We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of my list” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Top of my list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is one of the best hotels we are ever visited. A beautiful sceneray, great hospitality, relaxing and highly recommended both for pleasure and busieness. Nice location in the hills just below The Table Mountain and close to restaurants and shops. Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hansi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
173
871
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Derwent House from 24 - 28 December 2013 and I can confidently say that this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed at.

The other reviewers have all mentioned the highlights of the hotel and for us, the following did the trick:

(a) We had an upstairs room (No. 2) which was of good size and opened out to 2 balconies - one facing Table Mountain/ Lion's Head and the other facing the pool. We highly recommend this room to all.

(b) The great breakfast with a wide variety of hot and cold options. Honestly, after the breakfast, we rarely did lunch considering how filling it was.

(c) Great recommendations by Jo on restaurants nearby for dinner with great meals and good value-for-money. We would particularly like to thank Carol and Jo for going the extra mile to reserve a table for us for our X-mas eve dinner and even left a deposit at the restaurant to guarantee our reservation. Thanks very much for this.

(d) Great recommendations by the staff for attractions to visit while in Cape Town. We managed to visit Camps Bay, V&A, Table Mountain, Signal Hill, Shimmy Beach Club and Sea Point Promenade while we were here. The staff at this hotel go to great lengths to make you feel like royalty during your stay. Thanks Vuyo, Dene, Jo and all the staff at Derwent House for making our holiday special.

(e) Chilling in the jacuzzi/pool with my wife under the morning/evening sun while overlooking table mountain was heavenly. This was a great experience.

(f) The Derwent House location is very close to Kloof Street (3 minutes walk) which has a wide range of great restaurants and a few minutes walk further down the road is Long Street with lots of clubs. The hotel staff can also arrange a taxi for just about any place you would like to go in Cape Town including airport pick-up and drop-off.

Overall, this is a great hotel and would not hesitate to recommend to all - we are ourselves planning a return trip in the future. It get quite full during the festive season so book early.

Well done Derwent House!!!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room - Nos. 1-4 - if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Brilliant self-catering apartment for 4. And it's located at a very nice location, with many delicious eateries at the surroundings.

And well, you are only a stone's throw away to Table Mountain, so traveling to this place is a breeze.

Highly recommended!

Only pity though, the area with the queen size bed was not partitioned off with a wall, so if you're a married couple traveling with friends, there might be some lack of privacy. But not that big a deal :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanselin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Derwent House and would recommend it to anyone. The guest house is beautifully done and the staff are second to none. The breakfasts are great, just another point to make the stay at the guest house completely enjoyable.

The cell phone was a nice touch as this was our first stop in South Africa and it gave us time to arrange for our own phone. What a way to start a trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyhenday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I cannot say enough great things about the service and the experience that you'll receive at the Derwent House. The staff is wonderfully accommodating and literally planned our entire vacation for us. No detail is overlooked, from the impeccably appointed rooms, to the exquisite decor and accessories in the rooms and throughout the house. This was the first vacation where I actually looked forward to waking up early because I knew a fresh cup of coffee and an amazing breakfast would be waiting for me!

Tip for travelers would be: this hotel is a bit removed from the downtown/main touristy areas of Cape Town. I didn't mind this at all, but be sure to build this into your schedule. The hotel is best accessible by taxis (which are very reasonably priced). The wait time for a taxi from the hotel was generally 25-35 minutes, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matticulousme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Derwent House is an oasis. We had an absolutely wonderful time while staying in their family suite. It has all of the trappings of home with all of the luxury touches one longs for when staying in a guest house. The hot tub was a perfect ending to a magnificent hike up Table Mountain. Breakfasts were amazing and the staff extremely accommodating. The location is perfect since it is close to wonderful restaurants and great shopping. As well it's only a 20 minute walk to the closest "hop on..hop off" bus stop. As well, the complimentary cell phone is a magnificent touch. Well done!!!

Room Tip: The family suite is amazing!! Great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niashab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at this small boutique hotel for 4 nights in early November. Utterly superb. The staff were friendly , courteous and respectful which is a rare combination and speaks highly of their training. The hotel itself is a magnificent former residence with some dozen guest rooms. We stayed in a beautiful room - literally because that is how the room is described in the tariff. It is a large , by European standards , room with an excellent double bed and all the necessary facilities.
Our room overlooked the pool.
The hotel is located en route to Table Mountain and guests are provided at minimal cost with a mobile phone loaded with the number of a taxi company , which is the recommended means of travel.
Breakfast was uniformly excellent. There is no evening meal but there are liocal restaurants a 100 metres or so away.
Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. In our time we have stayed at likes of Ritz Carltons. This is better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leonkreitzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing