We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Standard of Chain Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
Ranked #30 of 111 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January to join some friends on an end of cruise stay over. This is a busy hotel in an excellent location for both the V&A Waterfront and central Capetown. Our room was OK, not being one of the renovated ones, but still to an acceptable standard. The staff were friendly, and when I had trouble logging into the Wifi were helpful. The V&A is within easy strolling distance during daylight hours - to me preferable to the Shuttle which takes you to the far end of the complex meaning you have to run the gauntlet of the shopping mall to reach the waterfront bars & eateries ! The shuttle driver did ask for room registration cards, which no one had, so he eventually gave that up as a bad job after none of the guests were carrying theirs - perhaps this requirement should be made clearer at Check In. The car park was easy to use with good lift access to the Lobby area. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and typically bustling in a busy hotel. The other public areas are just what can be expected from a chain hotel and are somewhat lacking in atmosphere - but the Southern Sun does exactly what it says on the can !

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear JoeCBansteadUK,

Thank you for taking the time to advise us of your experiences following your recent stay with us

We appreciate your comments and we will ensure that this feedback smpassed on tom the respective departments for their information and action, where necessary

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,997)
There are newer reviews for Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,204 - 1,210 of 1,997 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable beds
Great staff n very very friendly
I loved the shuttle service to the waterfront every half an hour
Welcome staff all the time with cool refreshments
Breakfast was awesome
The restaurant within for dinner n lunch doesnt av much variety
Wifi access was great
It smelt soooooo nice n fresh
Southern sun anytime

Thank Ayshamuj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Ayshamuj,

Thank you so much for your feedback following your rent stay with us

We really appreciate all your comments and will most certainly pass them on to all departments for their information in order to ensure that we constantly improve our service levels

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

great hotel great location, really nice and friendly staff! The hotel was very clean very modern and my room was very comfortable! The food was very good and it was present on the plate to a very high standand! over all it was a very good experience staying at the southern sun waterfront in cape town!
with great customer service!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Paul W

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff and facilities to your satisfaction .

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We were in Cape Town for a conference. We booked this hotel since it was close to CTICC. We stayed here for 5 nights in the month of April 2014. The check in was fast and the rooms were spacious and well maintained. The breakfast was the highlight of our hotel stay. The staff were very courteous and helpful. They helped us in tracing our baggage, which got delayed at the airport..The hotel was at walkable distance from the V & A Waterfront. Overall we had a great time in this hotel..

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Priyankashenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Priyankashenoy,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your 5 day stay with us and that you found our services to your satisfaction.

Thank you so very much for taking the time to send us your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Cape Town

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The Southern Sun Waterfront is ideally situated for a stay in Cape Town as everything is within easy reach. We found that the staff could not be more helpful and the breakfast buffet was everything you could wish for.Dinner in the evening was very reasonable either as A La carte or as the carvery/buffet . The room was large with two queen sized beds and was kept very clean.The whole staff wre very friendly and had a good sence of humour

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and slept like logs
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear David R

Thank you for your kind comments following your recent stay with us

We truly value your feedback which will go a long way into continuing to motivate our team members to provide the best possible service to our guests

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel is beautiful and clean/neat. Breakfast staff could be more pleasant especially since they can make / break your mood for the rest of the day. Quality of Breakfast could improve, was very sloppy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Glynis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Glynis S

Many thanks for your feedback

We will certainly have a look at the issues you highlighted in the breakfast restaurant and this will be taken up with the Executive Chef and Food & Beverage Manager for their immediate attention

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed here for the two oceans marathon. Prior to our stay I emailed the manager and requested a renovated room on the upper floors which we got. The hotel staff were amazing - very helpful and friendly. There is a lot of underground parking available at R40 a day (very cheap compared to some other places) the hotel is a few min walk from convention centre where the race expo was being held - very convenient!

The only cons to the hotel - room size was absolutely tiny (we were on 14th floor, rooms on other floors may be bigger) it felt like we were on a cruise ship. Bathroom was also very very small. The breakfast area was quite cramped and there was often a queue to wait for a table.

Overall the stay was very pleasant and a good experience!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MichFehrsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear MichFehrsen,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us

It is always appreciated when we receive comments such as yours , as this enables us to constantly revive our service levels and continue to finfpd ways in improving our overall service delivery

Once again ,many thanks

Warm regards



JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#23 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,693 reviews
The Westin Cape Town
#27 of 111 in Cape Town Central
2,241 reviews
Radisson Blu Hotel Waterfront, C...
#29 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southern Sun Cape Sun
#33 of 111 in Cape Town Central
920 reviews
Schotsche Kloof
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
Hilton Cape Town City Centre
#43 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,314 reviews
Victoria & Alfred Hotel
#24 of 111 in Cape Town Central
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#25 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range: $183 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 537
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and is authentically South African ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing