We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best boutique hotel ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best boutique hotel ever!”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Highly recommended if you want comfort, character, location and tranquility in perfect combination. Carol, Jo and team have found exactly the right balance between offering chic accommodation and a home away from home, without being intrusive. They've thought of everything and it's the decor and the little touches (free port, wine recommendations, cake in the afternoon, notes on pillows) that make it special. The breakfasts are delicious too!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzdalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,297
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
185
908
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I arrived in Cape Town after two weeks camping in Namibia and I couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. I was the only guest for 3 nights and was treated like a queen. My room was beautiful with a balcony overlooking the pool and a view of Table Mountain, great bathroom and more amenities than I could dream of.
Location is very convenient to restaurants and sites. Before my arrival, they provided me with so much helpful information about day tours, airport transport etc.
I highly recommend Derwent House and plan on returning on my next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSC0426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This was our first trip to Cape Town (indeed, to South Africa) and Derwent House was the perfect place to spend 3 nights. It is close to lots of great restaurants and shops, and Carol gave us excellent recommendations for eating and sightseeing. One day, my husband went shark diving (crazy), and Carol helped me plan the perfect day for myself at a huge farmer's market in Woodstock, gallery hopping, and then for a massage close by the hotel. Our room was a reasonable size, the bed was very comfortable, and we had both a bath and shower. But, it is the main areas of the hotel that really impress - Carol and Jo have picked out stunning paintings and sculptures from local artists and decorated the lounges in a modern but warm style. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4, which was very nice. Even though it overlooked the street, it was not noisy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete4215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The place is closed to Mountain top, 30 mins walk to downtown and 40 mins cab ride from airport. The service is outstanding, clean room, beautiful swimming pool and the best customer service. You will feel like 5 stars hotel. I'm highly recommended and will go back and stay if I go back to Cape town.

steve l.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenTLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed June 21, 2012

I’ve done quite a bit of traveling all over the world, and use Trip Advisor frequently to find unique and great places to stay. My recent trip to stay at this lovely property in Cape Town while I was there on business was more wonderful and relaxing than I could have imagined. Starting with the beautiful details throughout the guest house that show that pride of ownership, I knew this would be a special place to visit. The remodel is exquisite, giving you the feeling like you have have stepped into a sleek lounge but still complete with the creature comforts to make your stay all you want it to be and more. The location is also wonderful, being a short walk from shops, restaurants, etc, and a short hop to all the sites and lovely coastlines to wind down your day with a glass of wine and panoramic views. Besides the exceptional amenities and the great location, what also really set this guest house apart from other places I’ve stayed in are the owners. Carol and Jo are simply the best. From the amazing correspondence, to yummy brekky, stocked wine bar and snacks, or the fact that both of them just taking the time to see if I had a good day at work, I was so delighted to be there. They have also really taken care to preserve the natural surroundings and architecture of the house, while offering a completely unique experience for their guests. I can't say enough about our stay here - I can't wait to come back, it's definitely one of my happy places to visit - and soon to be yours too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbear21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I was at Derwent House for about a week. I planned my trip to Cape Town in less than 24 hours. Decided I needed to get out, bought a ticket, contacted Derwent House based on the fabulous reviews and within minutes, was in regular correspondence with Carol, who was very accommodating and patient with my hurried questions/requests.

A few (make that, 30+) hours later and I was brought to Derwent House by a very nice woman who Carol had arranged to pick me up from the airport with a clearly marked sign with my name printed out. Within minutes, I was given a tour and was able to unwind in my room. The room itself is wonderful - huge bed, heated sheets, DVD player (with a huge selection of DVDs downstairs), great bathtub with wonderful views of Table Mountain and ample closet space. Oh and a gorgeous terrace overlooking the pool and hot tub.

Derwent House really feels like home. There's a fireplace and wonderful sitting area if you choose to take a break from the luxury of your room. I was greeted every morning and asked about my day. Breakfast is wonderful. There's a cold buffet with breads cheeses, coffee, tea and a menu from which you can choose omelets, oatmeal, french toast, pancakes, etc. They are also very accommodating with additions/substitutions. At night, there is complimentary port and sherry, as well as cakes and tea biscuits. I, however, was partial to the pitcher of lemon and mint water that is always available.

Carol essentially coordinated my entire trip for me. She booked me for cage diving with sharks, a wine tour, paragliding, skydiving and a massage at a wonderful Thai massage parlor only minutes away. She was always on top of reminding me of my activities the day before and when I would be picked up, which is helpful when you're miles from home and your brain is not completely there (at least mine wasn't).

Halfway through my stay, I met the other owner - Jo. She is just as wonderful and kind. She helped me plan the rest of my stay and even allowed me to stay in my room well past check out time so I could rest/shower before my late flight. I've stayed in many hotels and that has NEVER happened to me before, at least without paying extra. I was floored. I thought it was an unbelievably generous offer.

The location could not be better. It's right next to Table Mountain - after coming down in the cable car, I was able to take a nice leisurely walk back. There's also a grocery store (Checkers) that's only about a five minute walk away. Kloof street is very close too - a street with lots of great restaurants and shops.

I truly hope I can return to Cape Town and if I am lucky enough to do so, I will absolutely be staying at Derwent House. It cannot be beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aubject
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was our first trip to South Africa in October 2011 and we could not have had a better start than Derwent House which we chose after readingTrip Advisor reviews. Carol, Jo and Bernie lived up to their reputations and were all fantastic and really happy to pass on local knowledge.

After a long flight it was great to be greeted at the airport and our room was ready upon arrival at 10pm (but our bodies were 6am and feeling wretched!) so we just crashed immediately. We woke up to bright blue sky feeling refreshed and a recommendation to do Table Mountain which was perfect as it was the best day to visit.

The house, garden, pool and rooms are beautiful. Kitchen available all day with coffee, teas, cake and honesty bar. We felt right at home and made to feel so welcome. We cannot recommend Derwnt House and its owners highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msgoldenhaIr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,825 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
992 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,012 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing