We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You are in for a great surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thornton Whites

Thornton Whites
Ranked #442 of 1,135 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Cuisines: Contemporary, Wine Bar, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“You are in for a great surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

The place is trendy and set in the heart of the Cape Town financial district. It would easily hold it's own in San Francisco, New York or London. The bar selection is epic. (you will find a treasure of unusual and unique whiskeys & wines) The food is truly 'mindblowing'. We go out a lot to many of the best restaurants in Cape Town and this food ranks with the best. The menu is small (as they are in the best restaurants of the world), but there's enough of a selection to appeal to every taste. Thornton Whites have only just opened - the kitchen is impressive - we will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris4184113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“More than just a gastro-pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was a recommendation from a local friend (we're from Europe) and we weren't disappointed. To call it a gastro-pub is to do it a disservice when compared to UK efforts in that genre. The food is excellent, the staff are knowledgable and helpful and the choice of wines (which the staff will even accurately pick for you) is first class. There is parking right outside so be sure to locate the restaurant first then park there. We parked elsewhere and then had to walk - not ideal at night.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mothers' Day Meal at Thornton Whites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

My daughter found a special deal on the net, on Groupon, to have a dinner at Thornton Whites Restaurant for two, priced at R300 for a two course meal, including a bottle of wine. The restaurant is centrally situated in the city, near the CICC. The decor is stunning....large paintings in a large room, with a comfortable couch area, beautiful big bar area with two TV screens to watch the rugby etc, with calming charcoal walls. The restaurant is a non-smoking venue, but there is a table outside where those who need to have a puff may go! The starters were very artistically presented, and quite delicious. For mains,I had the Cape Yellowtail in a fennel sauce which was exceptional. My daughter had a beef dish which she thoroughly enjoyed. After sipping on a Crisp Sauvignon blanc to accompany our food, we decided the perfect finish to our meal would be a Malva Pudding, served with a delicious custard/cream sauce. I highly recommend Thorton Whites Restaurant, and seeing as it has only been there for three months, a lot more people are going to discover it and enjoy their gastronomic experiences as we did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LinMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent once you can find it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's not easy to find in the dark (make sure of the directions in advance) but once you are there it's a fantastic experience. Friendly and helpful staff. Interaction with the owners (?) and great food to top it all off. Good range of wines plus craft beers on tap.
Will definitely go again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thornton Whites”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Very pleasantly surprised by this new spot in Town. Nothing better than a server that actually understands wine. Also very helpful when making decisions when ordering. The food was fantastic and we will most definitely be back for more!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CobusStander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thornton Whites also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town, Western Cape
 
Cape Town, Western Cape
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Thornton Whites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing