We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tintagel Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal location”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and were made extremely welcome by Utah, Adri and Ivan. We felt like guests in their home and could not have been more helpful and welcoming. The location is perfect with an excellent selection of restaurants used by Capetonians on the doorstep. Thoroughly recommend.
Mike T

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank michael t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanflint, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
The review is most welcome!

Your feedback give us a good indication of guest satisfaction.
Authentic guest comments are also one of our strongest marketing tools.

Warmest regards,
Adri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    24
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
126
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frösön, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed for eight nights and we loved our stay at Tintagel. Utah and Adri were fantastic in their service. Fixing and attending around breakfast. Giving us good tips on nice restaurants, I can strongly recommend "The Five Flies" and "Bardellis" around Long Street. Utah helped us arrange our fantastic trips through the Vineyards in Stellenbosch and Franschhoek, and a full day down to Cape Point. Their partner Grant, drove us. Also he was very friendly and an excellent guide. The owner, Ivan, also contributed to the good atmosphere during our stay with interesting discussions, and the low volume calm classical music played in the background at breakfast. We stayed in room 6 at the back of this old charming guest house in a nicely decorated room, with a very comfortable bed. To be met when you arrive in the evening and greated with the Swedish flag outside, and called by your first name is all very professional and incredibly welcoming!

Room Tip: Ours, # 6, where at the back, which I think was perfect. No noice from the street, and not disturbed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you! Your review is highly appreciated.
Thanks to a young Swedish couple who operate a small guesthouse across the street from us,we have had the pleasure of interacting with an increasing number of Swedish guests.
The Swedish ambassador has recently stayed at with us,having spotted the yellow and blue flag outside!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Gracious hosts, fantastic breakfasts. Fabulous bed & linens. Beautiful older home All the good restaurants, attractions and bus stop for the "Red & Blue" city tour are very close.
Would probably not recommend for children. It is a "grown-up kind of place. Beautiful antiques and furnishings. Regal and sophisticated atmosphere.

They set us up with an excellent tour guide that was professional, but not overpriced. He also picked us up at the airport and was very reasonably priced.

If you get to visit with "Ivan" the owner, you are in for a great treat! He was incredibly interesting knowledgable, informative and fun! He graciously took us in his own car to locations that were close- by instead of us hiring a cab. What a wonderful experience! I am from the Southern U.S. where hospitality is an art. Ivan has this art down to a science!!

Loved sitting in the courtyard with my laptop (free Wifi) and a cup of freshly made coffee or wine. Such a memorable, restful, wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanflint, Owner at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Kimberley and Marybeth,

I must say that it is never difficult to be hospitable when one is blessed with wonderful guests such as the two of you! In fact for me our lovely guests are the chief pleasure of having a relatively intimate guesthouse like Tintagel.

Regarding your famous Southern States Hospitality, maybe the fact that our Cape and your world share so similar an elegant, and nowadays romantic, slave-based history would result in a natural identification and synergy between us!

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We were certainly pleased that one of our Cape Town friends recommended the Tintagel, as we stayed there several nights and had a fantastic time.

The location in the Gardens area could not be better within walking distance to the CBD and with 20 - 30 great restaurants and cafes "around the corner". A must - go to Ricks Cafe Americain (based on Casablanca movie), which is 20 meters away.

The B&B itself is a classic building with an interesting history, all of which is available to you on request. The owner, Ivan is a character, with a knowledge of all things Capetonian and his managers, Adri and "Ute" are delightful people. All were very helpful with suggestions of what, when and where to go and see.

I would like to stay out of the "argument" as to whether Adri or Ute was the better breakfast cook, need less to say that every morning was a delight, both with great food and cheerful banter.

The rooms are very comfortable, meticulously clean and the building well maintained, for it's age. Old style electric points, currently being updated were not a problem as adaptors are available on request.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would whole heartely recommend the Tintagel for all types of travellers.

Room Tip: All rooms facing the courtyard are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivanflint, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your review!
It is a huge compliment to us when guests confirm their stay based on personal referrals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and found this to be a really great place to stay- we arrived really early after an overnight flight and we were allowed to get into our room well before our 'official' check in time - obviously we were lucky that the room wasn't occupied the night before as well:) Both Adri and Utah were hugely helpful in pointing us in the right direction for things we wanted to see and even helped arrange a drive for the day so we could go and tour the Cape Point.

Restaurant recommendations were also spot on - recommend Arnolds! - We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room that isn't next to the road - if you are not used to city noise, it ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janerolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We do try to accommodate early arrivals before 11h00 as best possible.
Rooms 4,5,6 and the small single room 7 are all situated in the courtyard and pick up the least traffic noise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergschenhoek
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The staff was helpfull and fun to talk with. Our room was clean and with a good bed. The breakfast we enjoyed on the terrace was delicious. Location in Cape Town is very central, most things can be visited on foot. We had dinner in Ricks Place, we can recommend that too.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kjell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Arrived here after two very long flights to a very warm welcome. Hosts were very helpful with maps, guides and recommendations for exploring Cape Town. They hoisted our national flag (Wales) as they do with all their international guests. Room was large and had a good sized bathroom and good facilities in the room. Excellent breakfasts and use of the free internet was very helpful. Space for parking and as we were tired we dident stumble more than 50 metres from the door to a cafe/bar restaurant called Ricki's and it was so nice we went back there the next day (will write a review on this too). . Not too far to walk into Cape Town yet so quiet at night you wouldent think you were in the city.All in all a good spot to stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brecon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TintagelManagement, Manager at Tintagel Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 9, 2015
Although this review was written in 2012 - I still remember your arrival.
Since your visit, we have installed a remote controlled gate at the entrance to the parking area.
Rick's Cafe Americain - themed after the classic movie, Casa Blanca - is a default recommendation to our guests. Especially after a long trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,390 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parker Cottage
#1 of 155 in Cape Town Central
1,016 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#3 of 155 in Cape Town Central
623 reviews
La Grenadine
#4 of 155 in Cape Town Central
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tintagel Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tintagel Guesthouse

Property: Tintagel Guesthouse
Address: 90 New Church Street | Gardens/ Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tintagel guesthouse is a 1881 elegant,restored Victorian townhouse which has been trading since 2005. Tintagel is situated in New Church Street,just off Kloof Street in Gardens,central Cape Town. The guesthouse has central city location.Close to restaurants,cafes and pubs in Kloof Street.Long Street is a 10 minute walk from Tintagel.Rates include full breakfast and wifi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tintagel Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tintagel Guesthouse Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing