We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Darling Derwent House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Darling Derwent House”
Reviewed April 25, 2008

Before we arrived I was already impressed with Derwent House, as the email contact I had with Carol, one of the proprietors, in relation to our booking had been efficient, friendly and very helpful.
We arrived to a friendly welcome and were shown around the stunning property. Our bedroom was lovely, fresh, clean and stylish. We had a terrace with a fabulous view to Table Mountain. The living room areas are gorgeous, the guest kitchen/honesty bar facility lovely - great idea! - and stunning pool area.
During our stay all staff were lovely, helpful and friendly.
Our only niggle would be that the noise travelled up the stair - we were in room 1 which is on the first floor above the reception/lounge areas and with the open plan layout noise travelled up, meaning we heard someone depart very early one morning and you could hear people coming back late in the evening, but it was not enough to really spoil our visit.
Good location, near cool Kloof street which is full of shops, bars, restaurants.
Carol and Jo have a passion for the city so have great knowledge and suggestions of where to go and what to do and are more than happy spending time helping you with your plans.

  • Liked — Guest areas available
  • Disliked — Noise travelled
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PaolinaEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
174
886
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2008

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor, but feel compelled to do so for the simple fact that our stay at the Derwent House was faultless.

My partner and I have stayed at grander, hipper places, but in terms of value for money, I would be happy with the beautifully designed rooms, stylish swimming pool and the delicious breakfasts here, at twice the price.

It is ultimately the attention to detail and enthusiasm of the owners Carol and Jo, however, that makes the Derwent truly outstanding - and ultimately more memorable than those grander, hipper places . We had our six month baby with us on the trip - a daunting prospect. Everything was made easy for us though from the fabulously luxurious travel cot to the personally vetted babysitters. Our room was remote, and had a kitchenette and sitting room which meant we could relax without worrying about preparing milk, or disturbing other guests. All of Carols' restaurant recommendations were terrific, and without fail, she managed to get us reservations, at short notice, at the most sought after of places.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we decided to return a month later, as a "last hurrah" at the end of our month long trip in South Africa. If anything, Jo and Carol, exceeded our expectations and even won the appreciation of my famously critical mother.

If you're in Cape Town, don't think about staying anywhere else.

  • Liked — Carol and Jo - the owners
  • Disliked — The hotel was a (very short) cab ride from the sights.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Anon52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2008

This hotel is truly wonderful. It is beautifully decorated, with all of the amenities one could desire, but small enough to basically feel at home. The staff and owners (Jo and Carol) were very gracious hosts, and we could not have been happier with our stay! What impressed us even more than the beauty and design of the hotel was the environmental and social consciousness of Jo and Carol, which showed in everything they did - from the way they treated both their guests and staff to their choices in design of the hotel itself. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Liked — Room
  • Disliked — Not much I didn't like
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sadinyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bath uk
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2008

stayed at Derwent House for four nights in march.
cannot fault anything
rooms very well appointed and rest of hotel relaxed homely and extremely stylish !
carol and jo friendly and helpful at all times
would recomend to anyone

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank bootymann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

All previous contributions offer considerable praise indeed and we are not likely to change that. Derwent House is excellent and our only mistake was not to stay longer both at this stylish boutique hotel and in Cape Town which we loved and of which we only scratched the surface. Derwent House is superbly situated away from the bussle of the heart of the city yet is a ten minute taxi ride (65 rand) to the vibrant V&A Water Front. Staying in such a quiet location at the foot of Table Mountain provides a very comfortable base from which to tour the region. Our generous hosts, Jo and Carol, have created a gem of a hotel and they and their staff made us feel as though we were really at home. From your communal kitchen area with an honesty box for extras to complimentary tea, coffee, sherry, port and cakes we were allowed to make the most of what the hotel has to offer. The interior design is beautiful and is stylishly furnished to a standard you’d find in many lifestyle magazines. With superb artwork, including Nelson Mandela limited edition prints, this modern home from home reminds you greatly of the history of South Africa and the challenges it continues to face. We were indeed very lucky to have room 4 with windows on two sides with fantastic views of Table Mountain and its cable car. A lovely, spacious room with separate bath (with view of the mountain) and large shower.

Whilst in Cape Town we had pre-arranged tours to Cape Point, the Cape of Good Hope, Table Mountain and the Winelands – all with Hylton Ross and we could not fault their service, their vehicles and especially their tour guides. When their own staff say great things about the company then you know that you’re in good hands. We ate in various restaurants including ‘Gainsborough’ good overall and just around the corner from Derwent House. On the Water Front we also ate ‘Italian’ at Meloncino which was excellent and more local fare at the highly publicized Belthazar Restaurant where the wildebeest steak and seafood were outstanding.

We will definitely return to Cape Town and will not look anywhere else for somewhere to stay. Derwent House is exceptional.

  • Liked — Stylish, relaxed and ideally located for Cape Town and beyond
  • Disliked — Nothing to dislike
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

I booked Derwent House as the first stop on our honeymoon and we were delighted with the hotel and service when we got there.

The staff struck a nice balance of friendly and professional backed up by a quiet efficiency that meant that the hotel was kept in beautiful condition without any disturbance to ourselves.

The atmosphere is relaxed and we felt we could do as much or as little as we wanted. When we chose the venture out, the owners were on hand to recommend places to go and restaurants to eat in. Their philosophy for Derwent House is to create somewhere they would like to stay. Their taste is clearly the same as ours!!

We would definitely recommend this to friends and would stay here again if we visit Cape Town.

Thank you for helping create such a great start to our honeymoon!!

  • Liked — Effortless Cool
  • Disliked — Didn't spend long enough there
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank EdAndBinnyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2008

From the minute we arrived at Derwent House i felt at home. The warm greeting from the porter Zigi Zilli(not sure of the spelling) was fantastic. Zigi was very kind to take our heavy bags to our room. We were stying in room 10.... What can i say about this room.... Unique Chic about sums it up. Carol and Jo have worked hard in picking everything in the room from the soap to the bed linen in making this place special. The room was very modern and extrmely clean. Now to the jacuzzi - only one warning dont stay in it too long. Its so warm and cosy to be outside on the decking in a jacuzzi that you forget how long you have been in for.. which almost resulted in me losing half my body mass.. but was worth it. Nothing better after a days haking to come back and chill out in the hot tub and relax those weary bones. GOD I WISH I WAS BACK THERE.

Breakfast - well fantastic service and excellent food sitting outside over looking the pool in the sun eating breakie.. with table mountain in the back ground.... well tell me where else could you do this in the world... with such a dramatic and awesome view.

Then there is Aunt Carol and Auntie Jo - we love you. Two of the most helpful genuine people alive on this planet. From small things like where to eat to helping me plan my engagement.. i cant say how grateful i am to them. They were available everyday with help and advice on what to do and where to go and so friendly....... If you go to htis hotel you will feel special and not just another guest. Every guest gets special treatment.

Cape Town is an amazing place and we will be back to Derwent house in the near future but hopefully as residents of South Africa... we fell in love with the place that much we want to stay there now....

p.s If you need to know anything about this hotel or are thinking of staying anywhere else dont be daft. Contact me on goddamn_77@hotmail.com and i will sort you out.

  • Liked — To much to mention but Carol and Jo the owners are amazing
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BrianMcL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
2.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing