We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make friends with Coco, Teddy and Bruce”
Review of Rose Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Lodge
Ranked #28 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Last week was the second time I stayed with Coco, Teddy and Bruce, and it was as good as the first time. The rooms are very comfortable and extremely clean. You sleep well in comfortable bed in a quiet neighbourhood. Very good bathrooms. Wireless Internet is available in tastefully decorated rooms. Bruce is more than a host - he is your advisor and guide. He and his dogs make you feel home away from home.
Another great things about Rose Lodge is its location - it is very close to the city center, The Waterfront, Table Mountain and all other major attractions in Cape Town. It is also 5 minutes walk away from the exciting restaurants of Bo-Kaap and trendy Waaterkaant.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 474 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2009

We've stayed in the Suite in Rose Lodge twice now , in 2006 and 2009 and hope to visit from Australia again. Rose Lodge is conveniently located in the Bo Kaap district which is a two minute walk from the centre of the city and a culturally interesting area itself. Rose Lodge is comfortable, light and airy, very clean and safe. The beds are extremely comfortable. Bruce is very welcoming and helpful. He prepares a healthy breakfast of juice, fruit salad, cereal and toast, tea and coffee. Bruce organised a taxi for us from the airport and connected us with a car hire company. He followed up on all of our many queries. Bruce has great recommendations for local restaurants and activities to do in Cape Town and around the Garden Route. Coco and Teddy quickly became delightful furry friends.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazula6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

I don't think you could ever find a better B&B experience than Rose Lodge and the added enjoyment of meeting and dining with wonderful people from Australia, Denmark, Holland and England was outstanding. Bruce is a fantastic host and you'll love his beautiful home and delightful dogs - Teddy and Coco!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harmonyIqaluit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Rose Lodge very much. Bruce and his canine companions were charming hosts. The Lodge is in a really convenient spot, whether you are on foot and going into town, or have a car and want to get out of town. Our room was very pleasant and comfortable, and breakfast was very good, and Bruce had good suggestions to make about where to have dinner, especially as we are vegetarians. If I were to stay in the centre of Cape Town again, this is where I would stay. We felt very safe and comfortable with our surroundings.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Printgirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

My son Harry and I really enjoyed our three nights at Rose Lodge in the interesting Bo-Kaap neighbourhood in Cape Town. The guest house is conveniently located and provides very comfortable modern rooms for a reasonable charge. The highlight however is Bruce's hospitality and his very personal and friendly approach to guests who are immediately made to feel 'at home'. He is also very well informed about the city and local facilities and is very happy to share this knowledge which speeds up the process of getting to know the area. Bruce's dogs 'Coco' and 'Teddy' are equally welcoming, even to a cat-lovers like us!!

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBBristolUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

This small B&B is settled in the heart of Cape Town! Bruce gives you a warm welcome and his doggies, Coco and Teddy, immediately found the way into our hearts.

We stayed in "The Suite" - large bed, floorheating (very usefull in winter!), big shower, big bathtub and the most important: very CLEAN!

W just loved waking up and when going down for breakfast being welcomed by the dogs and having a lovely chat with Bruce. He is very helpful and no effort is too much to assist in all the questions you might have :-)

Overall we can say: Staying at Rose Lodge is the best way to feel @ home in Cape Town!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lionheart1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Rose Lodge is perfectly situated for the centre of Cape Town and for exploring the fascinating Bo Kaap district. The facilties were great and Bruce was very helpful. Much better than stying in a large hotel. My only regret is that my stay was just for three nights!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 156 in Cape Town Central
468 reviews
22 On Rose
#123 of 156 in Cape Town Central
20 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#5 of 156 in Cape Town Central
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Villa Bianca
Villa Bianca
#44 of 156 in Cape Town Central
53 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#11 of 156 in Cape Town Central
182 reviews
District Six Guesthouse
#76 of 156 in Cape Town Central
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $77 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Lodge, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Muslim Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-conditioning, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old "Malay" houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, air-conditioning and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing