We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Skydive Cape Town

Skydive Cape Town
Ranked #66 of 325 Tours in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Skydiving, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tandem Skydiving is the bench mark for extreme activities and a must do for Cape Town visitors. Skydive Cape Town has been voted as one of the most scenic drop zones in the world with Table Mountain and Robben Island as back drops. 40 km from Cape Town 30 minute scenic flight over the Atlantic ocean to 9000 feet, 30 second free fall and a 5 minute parachute descent Experienced instructors Transport and camera options Booking essential
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Awesome experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I was surprised with a jump (my first) as a 50th birthday present and accompanied by a good friend, as well as my brother in law, who decided at the last moment to join us. What a great experience. I will never forget it. And the guys we jumped with were fantastic! Well done Skydive Cape Town!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Yellowblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    10
    0
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing group of people bring you back down to earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

You can skydive anywhere in the world.. This group of people made the experience safe, relaxed and enjoyable by being informative, organized, warm and friendly. The surrounds are simple and rustic .. A hanger full of guys with a passion for free falling and clippings on the wall of their history including pics of prince Harry taking the pluge with them. You are always aware of the process you will follow and what you need to do to enjoy the drop safely.
They called us 4x's during the day to keep us informed of the weather and progress. When we got there they were expecting us and kept us informed of what to expect in the process. I'll def go back .. Was a great experience with laughs the whole way through ..

Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spoke Films”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

One of the "activities" we send our clients to do, that ensures they go home with plenty to say about Cape Town.
These guys ensure my clients are safe and sound each and every time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BezzieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bad service, unfriendly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was really unhappy with the way i was treated by skydive cape town - after skydiving in plettenberg bay, i decided to do a second jump, and found the company very card to get hold of (you can never hear them on the phone) very far from Cape Town centre, and almost ungrateful that i was spending my money with them. I would much rather go back to Plettenberg and jump there.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank ShelbyBonita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“An exhilarating way to start the day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We travelled north from Cape Town early on a Saturday to do their first jump of the day.
When we arrived we weren't sure we were in the right place as we were expecting a more 'formal' looking hanger than what we were confronted with.
We entered and saw the planes and the guys getting ready for the jump.

We decided to have both video and photos taken of both mine and my husband's jumps. They don;t accept credit cards, and the price had gone up a little from what we saw on the website, but luckily we had just enough cash on us to have the package we wanted.

We were very 'cosy' in the plane, with 6 fully grown people crammed into the space of a downstairs toilet, but we had a wonderful view as we ascended to the jump height. We could see table mountain and right down to the Cape of Good Hope.

When we jumped it was amazing. We rolled out of the plane along with the videographer, flipped upside down to see the sky before free falling for about 20 secs. When the parachute opened there was a definate calm and quiet as we enjoyed the view and returned to the ground.

Ear popping was a slight problem, with mine not popping for several hours causing some discomfort, but oh so worth it.
It was so exhilarating and definately something everyone should try.

The team were all very friendly and looked after us extremely well.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank RhianyddS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skydive Cape Town also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Skydive Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing