We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bruce, Teddy, Coco and Marco's African Place!”
Review of Rose Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Lodge
Ranked #24 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Bruce, Teddy, Coco and Marco's African Place!”
Reviewed November 8, 2008

I stayed with Bruce, Teddy and Coco (his two wonderful canine companions) in September. Bruce was quick to acknowledge my booking, sent me some useful info on Cape Town and arranged my pick-up from the airport, which was really helpful. I was a bit weary after a 12 hour flight but it was incredibly comforting to arrive at the Rose Lodge to a friendly smile, a large, embracing cafetiere of fresh coffee and some wonderful advice on how to get to Table Mountain on that first day. Bruce, the amazing host that he is, also gave me some menus to look at from nearby restaurants.

The area is a fantastic spot from which to explore Cape Town. Bo Kaap is rich in colour, Asian immigrant history, unique Cape Malay restaurants and a short walk to central Cape Town. The Waterfront is also nearby, as is the stop for the 'hop on, hop off tourist bus' (recommended by Bruce and a great way to get your bearings on a first day or two in the city). Some of Cape Town's most fashionable restaurants are nearby, though some may find the service pretentious. The food at Shoga, however, was fun and creative and served as a basis for a great night in the company of Bruce and another guest at the Lodge. Thank you so much Bruce for also recommending that Craig and I hit Marco's African Place. As a place, it was one of the highlights of the trip - great live music, very very friendly people and all within seconds of the Lodge (just don't book an early morning trip to the Cape of Good Hope after a night at Marco's that started with a lovely, early evening glass of sherry with Bruce!).

I cannot recommend the Lodge highly enough. Bruce, Teddy and Coco are wonderful, amazing hosts and you will get so much more staying with Bruce that say, by staying at a dull, generic, more expensive hotel. I also did that during my stay in South Africa and it was a real come down after the fun and warmth of the Lodge. There is Wi-fi, a great thoughtful, healthy breakfast and a real comfy bed, in a lovely room (I stayed in the Courtyard room. A liquor store is real close, and offers some excellent, inexpensive wine and other drinks.

All in all, a wonderful place to stay, in the company of a kind, thoughtful, professional and warm host!

  • Liked — Amazing host, location, room.
  • Disliked — Central Cape Town is not so close to its amazing beaches/coast line.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsets1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    134
    19
    7
    6
See reviews for
41
200
111
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2008

Superb guesthouse at a wonderful location. Made to feel very welcome by Bruce who runs guesthouse and of course his two dogs Teddy and Coco who are very much an added bonus to your stay. Bruce is so helpful with his knowledge of the local area and tourist attractions in and around Cape Town. It will always be my first stop when I visit Cape Town again. You could not find a better place to stay.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank Charlotteemily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

I've just come home from a fabulous holiday in South Africa and my stay at Rose Lodge was a huge part of that. The location of the Lodge is ideal, just a few minutes walk from the city centre, easy access to the Waterfront, and set in one of the prettiest areas of the city. The rooms are beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and would put a lot of so-called luxury hotels to shame. However, the best things about Rose Lodge are Bruce, toast-eating Teddy and the fabulous Miss Coco Chanel! Bruce is a fantastic host, unfailingly kind and courteous, and very knowledgable and helpful about where to go and what to do. There's a wonderful atmosphere at the Lodge, thanks to Bruce (and T & C of course!), and several very jolly evenings were spent on the stoep supporting the SA wine industry! I really can't recommend Rose Lodge highly enough - enjoy.

  • Liked — Hospitality, decor & layout, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank fayelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We stayed here in early September, and we could not have been made more welcome by Bruce, Cocco and Teddy (his two lovely dogs). The room was excellent, the hospitality superb, and the breakfast was great (and healthy). Let's not also forget this is in great location for exploring Cape Town, which I found to be a wonderfully vibrant city. Would not hesitate to recommend this place to anybody.

  • Liked — The Room
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank snell76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Rose Lodge has everything going for it. It's in a great location, with many wonderful restaurants practically on the doorstep. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the breakfast is great. But above all that it's homely. There are only 3 rooms and it's easy to meet and chat with other guests. Bruce really wants to make your stay special. He will go out of his way to give tips and help with booking buses, trips, taxis etc. Nothing is too much trouble. But the stars of Rose Lodge are definately Coco and Teddy, Bruce's two cute dogs - they are gorgeous!

  • Liked — Bruce's friendlieness
  • Disliked — There was nothing I did not like
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TishAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We recently stayed at a wonderful small ( 3 rooms) questhouse in the colorful, historical Bokaap area of Cape Town. Rose Lodge is in a very convenient location, it is within walking distance to the City centre, V & A Waterfront, shopping and a variety of restaurants. The rooms are attractive , clean and comfortable. Bruce , the owner, serves a healthy ,tasty breakfast. He also arranges airport transportation, tours, etc. and showed us around the area while taking his two cute and friendly dogs for a walk. For people who miss their own pets while away from home Rose Lodge is even more perfect. Teddy and Coco will gladly accept lots of attention . Rose Lodge really was the perfect choice for our stay in Cape Town.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no dislikes
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BCWetcoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2008

Rose Lodge was the perfect place to stay in Cape Town. Bruce our host, along with the adorable Teddy and Coco made us feel very welcome. Bruce fulfills many roles, tour guide, trip adviser and trouble shooter, just to name a few. The location of Rose Lodge, within the very charming Bo-Kaap area, is perfect for wandering by foot to many of the other attractions in Cape town. The room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were delicious and healthy. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Hospitality and location
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeymourCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#22 of 155 in Cape Town Central
459 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#15 of 155 in Cape Town Central
157 reviews
Rouge on Rose
#6 of 155 in Cape Town Central
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,019 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 155 in Cape Town Central
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Property: Rose Lodge
Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Lodge, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Muslim Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-conditioning, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old "Malay" houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, air-conditioning and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing