We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my absolute favourites!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tintagel Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 156 Cape Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The atmosphere of this guesthouse is most welcoming and friendly. The wonderfully renovated building has lovely rooms, elegant interiors combined with lovely spaces outside under the shadow of wineleaves. The breakfast is served in the combined dining/living room, but you can sit outside at the small tables and be taken care of the friendly staff. I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone looking for a comfortable and quiet stay in a place near many nice restaurants and at a walking distance to the city. Looking forward to coming back some day!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but you might want to avoid the two rooms facing the street, if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TintagelManagement, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2014

Thank you for your enthusiastic review!
Since your stay, the two "noisy" rooms have been renovated.
The window in room two (facing the parking forecourt) has been soundproofed, which is a huge improvement.
Room one has undergone a complete upgrade - the windows were fitted with custom built German soundproof windows. An en-suite bathroom was also built into room one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 254 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I and our two adult children spent three days at Tintagel at the end of December. It was a great choice. Utah, Adri and Ivan went out of their way to make sure we had a wonderful experience. They even had an American flag hanging in the entry to welcome us upon our arrival. We loved the location of the guesthouse and particularly enjoyed starting our day with the delicious breakfast they served.This was one of the most pleasant places we stayed at during our two week visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaysonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My friend and I spent 5 days with the good people at Tintagel and we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially as we needed medical help. The room was lovely - excellent beds and luxury bed linen! The guesthouse was very central and we enjoyed being able to walk across the road for a selection of great restaurants. Will certainly recommend to other people from Europe who plan to visit Cape Town. Thanks Utah, Adri and Ivan for our wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Room number 6 is far from the madding crowd!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TintagelManagement, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

Rene, thank you for such an enthusiastic review!
Room 6 overlooks room 5 and single room 7 which is situated below in the courtyard.
The rooms closer to the front of the house (rooms 1 and 2) have recently been fitted with soundproof windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I went to Cape Town to attend an international meeting. Tintagel was an excellent choice. Well located and calm. I have had a warm reception and the days there were really enjoyable. If I visit Cape Town again in the future probably I will stay in Tintagel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanflint, Owner at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for posting a short comment.We highly value our guest reviews.
Do bring the family on your next visit,hopefully it will then be for a well deserved vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I spent almost a week here with our daughter and her partner. What a delight! Tintagel was recommended to us by our son and daughter-in-law who visited a year ago. The property is beautifully situated in Cape Town -- walkable to Company's Gardens and to several good restaurants as well as close to city and touring bus lines and with easy access to the major highways. The rooms are impeccably clean and well serviced, and the beds are very comfortable. The staff, particularly Utah and Adri, are warm, available, and eager to help in any way they can. Utah was especially helpful as we navigated the city and surrounding areas by car. The breakfasts are tasty and relaxed -- continental or full breakfast available each day. We recommend Tintagel highly and with much enthusiasm. We only wish we lived closer so we might visit again in the near term.

Room Tip: We loved our room #4, and our son enjoyed #6 when he visited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LudwellMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanflint, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful review and recommendations we highly appreciate the kind words.
We could unfortunately not do anything about the treacherous weather you experienced during your stay with us, we can only hope that you visit us soon in warmer weather. Please send our regards to the rest of the family.

All the best and until we meet again,
Warmest Regards,

Utah & Adri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My mum and I stayed at Tintagel for 5 nights and I can't recommend it more highly. The two managers - Utah and Adry - made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. They were on hand to answer all of our questions and helped us to arrange things like car hire. There are lots of nice restaurants within easy walking distance and the area seemed very safe - we even went out jogging a couple of mornings. The room we stayed in was great - spacious, clean, good wifi connection. The breakfast is also exceptional - lots of fresh fruit, musli, cereal, nice fruit juice, very nice bread and the option of a cooked breakfast if you want it. We enjoyed our stay in Cape Town immensely and I will be recommending Tintagel to all of my friends!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJHRDKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanflint, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you for the complimentary review.

You put us to shame with your early morning run in cold,wet Cape Town weather. Bravo!
Glad to hear that the rest of your trip was so much fun.
All the best with your B&B during the Edingburgh festival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

just spent two wonderful nights at Tingtagel - despite wintertime (and indeed it was cold) it was a memorable experience - lovely renovated Victorian house, decorated with attention to details, nice breakfast; altogether the feel of a BBC production;
located in a nice neighborhood with cafes and in walking distance to citycenter;
most important: attentive service, which more felt like being at a friend's home - full of tips, knowledgeable, and always having the extra time for an extensive chat.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 294noah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanflint, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

A lovely warm review! Thank you!
It is still very cold in Cape Town, this June. Only 14 degrees
Most of our reviews are from foreigners,so to have a South African comment, is a bonus.

Kind regards,
Adri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town hotels
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#54 of 110 in Cape Town
377 reviews
Parker Cottage
#1 of 156 in Cape Town
1,038 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 156 in Cape Town
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Costa Rose
#12 of 156 in Cape Town
524 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town
297 reviews
La Grenadine
#6 of 156 in Cape Town
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintagel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintagel Guesthouse

Address: 90 New Church Street | Gardens/ Tamboerskloof, Cape Town 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town
Price Range: $73 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel guesthouse is a 1881 elegant,restored Victorian townhouse which has been trading since 2005. Tintagel is situated in New Church Street,just off Kloof Street in Gardens,central Cape Town. The guesthouse has central city location.Close to restaurants,cafes and pubs in Kloof Street.Long Street is a 10 minute walk from Tintagel.Rates include full breakfast and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Tintagel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintagel Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing