We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Derwent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Derwent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

As a previous review mentioned, Derwent is a guest house, not a hotel. If you bear this in mind you will be very pleased. There is a beautiful common area, rooms were very clean, the breakfasts were excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Although it is just a short stroll from Long street and Kloof street, we found neither contained very many good places to eat. Having said this, I'm sure there are many that we just did not find. Derwent is overall a very pleasant guesthouse, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,232
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
173
871
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

After spending more than 24 hours traveling we felt as if we had entered the home of a close friend when we arrived at the Derwent House. Denee met us at the door and made us feel right at home. The common area with the coffee/tea, cookies, cake and honesty bar was a welcoming surprise. It was lovely to sit by the fire and enjoy a class of complimentary port or sherry after a busy day of sightseeing. The room was clean and bed was comfortable. The large, soft bath towels, robes and the pre-programed cell phones were a nice touch. Dene and Vuyo were friendly and helpful with suggestions for dinner, calling taxies, planning excursions, etc. The breakfast each morning was delicious! They even offered to prepare us breakfast snack bags for our early morning departure. The Derwent House is a great location making it easy and safe to walk to several great restaurants. We stayed at the Derwent House for 6 nights in July and if we could give it more than 5 stars we would and we hope to be able to return someday soon!

Room Tip: Room 3 has a large balcony that overlooks the pool. Signal Hill can be seen from the balcony and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank southrngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for 3 days at Derwent in July and were more than pleased with the SERVICE, the LOCATION, the CLEANLINESS, the WIFI and the APT. We booked the apartment thinking we would do some cooking, although it is well-equipped and grocery shopping is accessible, we opted for a Derwent breakfast one day (not included in the lodging however very good at a reasonable price) and tried the many quirky, yummy eateries in the vicinity. We felt safe walking at night to the restaurants. The manager, Ms Deney, is a sweet lady who spoiled my girls badly. We were able to watch some movies in our apt after a day's worth of touristing. The manager was very helpful with our car and ticket reservations, suggesting restaurants and driving options. The apartment was clean, had all comforts you may need, we had a designated parking inside the gates. We drove back through Chapman's Peak one day and were quickly back at the apt. Great, great place!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Izabal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Derwent House for 6 nights in July. What a pleasure, the place is impeccably clean, has a classy modern decor, is very comfortable both in the rooms & in the common lounge, has a great breakfast included but most of all has top class staff. Carol was totally on the ball handling our enquiries & bookings. During our stay Vuyo was the perfect host full of info on local restaurants, things to do etc... Derwent Lodge really made our trip to Cape Town a trip to remember for all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SayaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We enjoyed six nights at Derwent House and it was a great stay. The downstairs area, as mentioned by others, is a wonderful space for a lovely breakfast or for a cosy sofa for falling asleep in the evenings. Having said that, you need to be aware that this is not a hotel. As the front desk said, "we're a guest house, so we don't have a restaurant". This may not make a huge difference to most, but it does mean walking a short way to a choice of several average restaurants nearby (we didn't have any good meals). It is also notable that the rooms are not sound proofed as our bedroom was next to one where someone had a bad cough all night for three nights ... we heard every cough! Slightly disappointing after so many good reviews.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum, Sudan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Myself and two friends stayed in the apartment at Derwent House for 3 nights. We were warned in advance that it would be a bit of a squeeze to fit three adults, and whilst I wouldn't recommend it for a long period of time it was more than adequate for a short stay. Derwent House is well located in a relatively quiet area, but with easy access to all of the main sights in Cape Town. The accommodation was clean, with a lovely welcome pack and a car parking space linked to the apartment. What really stood out though, was the extremely helpful and professional work of all the staff. We were travelling with several bags, and Carol very kindly agreed that we could leave some of the bags at the hotel when we spent a couple of nights in Franschhoek, even though this was before we had checked into the Derwent House Hotel. This made our travel much easier. Carol was very helpful in advance of the visit, providing prompt and informative replies to everything. The other staff at the hotel were also great, providing recommendations for places to eat, booking spa treatments, and really going above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend Derwent House to anybody looking to stay in Cape Town, and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

We loved our stay at the Derwent House. Capetown can be exhausting - there so many beautiful sites, but they involve lots of crowds and a lot of walking. We loved the Derwent House for its comfortable, quiet surroundings and for its endlessly helpful staff. Vuyo and the other employees went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating. They helped us plan an exciting itinerary everyday and treated us more like house guests than hotel patrons. Better yet, they included many small comforts that are overlooked by larger hotels like a cell phone we could bring with us during the day with pre-set numbers for the hotel, popular restaurants and taxi companies. The decor is chic yet comfortable - we loved the prints of Mandela's sketches.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,919 reviews
City Bowl
Four Rosmead
Four Rosmead
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#31 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing