We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to unwind! A little gem!”
Review of Huijs Haerlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huijs Haerlem
Ranked #26 of 156 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Have just returned from a lovely stay at this wonderful guest house, located in Seapoint, Capetown, great welcome from Stefan on arrival @ 9am after overnight flight fm Heathrow, had pre-booked transfer directly with them which was wonderful. No hassle in getting taxi! my room was ready on arrival which was an added bonus! Room was very comfortable, located on annex with lovely terrace! enjoyed breakfasts on terrace each day except for first few days with Atlantic gale force 10 winds, when we enjoyed breakfast indoors, scrambled eggs bacon & healthy options! Johann & Stefan & staff were wonderful! Hopefully will be returning again in2013

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (263)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 263 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

the guest house is very well situated near seapoint/greenpoint and V&A., and in a safe area where you can park your car in the street. Despite arriving late I was properly welcomed. The room despite being old fashioned decorated are clean and spacious. The view from the balcony was amazing and the garden beautifully flowered.
Worht noticing that the guesthouse is in front of primary school, so morning is busy.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hugues W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at this little guest house for three nights, in two different rooms. As some other guests have noticed, it is not in central Cape Town, but all the better. Everything one wants to see is a short taxiride away (taxis are VERY inexpensive), and the location is quiet, safe and peaceful with a fantastic view of the ocean. The guesthouse has a fully equipped kitchen and a wonderful garden to eat in, if you want to fix a simple dinner/lunch on your own. I recommend the rooms with private verandas. The hosts are the most friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Choose one with a private veranda.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SCO39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

we stayed for ten nights in October of this year.
The staff is wonderful, even moving our belongings for us when we had to change rooms. The breakfasts were wonderful and the views from our windows were amazing.
Johann and Stefan were so helpful in navigating the city and getting us cabs when needed.
I would most definitely stay here again and again.
The one down side, it is far from "the action" so a cab is necessary for most forays, however we did find some restaurants that were within walking distance, so don't let distance deter you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank praple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Huijs Haerlem (House of Haerlem) has old-world, old-fashioned charm with all of today’s needed amenities (including iPhone dock). The pool, garden, and sea view are lovely, and the location is in a nice, quiet neighborhood. Our room was very spacious and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean. Our room had in-floor heating, which worked brilliantly and was especially nice in the bathroom in the morning!
Johan is terrific… so attentive and enthusiastic about helping his guests maximize their Cape Town experience.
Breakfasts are scrumptious – his daughter’s scones were the tastiest I’ve had in a very long time!
Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-birdTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We spent two months at Huijs Harelem while on business in Cape Town and could not have asked for a better "second home". Stefan and Johann went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable and was always ready to assist with our numerous requests (doing much more than could be expected from them!). Huijs Haerlem's breakfast is unbeatable and the lovely rooms impeccable. Thank you for the team at Huijs Haerlem for making our two months away from home feel like a visit to friends, rather than just another stay at a guesthouse. On our next trip to Cape Town we will stay at no other place than Huis Haerlem. Thank you Johann and Stefan!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Pros:

* We had the luxury rooms and they were huge and comfortable. Rustic feeling. Very nice bath room. Cleaning impeccable.

* Nice sea views although if you get the mountain views, that is probably even nicer.

* Nice grounds. The garden is pleasant to spend some time in.

* Free Wi-Fi. It is not super fast but at least it works.

* Friendly and knowledgeable staff.

* Pool is actually large enough to swim in, which is rare for guest houses in the area.


Cons:

* This place is just next to a school for small kids. The sound from that school during weekdays is far from pleasant.

* The location is not ideal because you need a taxi to get anywhere. It looks close to the Waterfront, City center and even Camps Bay on the map, but trust me, it is not walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biff-Maja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.5 mi away
Cheviot Place Guest House
Cheviot Place Guest House
#24 of 156 in Cape Town Central
163 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apartments
Bluegum Hill Guest House and Apa...
#6 of 156 in Cape Town Central
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
AfricanHome Guesthouse
AfricanHome Guesthouse
#14 of 156 in Cape Town Central
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse
Abbey Manor Luxury Guesthouse
#20 of 156 in Cape Town Central
456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bayflowers Guest House
Bayflowers Guest House
#10 of 156 in Cape Town Central
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Costa Rose
Villa Costa Rose
#15 of 156 in Cape Town Central
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huijs Haerlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huijs Haerlem

Address: 25 Main Drive, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $60 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huijs Haerlem 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High above Sea Point and the Atlantic Ocean, minutes from all the sights and beaches that Cape Town has to offer, Huijs Haerlem offers peace and tranquility. Breakfast will set you up for the day! Glorious gardens, solar-heated salt water pool, with wonderful views over the Atlantic, Robben Island and Bloubergstrand. Dutch and German spoken. Arrive as guests, leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Huijs Haerlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huijs Haerlem Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing