We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Solution - Good Location!”
Review of Port View House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Port View House
Ranked #92 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Solution - Good Location!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Port View House was just what we needed - short walk to the V&A Waterfront, spacious room, free secure parking and Jason was the perfect host. The room was clean and there was plenty of hot water. Having visited in winter, Cape Town is cold, but our room was warm and if we had to complain about anything it would be that the lighting in the bathroom was not really adequate. Breakfast was good and we were well looked after - thank you

Room Tip: Upstairs front rooms have balcony and look out to the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2AnneG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    30
    28
    5
    1
See reviews for
9
42
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We needed a guest house close to the V&A Waterfront. The web site suggests that Port View is a "short walk" from the V&A - this is not entirely correct since it is at least 15-20 minutes away and not a walk that I would do at night. And that is exactly what we wanted - to be able to walk back to the guest house after dinner. The rooms are spacious but not very well equipped. TV did not have a remote and it took the owners over 2 hours to replace the remote - and then the TV did not work. Also difficult to reach the owners since no contact numbers are displayed. Although there is off street parking this is limited to 3 cars and we had to park in the street. Although not all bad it is the little things that do make a difference

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 537 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

PRO: the location, the structure is very pretty, the kindness of the owner, sufficiently spacious rooms, free parking, outdoor pool

CONS: wi-fi malfunctioning, bathroom and bedroom are pretty much a unique environment, the front door is malfunctioning and at times when the owners are not there you may be out

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superzeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Fantastic hotel which has views over the harbour and ocean. Easy to get to from the airport with the new MyCiti bus service. The rooms are large, clean with a huge bathroom. Most have a balcony as well. Breakfast is massive and excellent.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSWorldAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

First off have to say that Alek and Daniel, the two managers, were extremely friendly and helpful with any queries. Location brilliant and view from room amazing. Really comfy beds and pillows. Best sleep in ages. Towels and bedding clean but carpet in room disgustingly filthy. Never walked on it in bare feet. Absolutely revolting. Suspect room was neither vacuumed or dusted during stay. Phone didn't work. Eventually gave up asking when it would be fixed. Electrics suspect as plugs and appliances got very hot and fridge lived in cupboard which got even hotter. Ceiling fan useless in the heat. Air con would have made such a difference. Bathroom very shabby but cleaned every day. Shower attachment hanging on by a thread. Plenty of hot water day and night. Surprised that from early evening (sometimes late afternoon) no member of staff on site. Only person on hand from 7.30 p.m. until 7.30 a.m. is security guard shared with guest house next door who can only be summoned by going downstairs, unlocking outside gate and ringing night bell. Not the place to be in an emergency. Garden had some beautiful plants, but overall appearance of being unloved like the rest of Port View House. Small pool uninviting to say the least. Water looked murky and had a large plastic pipe floating in it. Breakfasts OK. So much wasted potential in this little guesthouse but no enthusiasm from owners as it has apparently been up for sale for several years now and it really does show. Great shame. It could be so, so good if they'd spend money on refurbishing instead of cheapskating. Won't return.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms overlooking pool. Wonderful views and more secure than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreyWoodytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Outside area lovely with pool and decking area. Views of the port and sea are good from top two rooms.
Location really good 15 minute walk the V&A waterfront and good distance to city centre.
Double room was two single beds pushed together , bedding was clean and modern.
Bathroom was clean but very dated and run down , shower is not good at all.
Balcony is run down too with plastic chairs but has a very nice view.
Overall room is ok it's clean but has lots of things that could be improved.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aded1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Yes, I would definitely reccommend Port View House to my family, friends, colleagues and strangers and, even better - I would go back again!
The guys and staff at Port View were incredibly helpful and friendly and made us feel right at home.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfasts are beat only by the ones I make for myself.
All in all a very comfortable, easy, hassle-free stay which I would gladly repeat when travelling to Cape Town again.

Room Tip: Spend the extra cash and get a room upstairs - private balconies with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacques M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.0 mi away
Brenwin Guest House
Brenwin Guest House
#76 of 156 in Cape Town Central
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cascades Holiday Apartments
Cascades Holiday Apartments
#96 of 128 in Cape Town Central
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Anchor Bay Guest House
Anchor Bay Guest House
#42 of 156 in Cape Town Central
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avatara Guest House
Avatara Guest House
#77 of 156 in Cape Town Central
63 reviews
0.4 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#44 of 128 in Cape Town Central
22 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stadium Guest House
Stadium Guest House
#43 of 128 in Cape Town Central
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port View House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port View House

Property: Port View House
Address: 13 Upper Portswood Road | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Port View House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Port View House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Port View House Hotel Cape Town Central
Port View House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing