We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with wonderful people at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel with wonderful people at a great price”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I've been fortunate enough to find myself in Cape Town in the past, and like most who have visited this magical place just love it. To find a hotel like the Derwent House in a place like Cape Town is almost too good to be true. The location is fantastic, within walking distance of Kloof Street and all that that wonderful street has to offer. The hotel itself is simply amazing. The rooms are not huge, but are absolutely fine, particularly when you consider that each comes with a delightful balcony with a table and chairs and, often, with a view of Table Mountain. In addition,there is a very large and comfortable multiple room sitting area with the always hard to find working wireless Internet connection. Then there are the people who work there. To say that they are kind and helpful is to just not do them justice. I have never stayed in any hotel large or small where every morning, in addition to being served a wonderful breakfast, I was always asked by at least one, if not more than one, employee if there was any place or any area in particular in which I and my daughter would like to have dinner and, if so, they would go ahead and make us reservations and make sure that thee was a cab there to pick us up and get us to the restaurant in a timely manner. I truly felt like I was staying at the home of a friend. Carol, the owner, is clearly the straw that stirs this drink; her kindness, knowledge, and willingness to help with just about anything is something that she has successfully passed along to every employee at this fantastic establishment. Finally, considering that it's Cape Town, the price of this hotel is so reasonable that it's hard to believe. Stay there. You will love it –

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
185
908
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located near the foot of table mountain (took us half an hour to walk back from the cable car station) this cosy little place gives you a very warm welcome and lots of helpful attention. There is a 24-hour reception and the hotel will arrange transfers. We had a generous glimpse of the mountain from our room which overlooked the pool area. The room was a little poky for two but quite comfortable with good quality fittings, and the shared lounge area was very pleasant. Breakfast (included) was well organized and enjoyable. The hotel does not serve dinner but there are restaurants nearby and it's fine to walk around in the evening. It's a fair hike downtown but only a few blocks to pick up the hop-on/hop-off red bus which takes you most places you'd want in town. All in all a great introduction to Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baudolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for 3 nights at the end of March 2013. The property is absolutely beautiful and so homely (like your own home away from home). The breakfasts were beautiful and full a la carte cooked breakfast menu to choose from as well as up market continental breakfast. However the best part about this place is the staff. They make you feel so welcome and absolutely nothing is too much trouble (they arranged our transfers which chopped and changed by us at short notice on several occasions due to our airline delays as well as dinner reservations). The location of this hotel is great too very close to Kloof Road shops and restaurants. We were so sad to leave this place that we made another reservation before leaving for our next visit to Capetown. We cannot wait to return to this hotel. Well done to Carol, Jo, Dene and the other staff who made our stay so pleasant!

Room Tip: There are several types of rooms for families and singles. We had a smaller room which was fine for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Boutique means you really get excellent service here, attentive and helpful but never overbearing. Our second visit and a delight to get the same room as we had before, like a home from home! Yet to find time to use the attractive pool... Too much else to do in fabulous Cape Town!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoungBuccaneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prudhoe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel in a great location.It is very stylishly furnished - some one has gone to a great deal of trouble getting the decor and atmosphere right. Carol and her team are absolutely marvellous - nothing is too much trouble - they are all keen to do whatever to make the stay enjoyable and memorable. They have all the local knowledge to help you decide what to do and where to eat. They are happy to book trips, taxis and restaurants and it is all done with a smile - they all have the knack of giving everyone personal attention.We had seen previous reviews whch said the rooms were small but we did not find this so - the rooms were perfect for a holiday stay and there was lots of storage space so you were not living out of your suitcase. The breakfast menu was very extensive and set you for the day - if you were in during the day there was always tea, coffee and other drinks available and late afternoon there were homemade cakes - delicious! You could get a beer or wine from the well stocked fridge anytime - just put it on the honesty sheet.The hotel is located in a quiet street so no traffic noise and it is within strolling distance of downtown.The pool area is great too. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - as much due to all the staff as anything else. This was our second visit to Cape Town and I am sure when we go again will be staying at Derwent House!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomjean-31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Well, I had no expectations at all. What a surprise! Doesn't look much from the outside but on entering the atmosphere was "serene", staff so welcoming and accomodation excellent. Friendly, accommodating staff, so competent and efficient. I was impressed, and that takes a lot! All of my needs, whether it be laundry, travel or booking places to eat were catered for. The hotel was within a reasonable distance from the V and A, and eateries within walking distance numerous and excellent. The owners made us feel so welcome. The lack of a resteraunt and bar wasn't an issue and how refreshing to have an Honesty Bar.

I would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aluson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We have stayed at Derwent House with our 4y old daughter for 12 nights mid Februray 2013. The place is very welcoming, staff extremely helpful and polite so you feel almost at home. The place, owners with staff, location have made our stay to remember, so we recommend staying there for couples as much as for families with kids.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 148Pat148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
990 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,009 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
643 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing