We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice place”
Review of Huijs Haerlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huijs Haerlem
Ranked #26 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2013

sorry for my english
I must say that we pass 2 nigths in hotel blue lagon (4 stars) where we had been very desapointed and we were very happy to pass our last nigth in cap town in this guest house very wonderfull with people very kind .On the fligth back to france I give yet this adress to the crew!
M POINSE

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 263 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed two nights at this guest house. Having stayed in other guest houses in Cape Town in the past with mixed experiences, we decided this one definitely beat the competition and we would have no hesitation in staying at HH again.

The location is great, yes slightly away from the main action, but only five mins or so walking distance to the lovely seafront and a very good area for restaurants and shops. We actually walked to the Waterfront early one evening - it took 40 mins and was a great walk with lots to see along the way. By taxi it is about 5 mins and v cheap by UK standards.

The guest house itself is well established with very comfortable rooms decorated in rustic Cape Dutch style. Ours was in an annex to the main house with its own balcony and lovely sea views. The bathroom was modern and well equipped with walk in shower. Wifi is very good. There is an honesty bar which is well stocked. The garden is lovely and breakfast is served outside when the weather is good. The breakfasts are fabulous with loads to choose from, fresh fruit salads to die for, lots of cold cuts and excellent omelettes.

The hosts wre friendly and keen to ensure we got the most from our stay in Cape Town. Others have commented on the noise from the primary school over the road. Personally we liked the noise of the kids playing each morning - takes you back! And of course they go home mid afternoon so not an issue in the evening.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 which has its own balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basilcat14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

For us it is the place to be, when we are in Cape Town.
We were for the fourth time in SA .
When we come back in CT, sure, we stay at Haerlem Huijs
Mister Johannes and his crew were very friendly and helpful.
Thanks very much.
See you again!
Koos & Wil, The Netherlands

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Koos188633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

At the end of our fantastic holiday in South Africa we spent 5 days at the Hujis Haerlem Guest House. The guest house is ideally located for visiting Cape Town and the surroundings. Nice restaurants as well as a stop of the red double-decker sightseeing bus are in walking distance. The service is great, you get most valuable tips for everything you want to do. A very nice breakfast buffet as well as cooked-to-order warm breakfast give you a perfect start in the day!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have visited H.H. several times during the year. Each time we have been welcomed back by the staff like old friends. The service is attentive, helpful and obliging but never invasive. The breakfasts cater for all tastes. The buffet has firm favourites as well as some variety each day. The cooked breakfast is made to order and presented well. I particularly enjoy large book collection and antique filled rooms which creates a lovely ambiance. The pool and garden are inviting and the sea view is a bonus. We have stayed in both the main house in rooms with a sea view as well as the adjacent single storey which opens onto a patio also with a sea view. We highly recommend H.H and look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from a lovely stay at this wonderful guest house, located in Seapoint, Capetown, great welcome from Stefan on arrival @ 9am after overnight flight fm Heathrow, had pre-booked transfer directly with them which was wonderful. No hassle in getting taxi! my room was ready on arrival which was an added bonus! Room was very comfortable, located on annex with lovely terrace! enjoyed breakfasts on terrace each day except for first few days with Atlantic gale force 10 winds, when we enjoyed breakfast indoors, scrambled eggs bacon & healthy options! Johann & Stefan & staff were wonderful! Hopefully will be returning again in2013

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

the guest house is very well situated near seapoint/greenpoint and V&A., and in a safe area where you can park your car in the street. Despite arriving late I was properly welcomed. The room despite being old fashioned decorated are clean and spacious. The view from the balcony was amazing and the garden beautifully flowered.
Worht noticing that the guesthouse is in front of primary school, so morning is busy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hugues W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#7 of 156 in Cape Town Central
282 reviews
Bayflowers Guest House
#9 of 156 in Cape Town Central
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
324 reviews
City Bowl
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthouse
Jardin d'Ebene Boutique Guesthou...
#3 of 156 in Cape Town Central
287 reviews
Villa Costa Rose
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huijs Haerlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huijs Haerlem

Address: 25 Main Drive, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $59 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huijs Haerlem 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above Sea Point and the Atlantic Ocean, minutes from all the sights and beaches that Cape Town has to offer, Huijs Haerlem offers peace and tranquility. Breakfast will set you up for the day! Glorious gardens, solar-heated salt water pool, with wonderful views over the Atlantic, Robben Island and Bloubergstrand. Dutch and German spoken. Arrive as guests, leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Huijs Haerlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huijs Haerlem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing