We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,612)
Filter reviews
1,612 results
Traveler rating
1,503
93
11
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,503
93
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar kloof street table mountain afternoon cakes our honeymoon little touches honor bar mobile phone home away from home south africa camps bay communal areas tea coffee stay in cape town every evening car hire living room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
95 - 100 of 1,612 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2018

We spent one night here and enjoyed our stay. The staff was great and went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant experience. They arranged transportation from the airport and to have our laundry done. The room was furnished nicely and the breakfast was very good. They had complimentary snacks and drinks available.
We walked to the downtown area ( a long walk but easy) and to a restaurant for dinner.
The price was very reasonable.
I wish that we could have spent more time here.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TomFromBellaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2018

Dear TomFromBellaire,

Thanks so much for all your lovely compliments about your stay at Derwent House: indeed, what a shame that you were only with us for one night . . . There's still plenty more to see and do in Cape Town -- not to mention, still plenty to sample on Florence's afternoon tea cake and pastry repertoire (yes, we noticed you especially enjoyed these ). A special thanks for recognising our wonderful team -- we always appreciate guest feedback.

Please do come back for a longer visit -- we'll do our very best to earn top marks from you next time!

Warm regards from the entire team,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

This is an excellent VRBO. The apartment has everything you need. Generous breakfast foods. The apartment is spacious. The host and hostess are gracious. They booked local tours for us and transportation. Everything you need is in the apartment from WiFi, to a WiFi mobile to take out and about, as well as lovely bath products and a robe,

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank CFT99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2018

Thanks, CFT99 -- we're delighted that the apartment has worked out so well for you, and look forward to seeing you back VERY soon! We've loved meeting you all and helping organise your Cape Town visit thus far . . . plenty more to come. We really appreciate your taking the time to share your experience with other travellers -- a wonderful endorsement from lovely guests. Thanks again, happy travels and see you soon!

All the best,

Anahid, Armin & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2018

We stayed here a handfull of nights beginning of April. What a wonderful experience! This is truly a home away from home. You immediately feel very relaxed and well taken care of when you arrive. The "living room" of the hotel is such a beautiful space you just feel like lounging on one of the sofas with a drink and a good book or laughing away with friends.

The staff is amazing - and that goes for everyone we met during our stay.

All rooms we saw were spacious with very well thought through layouts and design. The bed is very comfy (as previous reviewers also have noted). Our room had a beautiful balcony overlooking the pool area. Although we did not go for a swim during our stay, it did look very tempting. The hotel is also very clean throughout - and we are quite fuzzy about that. Wi-fi worked perfectly.

Breakfast is generous and very tasty. There is a breakfast special everyday in addition to the hot dishes available in the menu. And in the afternoon there is cake!

When it comes to the location of Derwent house - it is perfectly situated in Cape Town. There are good restaurants and bars nearby and if you are up for a slightly longer stroll you could walk to the Waterfront. We felt perfectly safe all the time.

We were very happy staying at Derwent house and we will be back very soon!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mbs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2018

Dear mbs2014,

We were VERY happy to host you here -- we love it when guests make themselves right at home, and you two were just the best! The lounge is meant for exactly that: lounging, relaxing and socialising. It's rare to see it as lively and active as it was during your all-too-brief recent stay. Thanks to you both for bringing that spark to life -- it's so much fun when guests socialise and get to know one another, and really what a small boutique hotel experience is all about.

Special thanks for your shout-out for our great team -- they really are very special and we're so proud; it's always a thrill to see an endorsement in a public forum such as this one. We're all chuffed and very grateful.

Beyond the ambience and homey feeling, I'm so pleased you were also comfortable sleeping and well-fed! Arguably the two most important aspects of what we do . . . Observing that you are discerning travellers with high expectations, your praise and positive feedback on all the other aspects is all the more meaningful.

We can't wait to have you "back very soon!" But a longer stay next time, please!

On behalf of the entire team, very warm greetings from Cape Town,

Anahid & Armin


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2018

No really, stay here! This review is way overdue as we stayed the middle of March but I had to have time to write why this place is soooo special.

My son and I stayed here for 2 nights (split stay in Cape Town) and we didn't want to leave. It is like having your own home in Cape Town but better!

The owners and staff are kind, nice, attentive and truly interested in you and your stay. They are always there when you need them but not intrusive. Everything is spotless and the breakfast is amazing, as well as those peanut butter bars (had too many of them) in the afternoon.

We enjoyed our room off the pool with it's own patio. It is a small sized room with a big sized punch. It offers everything you need including closet space. They even offered us a second room they had available since I was traveling with my teenage son. I declined as we were quite happy with our room and had enough space.

This home is gorgeous! Just what I would want my own home to look like in Cape Town. It is comfortable, stylish, with a nice bit of luxury thrown in. The art, oh my, the art! If you love art you will want to take some of their pieces with you, truly. The pool and spa where well taken care of and they had special water they purchased just to keep it running for guests. I was there the week Day Zero was called off. Pleas know they were very responsible with water, providing collapsible buckets in the showers to catch the water while it was warming up, etc.

The location is wonderful for dinner and nightlife as well as Table Mountain (which you can see from a few houses down the block. At least 5-7 great restaurants within a ten minute walk and we felt very safe even walking back at 11 pm.

I obviously can't say enough about the Derwent House. I recommend it to everyone staying in Cape Town and I will certainly stay here again when I return to the wonderful city with beautiful people.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ayasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwentowners, Owner at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2018

Thank you so much, Ayasha T -- what a wonderfully detailed and comprehensive review! Feedback like your's is invaluable, both for us, learning what we're getting right and where we might need to improve, but also for your fellow travellers. We really appreciate your taking the time to do this.

Yes, what a celebration it was when the water crisis was officially called off. We are keeping up our water-saving ways and probably will continue to do so indefinitely, but the end of the ominous Day Zero campaign brought a sigh of relief to the whole city, but especially the tourism business . . . We're still trucking in water to keep the pool open, and yes, the buckets are still in your shower -- but all breathing a little easier now.

I'm so pleased that you both so enjoyed your stay with us--your warm-hearted appreciation of the decor and art at Derwent House is much appreciated. And in case you do seriously want to take some of our art home with you, you do know that there are links to most of our artists and suppliers on the website.

Florence, meanwhile, is thrilled at your mention of her delicious peanut butter bars!

Thanks a million for recommending us to other travellers, and we'll be looking forward to see you back again yourself -- for a longer stay next time, we hope!

On behalf of the entire team, warm greetings from Cape Town,

Anahid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2018 via mobile

I have never felt so welcome or so much at home in a guest house. It felt like staying with friends from the moment we arrived. Breakfast was excellent and each and every member of staff bent over backwards to help us arrange our days out and evening meals.
It's in a good part of town set right below Table Mountain and near plenty of good places to eat.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank N6498TVdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derwentowners, General Manager at Derwent House Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Dear David W,

Our foodie friends! How wonderful to hear from you that you felt at home with us and enjoyed your stay. We truly enjoyed having you here: Florence especially revelled in your lavish appreciation of her breakfasts every day -- and we loved sharing some of our favourite local wining and dining spots as well with fellow gastronomes . . . We want our guests to love Cape Town as much as we do, so get huge satisfaction from helping you make the most of your visit, planning your activities, and especially: eating and drinking!

Thank you so much from all of us for taking the time to post a review in this forum. It's invaluable for us to hear your feedback, as much as it is helpful for fellow travellers.

We hope to see you back again on a future visit -- and promise plenty more great breakfasts and memorable gourmet experiences around town!

Warm greetings from the whole team,

Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews