We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot for fun times”
Review of FlatRock Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
FlatRock Suites
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“great spot for fun times”
Reviewed October 6, 2010

we stayed at flatrock for a week and it was great. the apartment was nice and clean. the view was great. it was close to long street and so we had a great time going out. its in a busy area so if you want to be in bed by 9pm then its probably not for you. they helped us set up a shark cage dive and were helpful with whatever we needed. theres a great place called lolas on the corner that makes great breakfast and has the most amazing girl working there named kim who's smile and energy will put you in a good mood all day. and the pizzas across at long street cafe were really good. this is a great spot to stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vancouverluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    47
    20
    6
    1
See reviews for
38
36
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, the Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

We stayed here for three nights in September. Being in the direct vicinity of the busy Long Street can keep you up at night if you're a lights sleeper, but it didn't bother us. We even enjoyed watching the party-people pass by from our spacious balcony. If you like going out at night this is the place to be, with plenty of bars and clubs on crawling distance of the apartmentbuilding.
The apartments are very spacious, clean and well decorated. There are two bathrooms (one with a shower and one with a bath), a nice kitchen and two bedrooms (one twin & one double). The best feature of the apartment is the direct view on the Table Mountain. It was great waking up in the morning, sipping a cup of coffee on the balcony and viewing this beautiful mountain.

V&A Waterfront is about 10mins drive away (taxi +/- R60) and there's a nearby stop for the Hop on Hop off bus. Greenmarket Square and the Company Gardens are just a few minutes away.

We really enjoyed our stay here and will certainly return if we are visiting Capetown again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anouk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2010

The Flatrock Suites is located just off Long St which is the center of town. We had 2 bedrooms and 2 bathes and magnificent views of Table Mt. There was some noise from the bars but not enough to disturb our sleep. Great bargain with the off street parking.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank curiouscrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We booked our room through booking.com and paid R950 (approx AUD150) per night which was very reasonable for the fantastic rooms we got. We checked-in late at 11pm due to our flight and stayed for 3 nights. There were security guards (there are guards 24hrs) who were very helpful in trying to find the night reception staff. Eventually we realised reception was on level 5 and the reception at the Buiten Street entry is rarely manned.

The night reception staff was very friendly and we were shown our apartment on level 8 which was very spacious and had an awesome view of Table Mountain. The apartment was incredibly clean, with modern bathrooms, a flat screen tv, decent sized balcony and comfortable beds. It was a very impressive apartment and much too big for just two people!

There is free internet in reception however you cant access hotmail or facebook. The other reviews are correct in that there is a loud nightclub nearby and music is pumping until the early hours of dawn. The other downside of FlatRock Suites is its location as everytime we left our building, we had people asking us for money as soon as we started walking down Long Street. It's not that we weren't expecting this, however it was constant and frustrating. We would pay extra and recommend staying at V&A Waterfront or Camps Bay if we visit Cape Town again. Overall I would recommend FlatRock only if you want to be near Long Street.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_v_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2010

We had a two bedroomed apartment with kitchen/dining area/living room - and a balcony with a super view of Table Mountain. Very good value - even during the World Cup.

It was clean, secure and staff were all friendly and helpful.

If there was one small negative that would be a little noise from Long Street could be heard in one of the bedrooms. But then Long Street is just a few metres away and has plenty of bars, cafes and nightlife. So the convenience is worth it.

I would recommend FlatRock Suites wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2010

Staff here were immensely helpful. The one downside is Long Street, which is noisy, noisy, noisy. The apartment was perfect but would inquire if you could book one not overlooking Long Street. You'll miss the view but would probably get a better night's sleep.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amcglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We stayed for four nights at Flat Rock Suites and did not get a good nights sleep. These apartments are in the heart of backpacker land and the bars are open until the early hours. Noise carries on until around 3am and the bottle/garbage collectors are out in force at 5am. There is no air conditioning and sleeping with the windows open is not an option. They are very well equipped and secure. Staff very helpful and friendly. A taxi to take 6 people down to the waterfront cost around £4. The hop on/off bus is a good way to see around the area. Recomment Mama Africa restaurant on Long Street, food and entertainment is excellent, but this is a very popular place, so booking essential.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolategin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Street Boutique Hotel
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#38 of 109 in Cape Town Central
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape Town Hollow
Cape Town Hollow
#50 of 109 in Cape Town Central
229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
Urban Chic Boutique Hotel
#88 of 109 in Cape Town Central
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hippo Boutique Hotel
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#53 of 109 in Cape Town Central
359 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Apartments
Daddy Long Legs Self-Catering Ap...
#74 of 128 in Cape Town Central
64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
Forty8 Backpackers Hotel
#57 of 128 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to FlatRock Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FlatRock Suites

Property: FlatRock Suites
Address: Flatrock | 8 Buiten Street, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — FlatRock Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spectacularly beautiful city of Cape Town, in Southern Africa, is home to FlatRock Suites. Here, just off Long Street – the street that never sleeps – you’ll find this unique combination of luxury apartments… serviced in hotel style.FlatRock Suites provides you with the privacy and independence of apartmentliving combined with many of the services that you would expect from a top-class hotel… including changes of linen, daily service, concierge, reception and more.It’s known as an “Aparthotel” with each suite comfortably furnished, fully equipped but so much more spacious and comfortable than a hotel room would be. All of which combines to make excellent budgeting sense… for holidays or lifestyle living.The location, at the top end of the town, was chosen specifically because it has one of the most soughtafter views in the world… a close-up of the breathtaking Table Mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your FlatRock Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
FlatRock Suites Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing