We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in Cape Town”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Derwent House and we would certainly recommend it as a place to stay in Cape Town. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome.
Our room was very clean, comfortable and warm, which was most welcome after a day walking around Cape Town.
The communal area was very cosy and Carol made sure that the fire was lit every evening so that we could enjoy some drinks (complimentary port and sherry) before heading out for dinner. There was also a communal kitchen where we could make tea and coffee and enjoy cake in the afternoon.
Breakfast was delicious, with lots to choose from each morning. We were very spoilt for choice and wish we could have stayed longer to try it all.
The location was perfect - a short drive to Table Mountain and the V&A Waterfront, walking distance to the City Sightseeing bus and walking distance to many amazing restaurants.
Carol was extremely knowledgeable about the area and gave us lots of recommendations for dinner and places to see. She was also able to tell us lots about our next destinations (Hermanus and Franschhoek) which was great.
We truly believe that we couldn't have picked a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LG30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
183
905
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Derwent House is the real thing. The setting is perfect, the proprietors, Carol and Jo, are magnanimous in their hosptiality and welcome, and the ambience is a perfect combination of elegance and comfort. I've stayed in other guest houses in the area on previous trips to Cape Town that were just fine but Derwent House tops them all. A couple of simple things stood out 1) allowing very late checkout at no additional expense to cater for a late night flight and 2) upgraded room as a bonus, again at no expense. Simple things yes but ones that signal a true service ethos. Winter in Cape Town can be cold and wet but there is always a welcome fire and warmth at Derwent House.

Room Tip: Only quibble is that the location of the digital box for changing channels was not accessible from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The rooms were lovely, the location is good, the breakfast was very tasty, and the common spaces were very pretty and comfortable. We had drinks by the fire every night. I would recommend it for almost anyone, except perhaps for people with young children.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This was our first visit to Cape Town and choose Derwent House on a recommendation from a friend and they were spot on! Just a 10 minute walk from the shops and great restaurants and having Table mountain as a view from your bedroom window you can't go wrong. Carol and Jo's hospitality was second to none and as our stay was part of our honeymoon Carol fired up the hot tub and a chilled bottle of sparkling wine - wonderful!
We have nothing negative to say about our stay at all and this hotel makes a convenient, relaxing, welcoming yet chic and surprisingly affordable base for Cape Town and beyond. Highly recommended - thank you from Kathy and David.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxpress
Level Contributor
57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

this place is as good as the other reviewers suggest. Carol and Jo are just lovely - wonderful, hospitable, and incredibly helpful. I really appreciated the fact that they let me check in early (having arrived in the early morning), and check out late - something I havent experienced in any other hotel! The rooms are just lovely. I am only sorry that I didnt have the time to enjoy the two lovely patios my room had. The hotel itself is exquisitely designed. Breakfasts are great. You really can't go wrong with this place!

Room Tip: general advice - stick to the taxi firm jo recommends - very good and reliable. The others can be tw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinbaum46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valroufie, France
Level Contributor
110 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

This was one of the best places we have ever stayed. Jo and Carol and the rest of the staff are both super friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. All their recommendations on restaurants were spot on. They arranged a tour of the wine country for us that was fantastic. Our room was great with its own patio looking up at Table Mountain. Breakfast is cooked to order each morning. The location is right around the corner from Kloof Street which is full of restaurants and shops. They even arranged a pickup for us at the airport upon arrival. I could go on and on but in a nutshell, if we get back to Cape Town, this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
260 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at Derwent house for only one night and wished we had more time to stay. We will definitely stay here again if we come back to Cape Town. Carol was extremely helpful in our booking for the trip from Australia.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,997 reviews
2.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing