We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Protea Hotel Cape Town North Wharf(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Southern Sun The Cullinan(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Cape Town(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Urban Hip Icon Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The New Tulbagh Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Capetonian Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rockwell All Suite Hotel(Cape Town Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,227)
Filter reviews
2,232 results
Traveler rating
976
904
233
74
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
976
904
233
74
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery half hourshuttle bustsogo sunshuttle serviceconcierge deskbreakfast buffetwater frontbusiness tripeasy accessbusiness hotelstayed here for nightsenjoyed my staytable mountainsouth africalong streetwaterfrontcticc
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,896 - 1,901 of 2,232 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We were looking for a hotel near to the V&A waterfront for one night only as we were duw to go on safari the following day.

We were very impressed with Southern Sun wterfront, it's ideally located and within walking distance to the V&A though the free shuttle bus all very cheap quality hotel taxi's are preferable as the road outside is pretty hairy to cross.

The room was very clean and breakfast was traditional and plentyiful.

Also a note for any disabled traveller, i'm a paraplegic and the hotel has 4 disabled rooms. I fund our room to be of a good quality useable disabled room, with flip down shower seat with hand rails provided within the shower and toilet.

For the bargain hunters we booked this room via Virgin holidays (UK) which was considerably cheaper than all the other standard hotel websites could offer.

overall, very impressed no problems and would use again.
They also have garage facilities if you have a hire car and even though there is a charge they let us have our one night for free.
say no more, very impressed.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LordLucanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2008

My husband and I with our 14 year old daughter stayed in this hotel last July 15-July 21st,2008 for 6 nights. And I would like to write this positive review for anybody who would like to stay in this hotel.

A. Got a rate of ZAR890.00 for 3 people. 2 Adults and 1 child 14yrs old. Tax is 10% of the room rate. Breakfast is ZAR120.00 per Adult. Child's breakfast is free. I just wrote them an email and they were very happy to assist with this rate. We got a double double room on the 12th floor.

B. For transfers we used the taxi from the airport because the hotel charges ZAR270 plus extra ZAR50 per person. Got a rate of ZAR240.00 on our way to the hotel or just get a hired private car/minivan they charge you around ZAR250.00 you can see these counters on your arrival at the airport. On our way back we paid ZAR300 with a taxi from the hotel. More expensive I do not know why.

C. Check-in staff was very efficient and friendly, they offer some refreshment in the lobby with sweets. And also the bell boys are very quick to bring the luggages to our room.

D. The room was on the 12th floor, if I am not mistaken it is only until 14th floor. It was big overlooking the harbour view and the half side of the table mountain. The bathroom was big enough and there was a separate bathtub and a shower too. They even gave us lots of towels everyday. In the room was also equipped with flat screen TV and also a tea making facility. The chambermaid always fill it up everyday with coffee,tea,chocolate,sugar, creamer. The safe was OK we left all our belongings there. Money, credit cards,jewelry,passports.Just see to it that it is always locked before you leave the room. Even if we left the room after 2pm when we came back after dinner it was clean and tidy.

E.The breakfast was superb, everything was there from cereals, fruits,joghurts. Different kinds of breads. Hot variety of food is also there from mushrooms, tomatoes, potato hash and different kinds of sausages and eggs are cooked according to your request. There is also a choice of cold cut sausages. The dining service team were very friendly. We do not wait too long for any requests like tea, coffees and the like.

F. Shuttle runs every half an hour to the Waterfront but it is true you can also walk around 15mins.. The pick up time is quarter the hour or quarter after until 11pm.. It was winter time in Africa when we were there so temperature in the evening could be quite chilly, please bring your jackets with you. But in the morning was sunny until late afternoon. The shuttle was free for us. There was nothing that we paid. If you want to go on tours, you can arrange a tour from the concierge at the lobby. Even a shuttle runs to the Canal Walk with a fee. Just ask for info downstairs.

G. You can also walk to the city in 15mins. Was very convenient to go to the Green Market , the Loop etc... to get an idea of the city you can also take the red hop-in-off bus and also the blue bus at the two oceans aquarium. Get a map on arrival at the airport for the V&A Alfred Waterfront so you will not be lost.

H. The pool was very small but we did not anyway use due to the tempature so cold. Sorry to say no indoor pool.

I. The fine dining restaurants at the waterfront was quite pricey, try also the food court at the V&A Waterfront. It is good specially for the kids. You have a choice from hamburgers to asian food.
The buffet in the hotel was also good for ZAR150.00 plus drinks. We had the buffet on our first night arrival in the hotel. Ala-carte was not a good choice due to the menu was not that interesting specially for kids. It was better off with the buffet at least you have everything from appetizer to dessert and coffee.

J. For any internet access, if you need to use an internet cafe, we can recommend you to go to downtown. It is only ZAR5 for an hour. In the hotel they charge you ZAR15.00 for only 15 mins..

K. To sum it all up, the stay in southern sun waterfront hotel was very very nice. We would highly recommend it for anybody who would book this hotel. Only positive experience I would say. We would still go back to Capetown and book this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TRAVELSHOT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the SS Waterfront. Our room was facing the road on the 12th floor- very clean, quiet and comfortable. The check-in, check out and the conceirge services were fantastic. The hotel car picked us up from the airport ( extra 270R). The reception desk would promptly receive and convey voice messages to our room from tour companies.

The location couldn't have been better-a 10 minute walk to waterfront. We walked as late as 9pm-seemed very safe. The hotel shuttle -10R pp each way is not worth it- the drop off zone is away from waterfront activities. On the very first day, we actually got lost trying to find our way from drop off point to Mandela getaway jetty.. In my opinion, get directions from conceirge and walk it off or get a map from visitor's center. Follow the colored routes( yellow, red, blue etc). The sidewalks are very well maintained and very visitor friendly. Watch out for crazy drivers while crossing major roads like Lower Butengracht-they connect to N1,N2 and drivers can be in big hurry during peak traffic time.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YpsiRt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2008

In summary, my expectations in respect of this hotel, were not met. However, management did try and make my stay as comfortable as they could.

Things that made my stay comfortable:
1) Management and staff were great, and helped with anything that we needed.
2) The hotel is conveniently located, 1 km from the V and A waterfront, and there are shuttles every half an hour

Cons:
1) The double room was very small, and after a half an hour discussion with the duty manager, i was upgraded to an executive room at a 30% fee of my total stay.
2) My shower leaked, and it took three days for it to be repaired, i was given a complimentary night as a gesture from management.
3) We had cash stolen from our open safe, management took one of those lie detector tests on the staff that cleaned our room, turns out that they were the culprits, our full value lost was returned to us in full by management.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Joey55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2008

In many ways, this is a fairly typical four star city centre hotel, but, being Cape Town with its high standards, was above average. Reception was efficient, although not the best place to exchange travellers' cheques, as they are not fully licensed to do so. The reception area is spacious, clean, and welcoming. The bar and restaurant staff are extremely attentive, and the meals excellent, especially the breakfasts, where the choice of hot (freshly cooked) and cold food is of a very high standard. Our bedroom was comfortable and well appointed, and the bathroom faultless.
There is an outside swimming pool and fitness centre, and the hotel provides a shuttle bus to and from the Victoria and Alfred Waterfront complex (ten to fifteen minutes' walk away). The area around the hotel is quiet but not particularly interesting - mainly office blocks- but the more interesting parts and shops are only a short stroll away.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosnibor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews