We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location-Limited food service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Great Location-Limited food service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

I usually stay at the Sandton Sun in Johannesburg, this unfortunately does not deserve the 5 star rating, I am sitting at the bar wanting to order something to eat, and they have no food service only room service.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wasi232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed. We have a light lunch served in the lounge area during the day. Our Yizani Restaurant is open in the evening.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    755
    187
    56
    37
See reviews for
447
488
53
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

The Southern Sun Waterfront is majestically located at the entrance to the world famous Victoria & Alfred Waterfront complex. What we liked about it was the view of the Table Mountain and its proximity to the airport (hardly 20 minutes). It’s a 10 minute walk to the V&A waterfront which offers a host of shopping and eating out options. Plus, it’s not too pricey to stay at this hotel. These were the points we considered while selecting a hotel and we were clear with our travel agent – ERM Travel & Tours on the above points. Based on this, they helped us shortlist Southern Sun Waterfront from all the hotels in the vicinity. And we were quite pleased with the choice too!
Although the area outside the hotel where the cars come in is a little cramped, the lobby is sufficiently large and the check in process was very smooth. The room allotted to us was on a higher floor and we were quite impressed with the view and amenities. Although, a little smaller in size compared to the Johannesburg hotel, the SSW offers a host of benefits.
Firstly, the health club which is top rate and has the latest exercise equipment. My wife, who is a fitness enthusiast, loved the gym and the exercise equipment. As the fitness centre is on the same floor as the corporate offices, we also met up with the General Manager, Jeff Rosenberg who was quite helpful in guiding us to what needs to be done in terms of sightseeing in Cape Town. We had only 4 days and wanted to cover almost everything. So organizing the sightseeing without backtracking was something which we wanted to achieve and Jeff was ever so helpful in recommending what we could of particular days. Having worked with the Sun City resorts, he was quite helpful in recommending what we should be doing in Sun City and the kind of gaming available around the area.
The rooms have all amenities like tea & coffee maker, mineral water and an excellent bathroom with bathtub. The shower pressure is just perfect and the air conditioning just right with temperature control.
One of the highlights of the 4 days was the tour guide assigned to us by Hylton Ross Touring – Wayne Maddams. Wayne is one of the best tour guides we have come across who has as much information about the places we visit as an encyclopedia! Only thing, he made it so much more interesting for us without necessarily dwelling on the boring details. Another thing we are thankful to him about is that he was a walking talking yellow pages! He could recommend everything. When my wife wanted to visit a hair dressing salon, he recommended one which was real good without the fancy prices. He always had names of shops ready where we could pick up shopping at bargain prices. I wanted to pick up some jewelry for gifting it to friends back home and some of the ethnic South African elements like coasters, paintings, t-shirts which Wayne helped combine without sightseeing trip too.
We did dine in at the hotel restaurant and ordered in room service too and found the food to be up to the mark. The best part was the breakfast with the huge buffet consisting of South African and other kinds of food – English, American and even Indian! We had a whale of time savoring the delicacies at breakfast.
I also tried out the spa and massage centre by taking a massage which was relaxing and heavenly! Took away all the tiredness of the travel, jetlag and the walking which we put in every day! Overall, it was a great experience and we would definitely like to go back to the Southern Sun Waterfront once again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajai_Bathija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

I am delighted that we were able to exceed on your expectations, and your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

very tall building with good views of the table mountain and the waterfront. the rooms were very huge with good bathroom and good services. the breakfast was also very good.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumeetjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
335 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

I attended a conference at the nearby Convention Center, so I decided to stay close. My expectations were modest, since I had been told that this hotel had formerly been a Holiday Inn. However, almost everything about the hotel was way above my expectations: the room, the quality and selection of breakfast food, the fitness center, and the free shuttle over to the Waterfront. If you don't need access to the Internet, you will be very satisfied with this hotel's overall quality and value for money. But if you do need regular access to the Internet, you should run away as quickly as you can, since the hotel's charges for Internet access can only be described as extortionate. I would be OK paying R50-60 per day (though I generally choose places with free WiFi), but it's very easy for someone watching videos or downloading to run up charges in excess of R200/day at this hotel with their formula based on data transmission. So I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to any of my friends, all of whom need regular Internet access as part of our work.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluevoter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is valuable feedback such as yours that allows us to continuously improve our service delivery.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service inconsistencies you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is definitely not our standard and the issues you highlighted are being addressed.

I would like to thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future.

Kind regards
Klaus Ahlers
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2010

Have just returned from staying at this hotel. Absolutely fabulous. Breakfasts excellent with so much choice. Staff cannot do enough for you. Had to change rooms after we arrived as we only had a single wardrobe and two drawers to store our clothes in. No problems at all with new room.

We did the garden route and asked for our same room back again on our return and no problem at all. Swimming pool quite small and sun goes off the pool area after 3 p.m The hotel provides a free minibus service to the waterfront going every half hour to the Waterfront.

Would definitely go back to same hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogiEastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Revenue/Online Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on your stay at our hotel.

We appreciate your positive feedback and are glad that we were able to meet your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back again as your hotel of choice when you return to Cape Town in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Southern Sun Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

We stayed at the Southern Sun Waterfront at the beginning of February 2010 for ten days. There were four adults in our party. Our rooms were on the twelfth floor with views of the City ( well, major cross roads) and Table Mountain. The location is great as the hotel it is within easy walking distance of the VA Waterfront, about 10 to 15 mins, and the main shopping areas of the town take about the same time to walk to. It's OK to do your walking in the daylight but we didn't feel too comfortable with walking at night, although we did walk back from the VA a couple of times late at night and had no problems, due to good street lighting and it being on major roads.

Our rooms were standard and rather basic and we missed not having a fridge, robes and slippers but it was clean and the bed linen was changed every day. We had the usual tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, safe, writing desk and easy chair. The room had twin beds which were both doubles. The bathroom had a bath and an excellent separate shower.

I took my netbook computer and purchased 60 mins of internet time but the wifi connection is extremely slow and at 1 rand per minute, a little overpriced. If you hire a car, the hotel has an underground car park which is very secure and costs 30 rand per night, well worth it in my opinion.
The breakfasts are very good with a wide choice available. The service in the resturant in the mornings is excellent and the staff are quick to clear your table.

This hotel is clearly primary a hotel for the business person and this shows in the leisure area. The outdoor pool is very small with only about eight sunloungers on a raised patio. One side of the pool is in permanent shade. There are also several small tables and chairs on the lower patio. The most annoying thing we found was that the sunloungers and the tables were constantly occuppied by business people with laptops
open taking up the whole table. it only takes about 6 or eight people to do this and everyone else is denied access to loungers or tables. This was particularly a problem in the afternoons and most of the evening.
To summarise, we very much enjoyed our stay at the Southern Sun Waterfront, nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and we would consider going back, so if you want a holiday where you are out and about, this is a good place to stay. If you want a relaxing around the pool type of holiday, give it a miss as you won't get much chance of that with people clicking keyboards, talking loudly on the phone and doing business in the leisure area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alwyn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Revenue/Online Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, March 7, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at our hotel.

We are glad to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us and appreciate your views regarding the pool area.

We take all our guest comments in a serious light to ensure that we are able to constantly strive to improve on our levels of service and standards at the hotel.

We look forward to be your hotel of choice in the future when you visit Cape Town in the future.

Yours sincerely,
The Southern Sun Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
211 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

This hotel came as part of a package so don't know how much it cost. Have previously stayed at the Cape Grace so this could have been a real let down. But it was fine, in fact very good, for our one night stop over before catching the Plane home.
The location is ideal. Bang at the end of the motorway into the town centre, you just come off the left hand slip and you're in the Hotel car park.

A big tower block hotel, the lobby standard is 5 star:- personal welcome, knowledgeable concierge, etc. Modern feel . 11th floor room gave great views but disappointed that the room was quite pokey and, though allegedly non-smoking, was clearly a re-treaded smoking room. But for one night we could bear that. The location is so convenient. Just a short stroll from the Waterfront in one direction and the Downtown area in the other. For the sightseers, the Citybus hop on-hop off stops right behind the hotel. Didn't try the food apart from Breakfast which was a good standard comprehensive buffet.

Positives:- very convenient location. Helpful staff, spacious and smart lobby.
Negatives:- pokey smelly room. Swimming pall only gets the sun in the middle of the day.

We'll use it again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medocain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagement_10, Hotel Revenue Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 23, 2010
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for writing your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to see that you had an overall enjoyable stay with us appreciate your feedback which we always take seriously in order to improve our standards and levels of service for our guests.

We hope that we will be your choice hotel in the future should you return to our wonderful city.

Warm regards,
The Southern Sun Waterfront Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#32 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,654 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#24 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#27 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#35 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#33 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing