We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended!”
Review of Olaf's Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olaf's Guest House
Ranked #31 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Everything was great - the place, locations, breakfast, etc. The staff were especially great. I would only point out (for those that may not know) that there is no one from staff at the guesthouse from 8pm to 8am.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Leana,
Thank you for your very positive review, the working hours at Olaf's are for 6.46 to 20.00 where after you can give us a call if you should need urgent assistance.

We as guesthouse owners also need some time off.

Best regards

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 264 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2013

A friendly, small hotel, close to Main Street and the Beach Road. Still very quiet. Excellent breakfast. Friendly owner who will guide you on what to do. Nice restaurants in the neighbourhood. In all: Excellent.



  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sven N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hello Sven,

Thank you for your kind review, hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I picked this based on other TripAdvisor reviews. This guest house is a great choice for any traveler and won't disappoint. It is quiet, close to the shops at Seapoint and gives you the feeling a close relative is putting you up for a couple of nights.

I would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazulite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Hello Lazulite,


Than you so staying at Olaf's Guest House and that you enjoyed you stay. Once again Thank You

Very glad to see that guest that travel a lot know how to give the places they have stayed at a civil review.

Best regards

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The stay at the guesthouse was very nice. It is located near the sea a8no beach).
Unfortunately the invoice was not correct and it was not possible to get the overpay back. Therefore I would not go there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Janina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Janina,

I find your review very unfair, after all that my staff helped you with buying food for you to have a braai and then still making the food and doing the braai for you.

The second misunderstanding that was no misunderstanding at all, was with your invoice Number 2112. You booked for two nights at a rate of R1320 per night plus your shuttle from the airport R330. This amounts to R2970 which you paid via Bank Transfer.

The second payment invoice number 2113 was for the Braai for two R120 which was more a favour, the extras R124 Chips x1 R5.00, Mineral Water x2 x R12, Red Wine 750ml R95.00 and then again a second shuttle back to the airport R330 this amounts to the sum of R574.00.

So I don't know where the poor issue handling was at all, I can't for the love of me understand
why this negative rating has come about, but will have to live with it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Great location and surrondings, great value for money. Friendly, kind and always smiling staff especially Rachel. Great breakfast. It's a pity we had only 2 nights to stay in Olaf's. Sea Point is a very good location to stay, very close to the ocean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank absucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Hello absucan,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your short stay at Olaf's Guesthouse and that you the staff where always smiling, glad you liked our Breakfast.

Best regards

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Olaf's Guest House was a wonderful place to stay! Great staff that were always ready to assist with any of our needs. Amazing breakfast every morning to get our day started. Honor bar with beverages and snacks available around the clock along with a bottomless bowl of fresh fruit! What more could one ask for? Some noise from the common space was noticed in our first floor room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VanLoveran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olafs2009, Front Office Manager at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Dear VanLoveran

Thank you for the lovely rating.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed their stay with us and were Happy.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Dominic Braun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was a one night stopover travelling through Cape Town towards the Garden Route. We were welcomed at the door by Raymond and shown directly to our room "Sea Point". The room is small but comfortable with a door leading onto a patio. We were pleased that the patio door was protected with a security gate. Free WiFi is available.
Breakfast was great and would have been served on the patio if the weather was a little better.
Only downside is that there is no secure parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olafs2009, Owner at Olaf's Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Hello Peter,

Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, yes parking is always a problem in Sea Point as this is the old part of town , but as long as nothing is left in sight in the car nothing happens.

Best regards

Raymond

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Villa Costa Rose
#13 of 156 in Cape Town Central
525 reviews
Cape Standard
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
601 reviews
Wilton Manor Guest House
#39 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#4 of 156 in Cape Town Central
278 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#51 of 156 in Cape Town Central
97 reviews
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#62 of 156 in Cape Town Central
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olaf's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olaf's Guest House

Address: 24 Wisbeach Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $117 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olaf's Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olaf’s Guest House is easy to find. Our guest house is conveniently situated on Cape Town's Atlantic Seaboard, right below Signal Hill, between Beach Rd. and Main Rd. in Sea Point. Olaf’s was built back in 1937, which helps to explain our design, spacious interiors, high ceilings and wooden/tiled floors. And has more recently been renovated and enhanced with touches of up-market African style and charm. We’re just a stone’s throw away from the city center of Cape Town. As well as the V&A Waterfront, Cape Town’s shopping Mecca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Olaf's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olaf's Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing