We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place in Seapoint”
Review of Loloho Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Loloho Lodge
Ranked #77 of 155 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Pennington, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“lovely place in Seapoint”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Spent 3 nights at Loloho Lodge, even though lodge is a misnomer, it is a spacious and very clean B&B. As it was February and we had stunning hot weather we really appreciated the pool and outdoor recliners as there is nowhere to sit in your room and no outlook. Didn't like the TV situated high on the wall on the side of the bed as it was impossible to view at that angle and missed body lotion in the bathroom. But the quality of linen and sleep comfort was five star!
The location is fine, a stroll to the promenade and convenient for the waterfront. There is no sea view but Frank, the host, has created a potted hibiscus garden all around the paving and this adds colour and lushness to the guest area.
The breakfast was varied with numerous choices and the cooked options beautifully prepared. I love a cappuccino and today with the ease of Nespresso Machines wonder why everyone doesn't have this as an option.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property, the host is charming and gracious, everything was spotless, it was relaxed and friendly and super convenient and we would return.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    8
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
35
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Loloho Lodge is extremely clean , quiet and comfortable, with pretty flowers surrounding the pool and terrace area, where the lovelly breakfast is served. The personal attention from Frank,ranging from the loan of adaptors and leads to weather conditions on Table Top Mountain was invaluable. Frank also gave us excellent tips on local restaurants while Simon works tirelessly in background .
GR8 GR8 GR8 Thank you for a wonderful stay Frank and Simon.
Martin and Julie Hurlow.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank julie21256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Frank is an excellent host and will really look after you, lots of information and always a smile, Simon his 'oppo' working in the background ensures spotless rooms cleaned on a daily basis. The breakfast taken on the terrace was a pleasure, the pool a welcome relief at the end of a very hot day. We can't fault the place and would recommend to anyone.
This B&B is 150m from the main road in Seapoint yet very quiet with lots of parking (although there is onsite parking we did not use it). Seapoint is a residential suburb of Cape Town and has a large selection of places to eat and drink. It does not feel overly touristy yet is only 30 minute's walk or a 5 minute taxi ride from the Waterside and Cape Town city centre itself, an ideal base fo visiting Cape Town.
John and Rowena, Jan 2012

Room Tip: Go for the small room, its got the best outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank erdles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montpelllier
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Loloho lodge

Loloho lodge is a guest house of, high standard,
A very nice play to stay at a walking distance of the sea front (Sea Point area).
If you get the chance to come and visit Cape Town, loloho lodge should be the ideal place to start... great people will welcome you there and Frank will always have the great advices about what to see, what to do, what to care about, which taxi to take in Cape Town, and can arrange for you the transfer from the aiport. (so no worry when you arrive and you don't know the city.)... ..
The room are really clean, new style, spacious and nicely decorated and nicely designed... looks like a magazine.. a very refined style even if you feel quickly at home.
The place is really nice,and must be even more very enjoyable in summer time, the breakfast are gorgious.. (be carefull, it's difficult to come back home and just have a cup of coffee and some french toasts...)
and you will have the chance to already to meet one of the big five..Puma..... their adorable cat...who can sometime knock at your door to say in her way "hello" ...
Again Dunki Frank

We had a great time
Benedicte and Fabien from Montpellier, France

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank benedicte g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Great place to stay! Comfortable and loved the breakfast in the morning. Frank was very helpful having suggestions and information of the area. The lodge was a wonderful place to stay nearby restaurants and comfortable beds!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SMWjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2011

It wasn't our first time at Loloho and it won't be our last time. The owners gave us a very warm welcome back. Rooms are not really supersized but big enough for travellers' needs, absolutely neat and cleand and worth the price. Each one has a fridge, a flat TV and DVD. Loloho is situated in Sea Point, right between Main Road and High Level Rd. 5 mins to Waterfront, 10 mins to city centre by car. Taxi to Cape Town centre didn't cost much more than 50-60 ZAR.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jscjsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Stayed here in March, my first time at Loloho but a return visit for my boyfriend. We spent 4 nights and were more than happy. Location is good, out of the main hustle and bustle (and costliness) of V&A but easy to get to. We were very lucky in that the other guests staying did not use the pool while we were there so we got this to ourselves which meant we could sunbathe in peace - another reason why we chose not to stay in hotels. Breakfast is fine. Only slight niggle is that the overhead fan is a bit noisy when trying to sleep in the heat - but I am a light sleeper. Would definately recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NikiF1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Rosedene Lodge
#84 of 155 in Cape Town Central
40 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 155 in Cape Town Central
259 reviews
Leeuwenzee Guest House
#41 of 155 in Cape Town Central
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#14 of 155 in Cape Town Central
308 reviews
Mountview Spa and Guest House
#53 of 155 in Cape Town Central
211 reviews
City Bowl
Underberg House
Underberg House
#2 of 155 in Cape Town Central
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loloho Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loloho Lodge

Property: Loloho Lodge
Address: 13 Bickley Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Loloho Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Loloho Lodge is managed and run by the owners, conveniently situated in the Sea Point area on Cape Town’s Atlantic Seaboard close to the beachfront with good shopping and excellent restaurants within walking distance.For relaxation, guests may swim in our large saltwater pool, recline on the patios or sit in the cool of the garden.Whether visiting for business or pleasure, Loloho Lodge is the ideal place as a base for your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Loloho Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Loloho Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing