We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is one of the places on earth you have to visit - incomparable lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #4 of 112 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2007

The moment I stepped into this wonderful place, I felt that we would have a great time. The aura, the salutation, the smile on Jo's face, the colours, the smell, the affectionate arrangement of details, the flowers, the material, the light ......... everything. We stayed two weeks and I really never wanted to leave this place again. I am travelling around the world a lot, I can tell you, but the Derwent House is the nicest place I have ever slept and been. Every detail is arranged with love, the bed is so comfortable and has such incredible bed linen. If you open a drawer, you will be amazed to see how everything is arranged and what is inside. The owners have crept into the soul of people to realize their wishes. You will not find anything what is missing or what you don't like. The breakfast is very good, you get whatever you desire, the personal is warm and friendly, the kitchen is open 24 hours, which means, that you get tea and coffee with delicious cake from Melissa’s in the afternoon, or cold drinks out of the fridge. In the evening you have a list, where you make a line on the bottle you take - the wine is excellent. They do really care for you, the moment they see you. In the afternoon I was lying at the pool and I got a frozen little towel to cool my face, an ice and fresh orange juice. Please tell me, where you are treated so nice on this planet. Please come and visits the Derwent House if you have a chance, it is one of these places you have to feel and enjoy. Don't miss it !!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Brecherliesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,460)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,324 - 1,330 of 1,460 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2007

It makes such a difference to your experience if you're staying in a place that is a treat to be in rather than just a place to lay down your head.

Derwent House is a real treat - from the classy, uncluttered decor and new finish to the personal touches provided by the on-site owner/managers, courteous un-obtrusive service, breakfasts fit for a king, great location near restaurants and the cable car up Table Mountain - what a special place run by very special people!

Stayed: August 2007
Thank moniquethorrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2007

Myself and my husband spent the first 3 nights of our honeymoon at Derwent House. It was without doubt one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. From the moment we arrived until when we left, the hospitality and friendliness was amazing. Our room was so tidy and luxurious, complete with a bottle of bubbly waiting for us when we arrived. Our bedroom had a fabulous balcony outside and each morning our bed was furnished with a chocolate and weather report for the day.
The bathroom was immaculate, with a huge bath and shower.
The hotel also had an honesty bar and complememtary sherry, which was a nice touch.
Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, who helpfully drew us maps and booked taxis for us.
Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank teags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2007

Really helpful, friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. All the trips they organised for us and restaurants were excellent quality. Very relaxed and easy access to city facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank L1andS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LeedsDeansy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 30WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#6 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,900 reviews
1 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,841 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 112 in Cape Town Central
2,129 reviews
1 mi away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 112 in Cape Town Central
464 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#10 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $164 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing