We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Rose Lodge experience”
Review of Rose Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rose Lodge
Ranked #28 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this lodge as the owner was very friendly even when there were some misunderstanding with my bookings.The rooms were very clean and I really felt at home.I would highly recommend it.


  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mamello M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2013

Thank you Mamello for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again for a longer stay !
Kind regards,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 469 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2013

This was our fourth stay at Rose Lodge and it was as great as ever. It's a small (only 2 rooms) comfortable guest house with a great, very central location - only 10 minutes walk to Greenmarket Square, and 20 minutes to the Waterfront. Bruce offers information about restaurants nearby (of which there are several) and general tourist information. He was always helpful.
We loved the Bo-Kaap area and at no time did we feel unsafe there. On the contrary because it's a Muslim area and very family orientated, there were often people on the streets, unlike the downtown area which can seem deserted after five in the evening. When we hired a car, although there was only on-street parking, there was a security guard who stayed in place all night. And all this for very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: The suite is a lovely room, light and spacious, with a great open plan style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saritrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are so happy when guests return to Rose Lodge ! It's the best reward we could have. Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to hosting you again !!

Warm regards,

Coco, Teddy, and Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Whenever we think of Cape Town, we think of Bruce, Coco and Teddy in the colourful neighbourhood of Bo Cap. We had a nice little room in this lovely guesthouse and really felt at home! Bruce, a Canadian who had lived many years in Germany, switched with us from English to German and from German to French without any problems.. He gave us tips for things to do and places to eat and even went for a walk with us to show us the surroundings.
What a nice souvenir! Go there!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotterLyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Coco, Teddy and I are always happy when we've left you with some happy memories of your stay with us in Cape Town !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We found Rose lodge to be good value for money ,clean and convenient , but most of all we enjoyed our interaction with Bruce , Teddy and Coco. Bruce is a discreet but helpful host and gave excellent information and options.

We will certainly return to Rose lodge

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jenniastephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I loved the room I had in the Rose Lodge. I saw the sun rise in the morning and when I came back from the exhausting touristic life events, it felt like coming home. Everything was clean and the arrangements we made were working out perfect. I would definitely recommand it to everyone.

Room Tip: Room Number three is on top and I think most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hausammeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Manager at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you ! We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us so much !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friend and I each had a room at 22 on Rose and we enjoyed our time there very much! Bruce, Tracey, Coco and Teddy were wonderful hosts and the accomodation felt like home away from home. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank WestKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Bo Kapp is a great area that was near pretty much everything we wanted to do in Cape Town. The staff was friendly enough, but didn't really go out of their way to do much, even though we were first time visitors, we had 3 rooms with our group, and I'm pretty sure they only had 4 rooms rented out total.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Savvy_wife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camillelachance, Owner at Rose Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

I'm sorry to hear you feel we didn't go out of our way to help you. We have 11 rooms and were fully booked when you stayed with us. Maybe that's why you didn't get the attention you deserved. My apologies!
Kind regards,
Bruce

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Nine Flowers Guest House
Nine Flowers Guest House
#2 of 156 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
City Bowl
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
173 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
La Rose Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 156 in Cape Town Central
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 On Rose
#122 of 156 in Cape Town Central
20 reviews
De Waterkant House
#98 of 156 in Cape Town Central
47 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Lodge

Address: 28 Rose Street | Bo-Kaap, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > Schotsche Kloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $67 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Lodge, 22 on Rose and Wale Lodge are located in Rose and Wale Street in the colorful historic Muslim Malay Quarter (Bo-Kaap) of Cape Town. It is only a 5 minute walk from downtown CT or the trendy De Waterkant Village (cafes, restaurants, bars & clubs), and within walking distance of Cape Town International Convention Centre, and the V&A Waterfront. All rooms are en-suite with shower (bath) & toilet, TV, safe, air-conditioning, heating, and coffee & tea facilities.The rooms in these old "Malay" houses are not big, but they are all en-suite, with TVs, safes, air-conditioning and heating. Coffee & tea facilities are available in the kitchens and free wifi in the communal areas. We provide a laundry service if required and can arrange your transfers or tours. We are a non-smoking guesthouse and are dog friendly. A substantial continental self-serve buffet breakfast is provided.English, German, and French are spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rose Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing