.

As I was holidaying alone, I was keen to stay in a guesthouse where I would meet other guys to hang out with. I stayed 10 nights in total; for the first few nights, it was mainly couples who did their own thing. Fortunately, more 'friendly' couples and other singles arrived and the atmosphere was much more convivial. A few of us went out for dinner together, drinks and, on another day, a group from the guesthouse climbed Table Mountain.

The guesthouse is run by two Dutch guys, one was away during my stay. My host was very hospitable and created a warm ambience around the guesthouse. Special orders for breakfast were no trouble. In the evening time, there were some spontaneous drinks and nibbles on the verandah with the other guests.

Many of the guests had stayed at One Belvedere previously; a Dutch guy was on his fifth stay while a German and Belgian guys were on their second visit. Durito ng my stay, the guesthouse was full most evenings so is advisable book well in advance.

Overall, a very good gueshouse with a very personable host. I would definitely recommend it and plan to stay there again on my next visit to Cape Town.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROWINGGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2009

I first stayed at one belvedere in 2006 as a stop-over on my way to Australia and was completely won over by the warm and friendly reception I was given by hosts Rob and Charl. They strike just the right balance between being informal and amusing hosts without encroaching on guests personal space.

Similarly the guest house is welcoming and unpretentious yet provides all the facilities (and more) than you could expect for this type of establishement. The food, facilities rooms and surroundings (inc a dinky little pool) could not be faulted

I was delighted to return in 2008 for a longer stay and found everything just as enjoyable as on my previous visit

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank steveil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2009

Have now stayed twice at One Belvedere, have recommended to friends and plan to visit again very soon.
Rob and Charl are two friendly and welcoming owners - very willing to chat with you if you want, and have had pleasant evening glasses of wine on the terrace. Very caring when a chest infection brought down from London necessitated a trip to the doctor.
One Belvedere is situated in a quiet part of Cape Town, overlooking the city and with Table Mountain just behind. A few minutes in car or taxi takes you to the centre or the waterfront. An excellent breakfast on the verandah in summer looking at the view is a great start to the day.
Rooms are pleasantly furnished clean and characterful - and quiet and relaxing to stay in.
Overall a first class base for Cape Town and the surrounding areas.

  • Liked — Quiet, friiendly, great situation
  • Disliked — Having to leave to go home!
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank readyyselon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#19 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
City Bowl
Rosedene Guest House
Rosedene Guest House
#25 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guesthouse and Apar...
#7 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#10 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#17 of 163 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Villa Zeezicht
#75 of 163 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse One Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse One Belvedere

Property: Guesthouse One Belvedere
Address: 1 Belvedere Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Guesthouse One Belvedere 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Guesthouse One Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse One Belvedere Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing