We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cape Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Ranked #5 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Cape Town”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed a couple of nights to relax before heading to Durban for the Comrades Marathon. Just a terrific, friendly, safe B&B. Chris and Carol manage a fine operation. My room opened out to the pool deck, which provided a comfortable, quiet spot to read or catch up on email. Breakfast was terrific. Really enjoyed the well-stocked honor bar. Wifi flawless both in room, within the main guest house and at the pool.
Location provides easy walking access to many nice shops and restaurants. Have to recommend Bacini's on Kloof for a terrific Italian meal. Quick access via taxi to Waterfront and Table Mountain.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,291
    83
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
183
905
64
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The hotel was highly finished, the room very comfortable and quiet. All the small details had been thought of, even to the extent of giving you a mobile phone for the duration of your stay and a weather report on your pillow so you could plan your next day. The staff were all engaging, super helpful and friendly, without being intrusive. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we walked in until the moment we left, and it was a nice touch that everyone introduced themselves.
The breakfast was awesome. Enough said!
The hotel is superbly situated, a short taxi ride or 20 mins walk into town, or 5 mins walk from the hip and trendy Kloof Street and the lovely restaurants and shops on offer there.
Worth every penny, especially to get away from the mainstream hotels where you don't get the personal touch.
We will definitely be returning when we're next in Cape Town!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamalola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Derwent House for a week in April. This 5 star boutique hotel has knocked my longstanding number one in Quebec City of its first place in my list of favourite places to stay. The design, ambiance, location and most of all the staff make this place somewhere you won't want to leave. Thanks Carol and everyone else at Derwent House for an unforgettable week.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubblensqueek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed 3 nights here while we explored Cape Town. The staff made our stay very enjoyable, the attention to detail superb. They gave us good advise regarding places to visit and provided us with a mobile containing local SA numbers including a good safe taxi firm.
The breakfast was good and there was a residents kitchen to allow you to have hot and cold drinks. An honesty bar, fruit.and afternoon tea were also available.
A pleasant sitting area indoors and a lovely garden /pool were welcome to relax in after a days sightseeing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisterea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Derwent House in February this year.
Instead of choosing to stay in a large Hotel,we decided to try a small luxury Hotel after reading the reviews on Trip Adviser. What a great decision that was!
The location was better than we could have wished for and upon entering the Hotel we knew we had arrived somewhere special.The furnishing is first class.
The small group of staff were all superb,in fact within 2 days we knew them all by name and they us. Every day we were asked if we needed reservations to restaurants,tourist attractions etc.They couldn't be more helpful.
We booked 2 rooms and again these were furnished to a very high standard and immaculately clean.Ours was a family room with a kitchen and outdoor sitting area.
A previous review mentioned the Hotel served the best breakfast in town and they weren't kidding. We've stayed in 5 star Hotels worldwide and none beat this!
My party consisted of my wife and I, our two children (9 and 4) along with 2 grandparents and we all fell in love with this place. We felt as if we were staying with old friends.Even the other guests were people you wanted to get to know.
Our first time in a small boutique Hotel will not be our last.The quality of service we received and the attention to detail was exceptional.You couldn't provide that in a large Hotel. I've never known anywhere come close.
The owners and staff all looked like they enjoyed working together and that is rare.
Oh and the price was a third of what we considered paying elsewhere.
We were within walking distance to restaurants,cafes and bars,10 mins to Table Mountain,10 mins to the Waterfront,10 mins to Camps Bay.
Cape Town is our new favourite city and the people of South Africa incredibly friendly.
We can't wait to return to Derwent House to see Caro,l Jo and the wonderful staff.
This a real gem.
Manchester UK.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatrickHManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a part of our honeymoon. The suite we stayed in was amazing - more like an apartment really! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The pool area was lovely. The breakfasts were fantastic! We really loved this place and would definately look to stay again! Great location to visit the sites of Cape Town too.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsD127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This was simply a fabulous hotel, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly, which was fantastic as I was a little nervous about being a lone female travelling alone to South Africa.
The service was superb and on the evenings I didnt wish to go out and dine alone, there was a takeaway menu book, with every type of food available delivered to your room!
I would certainly recommend this hotel, and Its not very often I can confidently say I will go back and stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tootfruity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Town Central
1.7 mi away
Blackheath Lodge
Blackheath Lodge
#4 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,814 reviews
0.4 mi away
An African Villa
An African Villa
#7 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cape Heritage Hotel
Cape Heritage Hotel
#11 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cape Grace
Cape Grace
#6 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,995 reviews
2.1 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#25 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,490 reviews
1.8 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Property: Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#5 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a city renowned for hospitality, Derwent House stands out as one of Cape Town's leading boutique guesthouses. Located in the heart of the vibrant Tamboerskloof/Gardens neighbourhood, this small hotel combines historic charm, contemporary Afro-chic style and all mod-cons for a uniquely Capetonian blend of ambience, warmth, and comfort. Our wonderful team completes the picture -- we go the extra mile for you and our guests leave as friends. We love colour and celebrate African design - you'll find it everywhere. But when it comes to the basics - like breakfast, bedding, showers, climate control, Wi-fi or news from home - we don't compromise so you don't have to. At Derwent House, you're steps away from the hustle and buzz of Kloof Street, with its collection of superb restaurants, bars and trendy boutiques--and just a few further to the nightlife hub of Bree and Long Streets. Yet just a short car journey from the Table Mountain cable car, the beaches of Clifton or Camp's Bay, and the V&A Waterfront. There's nowhere more central -- but come and see for yourself. We're waiting for you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing