We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Couldn't have been better!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Derwent House was our first honeymoon stop after a busy wedding weekend. We couldn't have stayed anywhere better. It's a lovely, small, welcoming hotel and feels very much like home. The swimming pool area is a fantastic space and the hotel tastefully decorated and well maintained. The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful giving good advice, recommending and booking restaurants and calling taxis. We felt very spoilt. The location is perfect, close to excellent restaurants and bars without being in the centre of Cape Town, very close to Table Mountain and a short drive from some of the beaches. I would go back for the breakfasts alone, they were delicious!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 which was lovely and spacious. We had a very good view of Table Mountain. The ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,152
    77
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
167
805
60
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

It's really easy to roll out a load of clichés about boutique accommodation; but this hotel deserves an actual considered review as it genuinely does go above and beyond (OK, last cliché, I promise)

I was on a whistle stop tour of Cape Town needing to both work and play. It was my first visit and although I love to research, I needed local knowledge. I asked Carol at Derwent house for some recommendations of design centres, expecting a short reply... she basically planned my entire work trip and what great advice. The fact that I got that knowledge from a local really gave me the edge I was looking for.

The attention they lavished to this one little request was evident in everything I asked for, transfers- no problem, hire car- sorted, great place for dinner at short notice -done (and AMAZING) somewhere for a massage after climbing table mountain - booked for us there and then. And on and on.

Service is a big part of the experience of our stay but I have to talk about the accommodation. It's stylish, considered, roomy and with enough luxury to make the room a space you can actually relax in, not just use as a space to sleep. We stayed in room 4, which had views of the mountain. Yes there was a bit of residential traffic noise, but nothing if you are used to staying or living in a city.

The location is great for us, fantastic restaurants, shops and bars. I walked the the Q&A waterfront... it took a while and if it wasn't such a nice day I would have happily have paid for the 5 minute cab ride to get there.

I will go back, I will stay in the same room and I recommend you do too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Derwent House for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon. We were greeted by Vuyo who new exactly who we were when we rang the door bell to check in and these personal touches throughout our stay is what makes Derwent Hse so unique. Vuyo could not of been more helpful with top tips of where to eat, transport, tourist information as well as helping us when we had issues with our flights home. Rooms, breakfast and location great. Lovely pool area to relax and catch some sun. The honesty bar is unique to Derwent Hse but a great idea, with lots of choices. A definite must if staying in Cape Town.

Thanks Derwent Hse.

Room Tip: Location great but a fair walk to the Waterfront, lovely resturants on Kloof St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hipster76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Derwent House very much. The communal rooms have a very African theme which was something very different for us. The staff were all extremely helpful and welcoming. We stayed in room 1 (top of the stairs on the far left) which was comfortable but slightly on the small side and the bathroom was extremely small but functional. Don't know about any of the other rooms. Never having stayed anywhere else in Cape Town, I couldn't compare Derwent to other Cape Town hotels, but would recommend Derwent probably for shorter stays, unless the other bedrooms are on the larger side.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leyburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to Derwent House since 2008, and it's as good as ever, I could say it gets better every time but it's hard to improve upon perfection! We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cape Town, Jo & Carol along with their fanatstic team of staff make the whole experience of staying there wonderful. The attention to detail, the decor, the breakfasts, the welcome, the service, advice re restauarnts etc is second to none. We walked to 3 local restaurants for dinner all with great food and service and we felt perfectly safe doing so.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoZil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

As part of a group of international travelers that stayed here for 14 days - these are my thoughts...

I travel all over the world for work. Derwent House will now be the measure of excellence. From the amenities to the location to the standard of comfort - Derwent House is simply exceptional. The most impressive aspect of the stay here was the staff and the service that they provided. I cannot quite put my finger on it...However there is a magic about the way it works. From check in you are treated like family (like the spoiled child that can have everything). The staff from Management across the team allowed the most exquisite experience. If you come to Cape Town - Derwent House is a must!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark-D-McMillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

WOW, WOW, WOW! I just returned from spending 2 incredible weeks in Cape Town. I began my adventure on the V & A waterfront, after several days I packed my bags and headed over to Camps Bay, a brief and beautiful stint there and on my way to safari at Amakhala where I had the pleasure of meeting Carole and Jo, owners of Derwent House. They are an amazing duo, I loved them so much that I changed my plans and moved into their outstanding hotel for the last days of my trip. The hotel itself is absolutely top notch! It reminded me of a beautiful elegant brownstone in NYC, I felt right at home. It is perfectly located to shopping, restaurants, gardens, etc. and the staff were tripping over themselves to make my stay first class. My daughter is studying at UCT and wants to move in, watch out Carole & Jo! Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,693 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
The Hyde All-Suite Hotel
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
1.0 mi away
MannaBay
MannaBay
#2 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derwent House is one of Cape Town's most inviting Boutique Hotels. It combines chic contemporary elegance with a relaxing atmosphere. It is also incredibly well located just off the trendiest street in the City in between the City Centre and Table Mountain. With a total of 10 rooms and two apartments the atmosphere is friendly and congenial, and the staff team are dedicated to making your stay with us a pleasure. Derwent House aims to meet your every need - air-con, fabulous pool, private decks, wireless connectivity, flat screens with satellite, DVD library, robes and slippers and extensive bar facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing