We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cape Town we Love You”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa
Ranked #31 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2008

Great location, the staff were really friendly. Close proximity to cable car, waterfront, camps bay. We found a gem of a restaurant on the opposite corner called Beleza. The food was fantastic, best prawns and steak I have ever eaten. The staff were friendly and we ate there several times. We in fact found all the food to be exceptional. A true gem in the heart of the city and very well priced, what every tourist wants. Our stay in Cape Town was fantastic.

Stayed: February 2008
2  Thank mcleoduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 331 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2008

My husband and I stayed here with some friends for a few days in mid January, 2008.
Our rooms were clean and pleasant. They were not fancy, but they were functional.
There is a small pool on the premises which was pleasant for a quick dunk on the hot days. There was also a very nice reading/living room that could be used to relax or plan your day's activities. In the same place was an honour bar where you could purchase alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks and snacks.
A made to order breakfast was prepared every morning, along with a large buffet selection. The food was always fresh and excellently prepared. There were a few days where our tour was leaving before the designated breakfast hours and on those days the staff made sure that there would be something to eat available for us before we left.
We had several issues with the tour operator we were using and the staff at the Leeuwenvoet went out of their way to assist us in resolving these issues. Some of our day trips were scheduled incorrectly and the staff were very nice about letting us continue to use our rooms after check out, or let us re-check in early. A very nice bathroom facility (with a shower) is available for these circumstances as well. Staff also assisted us with the direct contact to our tour operator, making telephone calls on our behalf and taking messages for us when we were not there. I have never encountered staff in any resort or hotel that ever went so far out of their way to assist their guests.
I cannot rave enough about the staff members at the Leeuwenvoet. Everyone was always very polite and pleasant and so helpful in whatever manner they could be.
The guest house itself was located very conveniently to many delicious restaurants and several tourist spots.
The property is fenced and has a 24 hour security guard. We felt perfectly safe in and around the property-we encountered no difficulties in walking to the restaurants and gardens, etc.
We would definitely stay here again if we returned to Capetown.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank Xenawantsapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2007

Leeuvenvoet Guest House is located on a busy street (New Church Street), which is the continuation of Buitengracht street, which heads from the Waterfront straight up the slope of Table Mountain. The guest house is in a reasonable neighborhood, but the street itself is busy, and would not be our first choice again for that reason. The side street guest houses in Tamboerskloof (such as Table Mountain Lodge) provide better views and quieter settings. Rooms here were fine; not huge but clean and well decorated. Service a bit impersonal but nothing to complain of.

Restaurant around the corner, Miller's Thumb, was excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ItTakesTwoToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HelenaMacPhail, Owner at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2010

We are a city guest house, within walking distance of the city centre, with 33 restaurants in the vicinity. The rooms are all air-conditioned and have double glazing for sound insulation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2007

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very pleased with our stay. We had a large room with a nice clean bathroom, huge bed and Air con. The staff there were very friendly and were keen to ensure that you had a good time.

The breakfasts were excellent and lived up to their 'best in Cape Town' brag!

The location is great too (City Bowls). All the restuarants on Kloof street and Long Street are all within easy walking distance - and there are some great (and cheap!) places to eat - I would recommend Greens and Mojito's.

In my view, the City Bowls are a much better place to stay than down at the V & A waterfront - that's overly touristy for my tastes, more expensive and not as good quality food (in my opinion!).

This B&B was more expensive than all the places we stayed in (about £70 a night), but I guess there is a bit more of a premium in Cape Town and the breakfasts were worth a few more pounds!

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank whispering30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rmagri_998640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank matthiasv217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadre, General Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SSN74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shadre B, Manager at Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,441 reviews
Hippo Boutique Hotel
#56 of 110 in Cape Town Central
381 reviews
Cape Town Hollow
#53 of 110 in Cape Town Central
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,761 reviews
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#26 of 110 in Cape Town Central
561 reviews
Long Street Boutique Hotel
#34 of 110 in Cape Town Central
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa

Address: 12 Kloof Nek Road, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (Formerly Leeuwenvoet House)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $130 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of Table Mountain lies Cloud Nine Boutique Hotel perfectly placed in the trendy Tamboerskloof area of the Cape Town city bowl. The Hotel is within easy walking distance of the hip & vibrant Bree, Kloof and Long Streets with their many shops, restaurants, bars, clubs & cafes. The property comprises of 5 heritage Victorian buildings dating back to 1892. As part of our preservation original elements including marble fireplaces, pressed ceilings & wooden floors have been retained. Cloud Nine offers the guest original Victorian architecture combined with modern standards of services & accommodation, making this prestigious luxury boutique hotel the venue of choice for tourists, executives & other discerning travellers. All of this blends seamlessly together to provide the guest with a relaxed environment of contemporary elegance at the foot of the mountain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloud 9 Boutique Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing