We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food , down to earth people, relaxed atmosphere .” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Izakaya Matsuri

Izakaya Matsuri
Ranked #91 of 1,136 Restaurants in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food , down to earth people, relaxed atmosphere .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Love going there.
Very good food, well priced.
Very attentive service and a very dedicated passionate sushi master!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    25
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Authentic Sushi in Town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

I would highly recommend Matsuri!

It's unpretentious and offers excellent authentic sushi by Japanese Chef Arato!

Totally worth a visit! Amazing food and service at a reasonable price.

I just wish we lived a little closer - we would eat there on a weekly basis but ..... we will be back as often as we possibly can.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1977xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best all round authentic sushi in Cape Toen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

There are more expensive, and fancy, hip places. But if you want excellent authentic sushi by Japanese chef I recommend Izkaya Matsuri! The quality of the sushi is excellent with a unique variety. Definitely recommend all to try!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Evliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Genuine Japanese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

only open 3 months in courtyard of Rockwell hotel, sensational sushi, try Tigerseye sushi, stuffed calamari with smoked salmon amazing, not licensed for wine etc, wines from hotel next door. Really authentic Japanese food with a difference, Will be back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank goldy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izakaya_Matsuri, General Manager at Izakaya Matsuri, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hi there, thanks so much for the review! I would like to inform you that Izakaya Matsuri now has a fully functional bar. Try our selection of wines, beers (Japanese and local) and soon to come; our cocktails menu and shochu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izakaya Matsuri also viewed

Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Izakaya Matsuri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing