We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #31 of 109 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Perfect location for everything you could want to do in Cape Town! The V&A Waterfront is approx 10 mins walk away (or 2 mins in a taxi), and you have all the restaurant, bars, pubs and shops you could ever want!
The hotel was friendly; we stayed here for 4 nights and could have easily stayed longer. Our room was fab, large, modern, great bathroom (separate bath and shower always a plus), and we even had a view of Table Mountain from our window which was a bonus! Breakfast was nice, with lots of selection. We didn't try the restaurants in the hotel.
We saw the swimming pool but didn't use it, it looked ok, a little on the small side.
There is a super little pizza place next to the hotel, check out the pizza boxes and wine list, it had us in fits of laughter!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvertimtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    798
    203
    64
    42
See reviews for
492
515
55
611
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2009

We stayed here for 6 nights. We arrived at the hotel at 9 am and they found us a room and told us if we did not like it we could change it later. The staff are very helpfull . The hotel bar pool and breakfast buffet are all first class . We used the hotel restaurant and this was also very good.

They have a shuttle which runs to the Waterfront every 30 minutes until 11.15 pm and costs 15 R (1 pound) We walked to the waterfront and it took about 10 minutes and felt safer than in London. Would advise anybody to stay here. First class.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthewpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2009

My husband and I booked a last minute trip to Cape Town for New Year. This Hotel was one of the few available. We got the best deal through the Hotel's own website and I cancelled and rebooked nearer the time and got a cheaper price. This a what I would call a classic business Hotel, big and impersonal, the bar of the Hotel is the the lobby etc. The service was good rather than great but that was okay. The Hotel is clean as were the standard rooms but with 2 queen sized beds quite small...we struggled to find room for our suitcases. We never ate in the Hotel as one of the great things about it ,is the location. You can walk to the waterfront in less than 15 minutes and the Hotel also puts on a free mini bus every 30 minutes, however be in line early as when it is full it is full....no extra buses. You can also walk to Long Street where many of the shops are, in the same length of time ,and a taxi to the far end of Kloof St which has lots of lovely bars and restaurants is about 4GBP. The Hotel concierge will order you a taxi if necessary. As Capetown has so many great bars,restaurants,shops and beaches we were really only in the Hotel to sleep. The only downside for us was that occasionally it would have been nice to sit by the pool but it was very small with only room for about 20-25 loungers so unless you were there early you did not get a place. We did look at the sister Hotel which is literally 2 minutes away ,the common areas looked much more luxurious but it depend how much time you think you will stay in your Hotel as it was quite a bit more expensive

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

Stayed here for just 1 night unfortunately at the very end of our south africa holiday before heading home...

Hotel is in a great location just a 5-6 min walk from the V&A Waterfront, reasonably large but looks very new and modern

Staff were very friendly, and has an impressive reception area with bar/restaurant and outdoor pool

The room we had was one of the largest of all we had during our holiday, a twin room with 2 double beds ! Modern and very comfortable with LCD TV - only the 2nd hotel out of 6 to have one.

Facilities were good, the rooms were clean, modern, bathroom had both a dedicated bath & shower. Noise was surprisingly quiet given the hotels close proximity to the major routes through Cape Town.

We eat in the hotel restaurant which was very good service & food, and reasonably well priced

Pool was a very nice pool, and in an attempt to create some privacy with a large number of trees resulted in a fair amount of shade being created if you are looking to stay by the pool for the day. Mornings would be OK, but afternoons the sun is blocked out.

Generally excellent though, we got a great "last minute" rate on this so was cheap, but very nice and comfortable too ! Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2009

We found this hotel ideal for getting around. The free shuttle to the V & A waterfront ran every 30min and the conceirge helped us with places to see. The pool area although small was clean though the sun left it by mid afternoon. The room was large and modern and the breakfast bar had plenty of choice. For a large city hotel it was excellent.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strebory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

We stayed in a family room for Christmas/New year 08/09 and I was impressed for the quality we had in return to our money. The hotel was extremely clean, very comfortable and the staff was very friendly. A very important service they offer is the free shuttle to the Waterfront every 30min, that was very helpful to us. The location of the hotel is very convenient being at the center of lots of attractions. If you need a good and affordable hotel, I would definitely recommend this one.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank inkonlike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2009

We stayed over New Year and found the staff very helpful. The prebooked airport transfer was great and the book-in process was quick and easy, which after a long flight was good. The room was clean and large enough. The bar was pleasant and it was nice to be able to sit outside late on of an evening. The pool was nice though not large. My children enjoyed it and my husband thought the gym was good. The shuttle bus to the Waterfront was good though you do have to pay. Best of all were the huge breakfasts with a great selection of food and attentive staff.

  • Liked — The breakfasts and the helpful staff
  • Disliked — The fact it's a shuttle journey to the Waterfront though the shuttle is very regular so it's not a problem and the open top bus tour has a stop very near which is great!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JJJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Cape Town
The Westin Cape Town
#26 of 109 in Cape Town Central
2,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southern Sun Cape Sun
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#34 of 109 in Cape Town Central
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, Cape Town
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#30 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,717 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
Cape Royale Luxury Hotel
#32 of 109 in Cape Town Central
1,498 reviews
0.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape Town Waterfront Breakwater Lodge
Protea Hotel by Marriott Cape To...
#58 of 109 in Cape Town Central
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Property: Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#31 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing