We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of 2Inn1 Kensington

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
2Inn1 Kensington
Ranked #1 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2011

In a very short visit, we realized that Cape Town has quite different types of hotel venue: by the beach, in the expensive new waterfront area, in a township, or on the flanks of table mountain. 2inn1 is one of the latter: set among opulent, elegant houses in a largely residential street with a good view of Lion's Head. The flora, both in the surrounding gardens and on the street, are outstanding. The area feels secure, but secluded--perfect if you want a safe retreat. The owners, Klaus and Chris, anticipate any difficulties before they arise and their very helpful staff arrange taxis and tours, and provide transport information,to make getting around easy. Rooms, food, ambience are all excellent and the staff are kindness itself. Little touches of art and care make this guest house very special.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank digby_tantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 752 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2011

No need to repeat what has already been posted here - hundreds of times! The amazing thing is - it's all true!
In all our travels we have befriended many members of staff of both hotels and restaurants but this time it was different. By the time we left after nine nights we felt like honorary members of the 2inn1 "family"! There were hugs all round and more than a few moist eyes. Impressively, we have always managed to land on our feet when selecting a hotel from the Internet, coupled with Tripadvisor reviews, but never to the extent as on this occasion. Those reviews convinced us that there really was no alternative to 2inn1 and now, after the event, we can confirm the wisdom of our choice.
Read just a handful of the reviews here and you'll be convinced too.
We really hope that we can make a return trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pauljay47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in the 2inn1 for 6 days and honestly , we've never been so well looked after anywhere! From the welcome fruit cocktail to the stunning rooms, this hotel has the location, the facilities and moreover the staff to make your holiday absolutely brilliant. What really struck us was the service.The staff knew us by name, were always so friendly and so helpful. Nothing was too much trouble from offering us drinks at sunset to booking our trips, our car and even dinner at some amazing restaurants. They even supply you with a south African mobile phone so you can call taxis etc. And we got home to a wonderfully personal email hoping we had a good flight back to Ireland! Definitely coming back!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aadityanarendra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I have been everywhere around the world, Los Angeles, Florida, London, Beijing, shanghai, Frankfurt, Munich, Hong Kong, Montreal, Lagos and the list goes on. I never knew there is a place on earth where you can get these type of attention to detail and most professional/friendly services. The staff are excellent, breakfast is to die for and one hotel that will not pack breakfast until all clients have eaten. Yes, my darling love to sleep in and they leave everything out until we eat. Evidently, we came back after a brief stay in Franchhoek. Yes, we will be back again. Kudos to all of you at 2inn1.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eudora2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

It is absolutely fantastic experience. We stayed there for our honeymoon for 3 days. This place is incredibly nice - newly renovated, very clean, great breakfast, more importantly the staff here are very helpful and kind plus a lot of services you wouldn't enjoy at larger international hotel brands. It just feels like home. We will come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CynthiaWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

2inn1 Kensington was perfect from beginning to end.

We booked via email a few months out. They responded promptly, answering all questions, and providing additional tips and advice.

We arrived early in the day, and they made us coffees and cooked us a lovely breakfast while they discussed with us what we planned to do over the coming days. It was as if we were their friends.

They were always forthcoming with advice and suggestions, but didn't push anything either. They would listen to what we were after, and provide the advice accordingly. Their dinner suggestions were all perfect, whether it was a quick/cheap bite to eat, or something more elaborate.

Room was large, bed very comfortable, lovely outlook, very clean. Breakfasts were delicious, the hot breakfast made to order. They go out of their way to please, and provide nice touches, like the "happy hour" complimentary drinks.

In summary, 2inn1 represents my ideal boutique hotel. If I could clone them and put them in every city on the planet, I would be a very very happy traveller. I cannot recommend them enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon0672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

A really lovely place to stay, all the staff were helpful, friendly and attentive, the breakfasts were excellent. The only drawback was finding it the first time as the directions and road signage were not clear. We hired a car from the airport for our 3 day stay; on reflection it would have been better to use taxis of an evening and the hop on off bus (as we did for both) while in Cape Town and only hired a car for trips further afield, for example, to see the penguins which are a must!! We fell in love with Cape Town and it surpassed our high expectations - plenty to do and visit.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#5 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,423 reviews
MannaBay
#2 of 110 in Cape Town Central
457 reviews
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,858 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#3 of 110 in Cape Town Central
543 reviews
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2Inn1 Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2Inn1 Kensington

Address: 21 Kensington Crescent | Oranjezicht / Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $165 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 2Inn1 Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2inn1 Kensington is flanked by the imposing slopes of Table Mountain and Lion's Head. It combines an authentically, stylishly remodeled Victorian house and a modern designed bungalow set in a beautiful tranquil garden. The pool area has sunbathed terraces offering magnificent views. The luxury rooms are equipped with every possible comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
2inn1 Kensington Hotel Cape Town Central
2Inn1 Kensington Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing