We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights at the Derwent. What stands out the most is the quality of the service provided by Jo, Carol and Chris. From Europe where such friendly accommodating and helpful service is not normal, it was actually quite startling - but in the best possible way. Every possible need was catered for. We stayed in room 6, which while being a bit small, was well designed with two sets of french doors that opened directly onto one semi-private deck and the main deck and the heated swimming pool which was just 3 steps from the door. We had breakfast each morning on the terrace which was fantastic. The area is very quiet, about 25 mins walk to the centre of the city (a welcomed stroll given the amount of great food available in the City). The Derwent's recommended taxi service was very trustworthy and reliable. The honesty bar was very useful and while we didnt avail of the complimentary afternoon cakes, it is another great service idea. One of the best hotel experiences I've ever had.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CjDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
183
905
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Carol of Derwent House helped me with packing advice, arranged airport transport for us, and helped orient us to the city. She and her staff helped us planning our activities and how to get around. Every day, they recommended and made reservations for us at nearby restaurants, which were excellent. We sometimes used cabs to get around the city, particularly at night, and the cab service Derwent House uses is honest and very reliable.

We liked the Derwent House so much that aside from our 2-night stay, we returned after a weekend in the winelands to stay 2 more nights. To make it even easier, they kept half our luggage for us. We felt very comfortable and safe with all the staff.

I wish it had been warm enough to get in the pool or lounge by it! It was beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 49463Joanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We spent 3 nights at Derwent House at the end of our holiday and have to say we loved the place and the people. The hotel was located at the top of the hill in the Gardens area which is quite quiet and feels very safe. There are a couple of nice resturants and bars nearby if needed. The hotel is very modern and clean throughout with a nice lounge to relax in and a lovely pool area as well. Our room was actually quite small (especially compared to others we had stayed in during the holiday) but it was again clean, modern and comfortable. Again what makes this place excel is the quality of the staff. Everyone we met was incredibly friendly and so willing to help. In particular Chris was superb, for example ringing up the cableway to find out if it was open and what the visibility was like on the mountain. With a nightime flight back to the UK we were offered the use of our room right up until we wanted to leave for the airport. This offer was made without us asking and was really appreciated. We hope to return to Cape Town soon and we will definitely return to Derwent House when we do.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igs1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We stayed 4 nights in the Derwent House Hotel and it is a real home from home. Good room, great breakfasts and the staff really looked after us. Nothing is too much trouble and they took a real interest in our trip with good suggestions for restaurants and things to do.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isobelb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Derwent House is a really classy, contemporary boutique hotel. In fact, the warm welcome and dedication to client service from booking to check-out makes sure that it feels more like a stayover with friends than another stay in a hotel. Don’t expect any often-encountered snooty “boutique” attitudes here.

The booking process was easy, and we were offered a choice of rooms and payment options. We requested Room 2, which we had on a recommendation, and were duly assigned it. We were also sent very clear directions from the Airport, as well as other useful information. Co-owner Carol was also pro-active in encouraging us to book ahead for key popular attractions like Robben Island, providing the appropriate web addresses etc.

The hotel is the very definition of style and sophistication, without falling into the “trying too hard to be cool” trap. There is a homely and relaxed vibe about the place, epitomised by the loan books and log-fire stove (which was thoughtfully alight on one chilly spring afternoon while we were there).

Jo, Carol and their staff are always on hand to help with recommendations and bookings for restaurants and attractions. There are plenty of restaurants and bars within safe walking distance, but if you don’t feel like it you can always stay in and help yourself to the very well stocked honesty bar and wine rack. We also loved the complimentary afternoon tea and cakes when we got back from a busy day out.

We loved the laundry service, which was R90 for the bag - the more you fit in, the more you get done! In a sense, that’s the mark of Derwent House – it’s an unstuffy, homely place where you really are a guest. A real home-from-home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Leadbeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed at Derwent House (DH) for three nights in early November. Our room had a nice view of the pool and Table Mountain. The room was bright and airy, with nice and practical furnishings and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was tasty, offering a wide selection; we especially liked the muesli red berry fruit compote. DH's owners and their small team provided excellent service to us, with good advice on restaurants and excursions, such as to the wine country around Stellenbosch and the Cape of Good Hope. The neighborhood around DH is upscale and very safe, even at night. We walked to almost everything, including also back to the hotel from Table Mountain. We also learnt from Chris at the recepion that we should not trust the weather reports for Cape Town; while on TV rain was predicted throughout our stay, we never actually needed an umbrella and had beautiful blue skies on two of the three days--even surpassing Chris' predictions. Overall, we would highly recommend DH, and we will be back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed at Derwent House for two stints during our honeymoon in October 2010. We had a wonderful time and will certainly go back.

Derwent House is located in a safe and friendly neighborhood, close to great restaurants and shops and a 20 minute walk from the city center. Breakfast was fantastic - always a wonderful start to the day. It wasn't warm enough to swim, but we enjoyed sitting by the pool. Our room was clean and modern.

The staff made excellent suggestions and took great care of us. In addition to restaurant recommendations, they helped us to organize a car rental and facilitated transfers to and from the airport.

In short, we loved our stay at Derwent House.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JW_3301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,996 reviews
2.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,489 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing