We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stays I've ever had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 110 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I travel for work a lot and know what excellent service is. Derwent house's personal approach exceeded just about any other place I've been to. At about 12 rooms it's small enough that the whole staff knows you by name and manages to always be there without hovering. The rooms aren't huge but are beautiful; the breakfast is excellent; and the pool/hot tub area is nice. What sets this place apart is the details. Free port and sherry as a nightcap. Without seeming to they keep track of when you are out so you're never interrupted for maid or turndown service. They put blankets on the patio chairs in the winter. There's a large book and DVD library if you want to stay in. etc etc. They also set up every reservation we had for the whole stay, helpfully suggesting places when we were at a loss. At every turn they anticipated and fulfilled every need. I was truly impressed and would be more likely to recommend this place to a friend than any other hotel I've ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Room 3 has by far the best balcony, with a side view of table mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 1,422 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed in Cape Town for three nights at the beginning of our South African adventure. Found Derwent on Trip Advisor and what a find. First the staff is amazing, Voya was amazing, booked everything for us, answered every question, called taxis and helped make our stay truly memorable. We actually stayed in the apartment that the hotel owns, it is seperate but you have full access to the hotel. We have two teenagers so we needed extra space. We did love the apartment but next time I will stay in the hotel! We used the hotel for afternoon tea and coffee and my daughter even went into the hot tub.

The hotel booked all our restaurants before we arrived and even recommended a couple to us that were amazing. As I said Voya was amazing and my kids just loved her!! I would recommend this guesthouse to anyone. I love small classy spaces and this hotel certainly fits the bill. They think of everything from blankets so you can sit outside to having the best banana bread in the afternoon. A truly memorable experience and when our travels take us back to Cape Town we will be staying at the Derwent House.

Room Tip: We stayed in the apartment which is great for families but they do have a family room available for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights and wished we had book a few more nights. Derwent is hard to find, but once there it is a great location for walking to restaurants and nearby Table Mountain hikes. The breakfast is completely over the top and a great way to start any day. The homemade baked snacks and honors bar was handy for a quick pick-me-up before heading out on the town.

They have thought of everything in their rooms - including even giving you a cell phone to use during your stay. We stayed in and watched one of their many movies one night which was a nice way to relax and save some money.

I had a personal situation that I needed help with and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They were very pleasant and accommodating in every way. Would definitely recommend for your Capetown holiday.

Room Tip: Make sure you get breakfast included because it is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndrewsInnkeepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

As a previous review mentioned, Derwent is a guest house, not a hotel. If you bear this in mind you will be very pleased. There is a beautiful common area, rooms were very clean, the breakfasts were excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Although it is just a short stroll from Long street and Kloof street, we found neither contained very many good places to eat. Having said this, I'm sure there are many that we just did not find. Derwent is overall a very pleasant guesthouse, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

After spending more than 24 hours traveling we felt as if we had entered the home of a close friend when we arrived at the Derwent House. Denee met us at the door and made us feel right at home. The common area with the coffee/tea, cookies, cake and honesty bar was a welcoming surprise. It was lovely to sit by the fire and enjoy a class of complimentary port or sherry after a busy day of sightseeing. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. The large, soft bath towels, robes and the pre-programed cell phones were a nice touch. Dene and Vuyo were friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner, calling taxies, planning excursions, etc. The breakfast each morning was delicious! They even offered to prepare us breakfast snack bags for our early morning departure. The Derwent House is a great location making it easy and safe to walk to several great restaurants. We stayed at the Derwent House for 6 nights in July and if we could give it more than 5 stars we would and we hope to be able to return someday soon!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a large balcony that overlooks the pool. Signal Hill can be seen from the balcony and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank southrngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 days at Derwent in July and were more than pleased with the SERVICE, the LOCATION, the CLEANLINESS, the WIFI and the APT. We booked the apartment thinking we would do some cooking, although it is well-equipped and grocery shopping is accessible, we opted for a Derwent breakfast one day (not included in the lodging however very good at a reasonable price) and tried the many quirky, yummy eateries in the vicinity. We felt safe walking at night to the restaurants. The manager, Ms Deney, is a sweet lady who spoiled my girls badly. We were able to watch some movies in our apt after a day's worth of touristing. The manager was very helpful with our car and ticket reservations, suggesting restaurants and driving options. The apartment was clean, had all comforts you may need, we had a designated parking inside the gates. We drove back through Chapman's Peak one day and were quickly back at the apt. Great, great place!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Derwent House for 6 nights in July. What a pleasure, the place is impeccably clean, has a classy modern decor, is very comfortable both in the rooms & in the common lounge, has a great breakfast included but most of all has top class staff. Carol was totally on the ball handling our enquiries & bookings. During our stay Vuyo was the perfect host full of info on local restaurants, things to do etc... Derwent Lodge really made our trip to Cape Town a trip to remember for all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SayaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,856 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 110 in Cape Town Central
2,073 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Taj Cape Town
Taj Cape Town
#16 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,779 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#35 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,527 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#8 of 110 in Cape Town Central
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $161 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing