We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the very best.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2014

After reading the favourable reviews on trip advisor I decided to book this hotel, sadly they were full, but they did have an apartment just behind the hotel. Checking in at the hotel reception, we were taken round the side of the building through electric gates into the apartment complex next door. First impressions were not too favourable, as you go down a dark corridor with all the apartments having floor to ceiling iron gates, similar to a prison cell in front of their door. Sticking with it paid off, our apartment was amazing! A great size, beautifully furnished and quiet with nice views of the port. The attention to detail is very evident, we had a mobile phone supplied with SAR120 of credit. The fridge had a bottle of wine, fruit juice and fresh milk, they supplied breads and cereals, so we were totally self sufficient. The bathroom had a seperate shower and large bath, and the toilet was in it's own room. With our own allocated parking space, coming and going was simple. We found this so relaxing, and although told to come over to the main hotel for the pool, we felt so quickly at home, we never did. The staff are great and suggested excellent restaurants for dinner. A brilliant experience!

Room Tip: Chose the apartment to have a different more private experience.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garygeorge3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,412)
There are newer reviews for Derwent House Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 1,412 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2014

The artwork, music playing in the background, and friendly staff were all signs that we had found a special boutique hotel to finish our vacation in Cape Town. The complimentary port and brandy were welcome on the rainy night we arrived late due to a delayed flight. Timothy gave us the full tour of the property and we were soon falling asleep too the soothing rain falling on the roof. The breakfasts were hearty and fueled our morning walks down Kloof Road into downtown. (Be sure to look for the breakfast special on the blackboard.) The pool was a bit too cold to swim in (due to the rain), but we did enjoy the Jacuzzi. While the living room/kitchen/patio portion of our room was spacious, the bathroom and bedroom were a bit small. The staff was very accommodating and helpful when called upon. We would definitely recommend the Derwent House for a Cape Town stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PA585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Located in a quiet side street just outside the city centre. A nice hotel, with comfortable clean rooms and friendly staff. There is limited private off-road parking available, if you pre-book. It's a fairly long but pleasant walk into the city centre and the Waterfront. And it is possible to walk from the hotel to Table Mountain, if you are feeling fit. Overall, a good location for a visit to Cape Town.

Room Tip: Choose a room by the swimming pool. Reserve a private parking space.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripperUK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was looking for a change of pace that was not in the middle of the City Center and not on the beach in Camps Bay either. Derwent House, located in a non-touristy area, which also happens to be very close to Table Mountain, is a wonderful place to stay to eat at local places like Roundhouse Rumbullion or Manna Epicure (call ahead for reservations) off of Kloof Neck Road. Everyone there was super friendly and helpful. In my room, they even offered me a cellphone with a S. African number that I could have taken around town with me if I needed it to call a taxi. They also had a small art, book, and wine collection available to peruse. I particularly made use of the pool and the hot tub after a long day of walking around town.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLF02472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We booked this hotel on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is small but perfectly formed. Situated between Cape Town City Centre and Table Mountain it has around 10 rooms, a swimming pool and excellent lounge/lobby areas. It is a taxi ride from the City Centre or a long walk.

The staff were very friendly, helpful and always there to advise on how to make the most of our time in Cape Town. Although there is no restaurant, the breakfasts were excellent and there are tea/coffee facilities available all day. The hotel also provide complimentary cakes/biscuits for guests during afternoon tea.

There are many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

The hotel will arrange tours if required and also book taxis etc where needed.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the pool so there is no particular need to choose a particular room.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We spent 9 days in total here on our first visit to Cape Town. The staff were warm and friendly and made our visit there relaxed and comfortable. They were very helpful in booking taxis and restaurants and recommendations of places of interest. The breakfasts were delicious with hot breakfasts cooked to order. The hotel is designed to a high standard with african art and sculpture adding interest. The bedroom was bright and comfortable with pool view and balcony. The hotel is situated just off Kloof Street which has many excellent restaurants and has a great view of Table mountain. I would definitely stay here again. Mary McG.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2 in the main house which had a terrace and a balcony with a pool view. We also st...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We spent our first three nights in South Africa at the Derwent House and what a wonderful introduction it was to this amazing country. The room was clean and comfortable and the warmth and professionalism of the staff were greatly appreciated. Their attention to every small detail really impressed us. Great breakfasts. Highly recommended

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ruth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,846 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,055 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,513 reviews
1.0 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#15 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,762 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $170 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing