We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday and wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday and wonderful service”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is the second time that we have stayed at Derwent. The hotel is really nice with a pool area that is better than going to the Beach. The staff and service are top notch, thanks to Jo and Carol. We had a great time and will definetely be back. Very central location to V&A Waterfront, Cable car and the beaches at Clifton and Camps Bay. Lovely little bar area, which is self service and well priced, with same good local wines. Walking distance to Kloof St and Long St, so no shortage of dining options.

Room Tip: We liked Room 10. Quiter, but smaller, tucked away behind the main rooms with our own balconey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,254
    82
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
174
886
61
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Great service and staff, where it is all the little things which really counted e.g., being offered a complimentary beach umbrella when heading off to Clifton, being given a frozen towel to cool down with when chilling at the pool...
Short walk down to the trendy restaurants of kloof street, central location for accessing Clifton, Table Mountain, Waterfront, city centre (these require a drive/taxi though).
Trendy interior in this small hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We spent 8 glorious days here in November 2012. Everything was of the very highest order: welcome; helpful advice; accommodation; facilities, breakfast -and lots of nice touches (eg refreshments readily available all day; mobile phone........). All management and staff were exceptionally friendly, cheerful and obliging - nothing was too much trouble. Strongly, strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony overlooking pool very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We spent three nights in total at Derwent House,two at the beginning of our visit to South Africa and one at the end. Everyone had been so friendly and helpful it felt like going home when we returned for our last night.
Our rooms were clean & comfortable, the family room was spacious but cosy.
The breakfasts were absolutely delicious, loved the french toast.
Location perfect, easy to walk into town so reducing the hassle of parking.
would certainly return.

Room Tip: The family room was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyfultraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

In November 2012 I stayed for a week at Derwent House with family and friends. From the moment of arrival we were embraced by the convivial staff as "houseguests" not visitors, and that feeling continued for the whole visit. The public rooms were stylish and welcoming, graced with witty and original South African art. The compact outdoor spaces, centered on a lovely pool, were sunny and inviting. The sleeping rooms were comfortable and airy. All the detailsspoke of "home" rather than a "hotel." The environment contributed memorably to our trip.

The daily breakfast included in the room rate were delicious, particularly the addictive omelets! The public honor bar stocked with interesting South African wines was a treat.

Key to the Derwent House experience is the staff. Carol Judge, the owner, and her staff were outstanding. We already miss them! Carol's pointers on restaurants and attractions, and her insights about South African life enriched out trip. And Shepherd, a young hospitality intern, deserves a special shout-out for his genial and courtly service.

Derwent House more than lives up to its stellar reputation. We shall return.

Room Tip: My room overlooking the pool was sunny and quiet, even though the hotel was full, though that might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Navidod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were recommended Derwent House by friends and it didn't disappoint - only wish we could have stayed longer. Jo and Carol were incredibly welcoming and gave us great recommendations for nearby restaurants. Breakfast is fab, rooms beautiful and staff fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzThorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Derwent House is a great place to use as a base in Cape Town. The location is convenient, the service is excellent and the rooms very comfortable. Travelling with a 4 year old child can often be challenging for a number of reasons but Jo, Bernie and Carole made us feel incredibly welcome. This kind of service makes a huge difference to relaxation levels whilst on holiday and we wouldn't hesitate in recommending Derwent to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#3 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,791 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,197 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#6 of 106 in Cape Town Central
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,945 reviews
2.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,653 reviews
2.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing